We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Booked a table but got lost and turned up an hour late,the place was packed but they still managed to get us a table .The food was excellent and particularly Ian who served us our drinks and food he was run off his feet but still gave us wonderful service.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at The St George and Dragon . Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    74
    48
    24
    14
See reviews for
69
94
6
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

a late booking for just one night and the St george and dragon provided a perfect family room, exceptionally clean in all areas. The room was warm and provided everything we needed for a perfect stay. Evening meal was spectacular, large portions and well made as well as nicely presented in a quiet restaurant environment. Staff were very pleasant and attentive. All in all, one of the nicest places I have stayed in

Room Tip: advise them of your needs and if they possibly can, they will provide it...to a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The St George and Dragon and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Isaac, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Stayed in February (19th-21st) .It was our 4th visit to the Hotel & we enjoyed it very much. The staff were welcoming & .friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Our room on the ground floor was clean, comfortable & warm. Had evening meals including starters, fish & steak which we all enjoyed. Been to a lot of vintage inns throughout. the country and this is one of our favorites and good value for money.
Already booked our next visit in April. Can't understand some of the critical reviews.
From the Rodgers family in Cornwall.

Room Tip: We prefer the ground floor for convenience
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found St George and Dragon a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uffculme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Arranged to meet a friend for lunch, arrived and went to bar to order a drink and get a menu, was told to take a seat at a table and someone would attend to us, 20mins later still waiting. Why they could not have served us a drink and a menu I don't understand, it looks like a pub, feels like a pub but thinks its a restaurant. While we where waiting we watched 4 other people walk out, so we gave up and left. Not what I would call customer service and won't to returning any time soon.

Room Tip: unless you have all day for lunch, avoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveandJaneuffculme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clyst Saint George hotels

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2014

My room was cold and breakfast mainly pre- packed and rather boring and tasteless but an evening meal in the restaurant was good. The staff were brilliant....friendly and very welcoming and helpful. Lots of car parking space.
No-told me it's beside a very busy roundabout......easy to find but noisy!

Room Tip: Okay for a one night stopover but definitely not a holiday destination!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to St George and Dragon, Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Recently we celebrated a 90th with a party of 39 and guests staying for the w/e. The staff were faultless and the service friendly and efficient. The food choice was excellent and served with a smile and in good time. All of the group were full of praise for this venue and would visit again.

Room Tip: The downstairs rooms were very spacious and the three for 2 deal was very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Last minute decision to go out for lunch today (20/1/14). We have driven past many times and said 'we must go there sometime'. Well today was the day and i have to say we were not dissappointed. Staff friendly, food was good and value for money. Will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tweety118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The George and Dragon, Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. On behalf of all the team we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and we have replied to you personally asking for a little more information.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clyst Saint George
4.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#10 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
3.2 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
4.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
0.9 mi away
The Globe
The Globe
#1 of 6 in Topsham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
Address: Clyst Saint George, Exeter EX3 0QJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Clyst Saint George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clyst Saint George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from Exeter, this unique 19th century lodge offers characterful yet convenient budget accommodation in the heart of Devon.Originally a brewhouse, skittle alley and stables, The St George and Dragon now provides a handy base for exploring Dartmoor National Park or the unspoilt beaches of two coastlines. As well as 21 recently refurbished bedrooms, it's home to a cosy, traditional pub - so if you love the food, drink and atmosphere of a classic country inn, you're in exactly the right place.Nestled in the pretty village of Clyst St George near Topsham, the lodge is surrounded by farms and historic buildings, including medieval Powderham Castle. Nature fans will love the acres of ancient moorland and the National's Trust's huge Killerton House Estate, which are both just a short distance away. Exeter itself is also well worth a visit, with its magnificent Gothic Cathedral, mysterious medieval underground passages and bustling quayside area full of shops and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George & Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Hotel Clyst Saint George
St George And Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George Clyst Saint George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing