We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute decision”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Called here as passing and was impressed with the decor, but was a little cold! Staff were very helpful and food was good value for money and 'fish & chips' were large! Will try again sometime, falls In between average and very good I.e. GOOD!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The George and Dragon, Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013

Popped in for lunch - but wouldn't bother again!
Our lunches were pretty awful - just 4 mushrooms for a starter! And the salad starter was just a few few leaves with miniscule cheese and bacon scrapings.
Main courses - scampi - about 8 or 9 tiny bits of cut up prawns in batter!
Chicken? Mostly dried up batter!
Didn't bother with a dessert.
Nothing tasted of anything much.
Toilets had a strange smell and broken soap dispenser.
Oh dear - and so near the sea where you can get lovely fresh fish dishes in other establishments.
The only redeeming feature was Lisa our attentive waitress!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalkingWithBoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The George and Dragon on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied, and we have replied to you personally about this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

A charming pub/restaurant/lodge with loafs of interesting things to look at on the walls snd tables. The rooms are well maintained and beautifully presented. A joy to stay in. The staff were kniwledgeabke and friendly whilst not being too obtrusive.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The George and Dragon. Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Popped into the St George and Dragon for a quick snack on the way down to Hope Cove with the wife and my Guide Dog. Staff very friendly (especially the lovely lady who served us) and bought a drink out for my hound before I even asked for one. Food was excellent and the beer was very passable indeed. One point knocked off for the sweary man behind the bar (manager?) using "ripe" language about a member of staff and her rota. Very unprofessional.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete_and_Thomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The George and Dragon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Clyst St George Inn for one night as a stop off between Western & central England. It was just meant to be a convenient resting place right off the motorway, but it was so much more than that. The room was clean and comfortable - nothing spectacular but pleasant to stay in. The real treat here was the restaurant: one of the best we found during our 10 day holiday in the UK. The atmosphere was great, the food was wonderful and the service was friendly and attentive. If you are in Exeter you should stop in - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OffWeGo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay
Kind Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Exeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

On her 85th birthday weekend, my sister and I took our Mum back to this hotel, where she and our Dad had spent their honeymoon 63 years ago.

The attention my Mum was given when she explained her story to the Manager was lovely. He listened and commented attentively and found a framed photo of the hotel during the era. Throughout out visit, he was courteous and engaged with us, asking about our trips during the day and thoroughly pleasant. This attitude was echoed throughout the staff from the waiter, Graham, who wrote a personal happy birthday note to Mum, to the welcoming attitude of the staff, particularly the kitchen manager. In fact everyone I met was a credit to the organisation.

As regards the room, it was small, dark and hot, but it was clean and tidy. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom adequate.

The menu in the restaurant is varied - we ate one lunch and two evening meals. I would like to see more variety of light food/snacks on the menu. Contintental breakfast was fine, with a good array and nice coffee.

The weather was fantastic and the area lovely - so we had a very good experience.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back as the hotel fronts onto a fairly busy intersection - we couldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Exeter,Clyst St George

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Hotel is advertised as being a small village atmosphere. However it is right on the edge of a roundabout and set back only by pavement width from a very busy road. Very noisy.
Twin room, for self and 10 year old son, was very small and cramped, tiny bathroom with dirty or stained floor. Uncomfortable beds. Bottom sheet on one bed old and ripped.
No towels in room on arrival.
Food very poor standard,badly cooked, had to wait a long time even though ordered early and was not very busy. Additional 25 minute wait for dessert. I had informed hotel when booking we were leaving before breakfast hours and asked for continental breakfast in room. On arrival, (and check in took ages as only one member of staff " knew the system") we were told to ask later. When I did this at 1900 I was offered a tray, to be taken to the room then, of ham and cheese and a croissant "or something", which "should be ok overnight at ambient room temperature ". the rooms were stifling hot, due to the weather and there was actually nowhere in the room to put a tray, it was so small. When this was pointed out I received the shrugged shoulders, blank stare approach to customer service.
Never again, it was like stepping back in time to the bad old days of British hotel standards.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert Expat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Exeter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clyst Saint George
3.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
4.5 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
543 reviews
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#10 of 31 in Exeter
1,817 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
Hotel Buckerell Lodge
#25 of 31 in Exeter
646 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#1 of 6 in Topsham
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George

Address: Clyst Saint George, Exeter EX3 0QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Clyst Saint George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clyst Saint George
Price Range: £58 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from Exeter, this unique 19th century lodge offers characterful yet convenient budget accommodation in the heart of Devon.Originally a brewhouse, skittle alley and stables, The St George and Dragon now provides a handy base for exploring Dartmoor National Park or the unspoilt beaches of two coastlines. As well as 21 recently refurbished bedrooms, it's home to a cosy, traditional pub - so if you love the food, drink and atmosphere of a classic country inn, you're in exactly the right place.Nestled in the pretty village of Clyst St George near Topsham, the lodge is surrounded by farms and historic buildings, including medieval Powderham Castle. Nature fans will love the acres of ancient moorland and the National's Trust's huge Killerton House Estate, which are both just a short distance away. Exeter itself is also well worth a visit, with its magnificent Gothic Cathedral, mysterious medieval underground passages and bustling quayside area full of shops and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George & Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Hotel Clyst Saint George
St George And Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George Clyst Saint George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing