We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, bar and staff. Shame about the overpriced room...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
Reviewed 12 July 2011

£69 for the room, then food + drink on top (£19.95). Breakfast was 'continental', anything hot was extra (apart from the toast and coffee). I had scrambled eggs on toast with mushrooms @ £4.45 extra, as I didn't fancy dried banana slices, prunes(?) and various other dried items which could of been beyond their sell by dates, it just didn't look appetising. They did not have any cerials I liked.
Admittedly, in the evening, the resturant and food was brilliant, if not a little darkly lit, due to the 'innkeeper' effect. The staff were good too, helpful and friendly. Plenty of parking and a nice view of some hills towards Exeter, which I couldn't exactly see from my rooms windows. A busy junction nearby had near on constant traffic all night, which didn't worry me much, but the windows were old fasioned and broken, so they wouldn't shut properly.
Secondary double glazing was fitted, but it was like a monkey puzzle to fathom out how to close either the outside or inside part first, without trapping your hand, the curtains or the other window in the process. The ousside windows were filthy.
The rest of the room looked like it had been recently decorated by a child, holes in the walls, doors and generally very run down.
Pictures are on the well known flickr site and tagged as the name of the establishment.

Room Tip: Avoid room 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NDS_Video
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (257)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 257 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2011

Decent inn serving reasonable-priced and -quality food. Good ales too. Not as cheap as a travelodge et al, but much better. Room price includes "continental" breakfast: but no ham/meat as you'd usually find on the continent.

However they are suffering from the peculiarly British objection to fresh air in the rooms: bedroom windows are tethered with a cable which restricts it opening to more than about 4" (10cm to our continental friends). Obviously enough (to me, but not to the management) this means that on a hot night the rooms are totally inadequately ventilated and so it is too hot to sleep:and this is based on our April stay - I hate to think what it would be like in July or August...

On the basis of the stupid window arrangements, I regret to say I can't recommend this place.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robwks7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Booked this hotel last minute for a 3 night stay . We had a twin room (room 16) it was well appointed and comfortable, shower was hot and plentiful. The fan was a bit noisy but went off after about 15 min. The room was spotless and positioned at the rear to the beer garden. We had very little road noice and no beer garden noise from anyone. We had the comlimentary continental breakfast which was more than adequate for our needs. The building has an olde world feel to it. The staff are very friendly and managed to accomodate us at last minute for mothers day dinner with our son who we were visiting for a special occasion. All in all we were pleased with everything. Will definately reccomend it. Thanks Steve for a lovely visit, enjoy your trip to Perth next month.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holly010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

Myself and wife just returned from two night stay . Check in very efficiently handled and given Room 22 which was at the back of Htole overlooking the free car park . The Lodge is situated on a busy junction but traffic noise not too bad . Most annoying was a constant noise which was coming from a locked cupboard adjoining my bathroom which did not help sleep . The extractor fan in the bathroom , triggered by using the bathroom light , also "rattled on" for some time after light turned off .
Ate on both nights in Restaurant but meals were poor with chips and peas cold , On one occasion sent meal back but , when returned , chips were hot but other items were overcooked as had been standing . Complimentary breakfasts were included but nothing special .
Location is good as only a few miles from Exeter & which can be reached by local train from Topsham Station which is about one mile from the Lodge (turn right out of Lodge) . Off peak return only £2.50 and takes pressure off parking in the city .
You get what you pay for so don't expect too much . Avoid Rooms 21 & 22 if you want a peaceful night and avoid Restaurant .

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

I stopped here with family including our two teenage daughters, and we all really enjoyed it.
We stayed in a family room, which was very spacious, a very comfortable double bed, and a double pull out sofa bed.
We were greeted very efficiently and felt very welcomed right from the start.
The atmosphere was so lovely, that instead of unpacking and resting for a while, we went to the bar for a drink and sat by the lovely log fire.
The car park was very spacious, the garden area is lovely, and despite being near a road it seemed very peaceful.
We also had dinner downstairs, and all of our meals were lovely.
Overall, all of the staff were fantastic, very helpful and friendly, in fact it was like staying with old friends. The place was very clean and tidy, and the food and service were lovely.
If I had to make a downside comment, it would be that It would have been nice to have free wifi, and, although the breakfast was nice, with a great selection, it would have been nice to have had an option to upgrade to a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coldsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Easily-accessible hotel (not far from the M5) with plenty of parking. Very friendly Staff, superb pub & restaurant. Clean and spacious room/s. The Continental breakfast was plentiful and good choice. Only one dissapointment: No free wifi

All in all, Great value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wile_e_Coyote21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2010

Beside a busy road but not noisy our room ground floor next to beer garden but luckily no one using it ! Room comfortable and clean. Generally pub a bit worn but great fire in central area and good atmosphere low lighting and tea lights. Staff helpful. Our choice of eve meal nothing special but others looked good. Continental breakfast plentiful and good choice . Good Value all round.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clyst Saint George
4.5 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
548 reviews
3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
1 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#1 of 6 in Topsham
501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
The Nobody Inn
The Nobody Inn
#7 of 68 in Exeter
387 reviews
4.9 mi away
Woodbine Guest Accommodation
1.8 mi away
Blue Ball Inn
Blue Ball Inn
#10 of 68 in Exeter
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George

Address: Clyst Saint George, Exeter EX3 0QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Clyst Saint George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clyst Saint George
Price Range: £49 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from Exeter, this unique 19th century lodge offers characterful yet convenient budget accommodation in the heart of Devon.Originally a brewhouse, skittle alley and stables, The St George and Dragon now provides a handy base for exploring Dartmoor National Park or the unspoilt beaches of two coastlines. As well as 21 recently refurbished bedrooms, it's home to a cosy, traditional pub - so if you love the food, drink and atmosphere of a classic country inn, you're in exactly the right place.Nestled in the pretty village of Clyst St George near Topsham, the lodge is surrounded by farms and historic buildings, including medieval Powderham Castle. Nature fans will love the acres of ancient moorland and the National's Trust's huge Killerton House Estate, which are both just a short distance away. Exeter itself is also well worth a visit, with its magnificent Gothic Cathedral, mysterious medieval underground passages and bustling quayside area full of shops and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George And Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge
St George & Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Hotel Clyst Saint George
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George Clyst Saint George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing