We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a budget type hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
Hereford
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok for a budget type hotel”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed for two nights, we know the hotel and location, but the published location details are mis-leading if you don't, as it is stated that the hotel is in the pretty village of Clyst St George. Actually the location is at the junction of three busy roads on a mini-roundabout, our room was the one nearest to the road and between 7am & 9am the traffic is very heavy, which may be a problem to some people. Breakfast is fine, except the croissants seemed to be a bit stale, maybe would be improved if they could be served warm? We ate in the hotel one evening and found the staff to be very welcoming, but there was too few of them. It was fairly busy but the staff disappeared on several occasions, having said that someone would come to take the order, they didn't until we returned to the bar to ask. Several times people left their tables to seek out someone to order the next course, get drinks etc etc. Drinks that we ordered at the table took ages to come and when we wanted to pay the bill we had to go to the bar and ask, along with someone else who was trying to order a pudding but had been waiting for ages. The staff were helpful and friendly but all the time they seemed to be trying to do something else at the same time, at one point an extremely large bottle of Brasso was put on the bar and used, the smell of which was overwhelming to those eating in one area! They should focus on ensuring that their customers are dealt with rather than doing other things The food was OK, I would suggest that choosing simple dishes from the menu is the best option, as they looked better than something more challenging. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, we would stay again for a purpose but request a quieter room and probably not eat in.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to the Restaurant and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    77
    54
    25
    14
See reviews for
74
101
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013 via mobile

Came here for a meal with my partner on a Saturday evening. We entered the pub where it states 'come in, choose a table, and we will do the rest' so we chose a table only to sit there with no service for at least 10-15 mins, we went up to the bar and had to wait for the bar maid to return, then a guy came and we asked for a table for two he said there were no tables for two where we wanted to sit but there was plenty! So he just left us to choose a table and walked off! the food was okay, but only okay! the chips tasted like cheap oven chips and the burger was average! overall, everything felt very sloppy and the customer service was non existent! won't be returning!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Claire112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Location was good and central for touring Dorset & English riviera. Room was clean and tidy, although bed was 'springy'. Food at adjoining pub was good and filling, although it would have been nice to have some lighter meals on the menu. Staff were very friendly and very helpful.
The only complaint I had, was our shower which lost pressure halfway through our week's stay. I had to complain 3 times before it was eventually fixed the day before we departed, but not before I had to forgo a shower twice.
Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rogwat48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Went for dinner. My wife's chicken was dry and tough. My beef pie was mediocre. Oven type chips and unimaginative vegetables. Poor food was surpassed by the £6.25 for medium sized glass of wine. The waitress was polite and efficient. We live locally and won't be back

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ronmac1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clyst Saint George hotels

Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Good location just minutes from the coast also handy for Exeter. The food was of a good Inn standard especially the English breakfast.Staff friendly & helpful. Good size bedrooms with comfortable beds? The downside was poor house keeping, the whole place needed a through clean

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porker70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourport-on-Severn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Arriving at the inn on a cold April afternoon we were warmly welcomed and given the key for room 2 which was a spacious family room furnished with a very soft double bed and sofa bed, desk (but no chair) and two bedside tables. The linen was good both in the room and shower. Fiercely hot radiators soon warmed up the room although the ill-fitting windows and secondary double glazing allowed whistling wind to accompany the sound from the largish flat screen television.
We opted to eat in the pub for the first evening, which turned out to be a great disappointment.
I chose grilled gammon with all the trimmings. The gammon was the strangest I've ever been served. It was a pale grey colour devoid of any gammon texture or taste and I am convinced it had been poached or boiled prior to flashing on the griddle. My wife's chicken breast was similarly affected being very dry and devoid of taste. Both plates went back partly unconsumed. Not wishing to draw attention to the shortcoming we did not remonstrate but found alterative dining arrangements for the following two nights, thus denying the Inn management the chance to profit more from our stay.
We found alternative eateries nearby with a carvery about 2 miles away on the Exmouth Road being very wholesome and very inexpensive.
Breakfast, however was a splendid array of bagels, pastries, cereals etc etc and lovely strong coffee.
All in all the inn is a good base to stay in order to explore the surrounding environs with several National Trust properties and delightfully quaint and almost unspoilt Victorian
seaside resorts being close by.

Room Tip: Garden rooms would probably be quieter, ours overlooking the main road junction was noisy probably n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dekatsos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

We went for a birthday celebration the place was nice and the staff helpful the food however was very disappointing burnt gammon and food in general was poor. Soup was cold and didn't have a dessert.

If the food was as good as the service would be nice place!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gibbinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clyst Saint George
3.2 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
517 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
3.3 mi away
Gipsy Hill Hotel
Gipsy Hill Hotel
#16 of 31 in Exeter
498 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
Address: Clyst Saint George, Exeter EX3 0QJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Clyst Saint George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clyst Saint George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from Exeter, this unique 19th century lodge offers characterful yet convenient budget accommodation in the heart of Devon.Originally a brewhouse, skittle alley and stables, The St George and Dragon now provides a handy base for exploring Dartmoor National Park or the unspoilt beaches of two coastlines. As well as 21 recently refurbished bedrooms, it's home to a cosy, traditional pub - so if you love the food, drink and atmosphere of a classic country inn, you're in exactly the right place.Nestled in the pretty village of Clyst St George near Topsham, the lodge is surrounded by farms and historic buildings, including medieval Powderham Castle. Nature fans will love the acres of ancient moorland and the National's Trust's huge Killerton House Estate, which are both just a short distance away. Exeter itself is also well worth a visit, with its magnificent Gothic Cathedral, mysterious medieval underground passages and bustling quayside area full of shops and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George & Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Hotel Clyst Saint George
St George And Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George Clyst Saint George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing