We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of The Bell

The Bell
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Danbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A traditional friendly pub. Serving many home made dishes all day.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Having undertaken an initial "site" visit to The Bell and a couple of other pubs in Danbury, I chose The Bell for a pre wedding day dinner for a group of 14 adults on Friday 18th July. The menu choices and prices plus the landlady's helpful approach to my enquiries and to another customer during my visit were key in the decision process and we were not disappointed. We were assigned an upstairs function room. The food - the group had a variety of starters and main courses - was enjoyed by everyone and the service was great. Thank you Lorraine and team !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank simonm57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    39
    13
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awful burgers”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Came here to meet friends. Ordered 2 burgers £8.50 each was expecting a nice proper burger! No! 2 thin frozen burgers served up with lots of grease to accompany them! And as for the salad a bit of lettuce,cucumber and onion!! Such a shame! If u a gastro pub please do proper burgers and if not dont charge gastro prices!! Wont be going back in hurry!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crath121, Owner at The Bell, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
I am really sorry you didn't have a good experience with us when you dined here last week. We will look into your complaint about our burgers. I will say in our defence we always ask if guests are happy with their meals and will always sort out any problems. I hope we can serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“1 mile off A12 perfect stop for meal!”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just came back from maidstone Kent didnt want to stop at roadside drive ins, and decided to drive to Maldon, spotted bell inn 1 mile from A12 Danbury bingo ! great place loads of history nice gardens old fashioned style pub perfect, loads of choices we had jacket potato prawns and jacket potato chilli and ploughmans lunch 2 peronis one perculator coffee awesome 28 pounds three satisfied and happy travellers now on there way home!, thank you to all staff keep up the good work ! my tip avoid the roadside places and make this a place to stop, open all day for food !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leolion123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good find”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I came across The Bell quite by accident, and now I shall make it a regular stop when Im in the area again. Good pub food and really polite staff.What more can I say. Wish this pub was in my local village

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Curry night”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Had a curry on the advertised 'curry night'
Very small meat portion to the size of the curry, not overly hot but OK.
Waiter was friendly and service was OK.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaboyd8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bell also viewed

 

Been to The Bell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing