We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY DISAPPOINTING”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“VERY DISAPPOINTING”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We chose this place for our one night stay because of the description on their website. I quote: ' pictureseque ' and ' unspoilt surroundings ' and ' a perfect retreat ' It stands on the corner of an extremely busy roundabout of three busy roads, and is very noisy. There is traffic noise from 6am and it is continuous thoughout the day, so the description appears to be totally inaccurate

The website also states that it is ' nestled in the pretty village of Clyst St. George ' This is also inaccurate as the village is nowhere to be seen, we assume it is further up the busy and ( if walking ) very dangerous road, so again it appears to be very misleading.

There is also a statement that the St George & Dragon enjoys ' some of the best bedrooms in Exeter '

We booked a twin room which, thankfully was at the back of the hotel. It was quite small, which in itself was not a problem for one night. However, the bathroom was in an apalling state. The shower head was mouldy and the outer tube had split exposing the inner tubing. The tiles needed re-grouting and the shower curtain was approximately 18 inches too short so when we had our showers the water ended up all over the floor of the very small bathroom making it slippy and a safety hazzard. The toilet did not flush properly and the room can only be described as tatty and dirty.

The bed had hard, uncomfortable pillows and in the morning I found a receipt, belonging to a past guest, between the mattress and the bed linen which was a month old. One of the staff was called and shown the problems highlighted and my husband informed the duty manager before our departure and he was very apologetic. He stated that he would give us a £50 voucher to spend at an Innkeepers Lodge on a future visit.

We accepted this in the spirit in which it was given and left for our holiday in Cornwall confident in the view that something would be done to correct the faults.

However, since then I have read the more recent reviews, and the ones going back over at least 2-3 years focusing on the disappointed customers. They appear to suggest that nothing has been done. Many of them have a note attached from the manager with a similar text stating that ' he is sorry to hear of their disappointment and stating that he appreciated their comments etc. '

However,it would appear that the issues that have arisen many times have not yet been addressed, and so it looks as if the management are trying to diffuse the situation ( as they did with us ) rather than improve the standards

The room rate was £74.00 and under the circumstances was unacceptable for a substandard room, and extremely disappointing from a chain of pubs which should do a lot better for their customers.

My advice would be to find somewhere else to stay as this company does not seem to care about their customers.

My husband and myself would now welcome a response from the company

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheila r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We’re sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to St George & Dragon, Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter . Thank you for raising this with us, we really value all guest feedback, and we are working closely with the staff to ensure that this doesn't happen again. It is our aim to give every guest the very best service we can, and we have replied to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    76
    50
    24
    14
See reviews for
70
97
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

stayed here for 4days. beds very comfy room spotless. good choice of continental breakfast. on main road between exeter and exmouth. bus stop outside bus every 15 minutes.. free car park. vintage inn attached for evening meals.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybemic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to St George & Dragon Innkeeper's Lodge, Exeter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Got there not towels - this was sorted quickly.
Next morning we tried to have a shower but NO WATER! Investigation indicated that the shower hose was restricted somehow and only a trickle of water could pass.
So it was hand basin wash for both of us and no hair wash.
We complained to manager expecting some refund but nothing offered.

At £74 for B&B this was not acceptable.

Room Tip: Check that water flows in the shower! Ask for room away from main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
We are very sorry to hear that the visit you made to St George & Dragon, Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter was not as perfect as you would have liked. We want all our guests to be satisfied so we always welcome your feedback and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Clyst Saint George hotels

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

my son booked this for our golden wedding anniversary a excellent couple of days at the George and dragon at Clyst Saint George ideal for Exeter area room very good and the staff very friendly continental breakfast daily with a great choice and very good.

Room Tip: room 21 is down stairs and this is a large room this is the room we had .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianharris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you very much for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We were very pleased to read that you had a positive time here with us at St George & Dragon, Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter . Our teams love to hear when they have done a good job and we have replied to you personally about your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Chose this place as perfect location for proximity to CTCRM for a Royal Marines 'Families Day'. Pub and food excellent value, all dishes served quickly and generously. The accommodation however, was somewhat disappointing. Mouldy shower cubicle, rusty curtain rail, hard pillows, wall lights missing or broken bulbs, shower gel dispenser empty and v noisy on the roundabout side with no double glazing for noise reduction.. Stiffling heat with no air con or fans and windows not opening more than 6 inches for safety reasons. Advise take your own pillow and fan in summer. Just a few inexpensive minor tweaks and attention to detail, could transform these rooms since, other than those points mentioned, everything else was fine.

Room Tip: Rooms on the roundabout (front) side are noisy with traffic. Take your own pillow and a fan in summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jupiterjla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
The time you have taken to leave us a review following your visit to St George & Dragon, Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter is appreciated, and we will use your comments to ensure that our standards do not fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Living close by we decided to try this hotel for Sunday lunch having heard that it had changed hands. The service was fantastic and the food excellent. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, and staff come across as being very genuine and interested. Would highly recommend this.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 805Ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
May we thank you for your review, as we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us at St George & Dragon, Innkeeper's Lodge, Exeter. We have replied to you personally and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed a few weeks ago for one night to break up the journey to Cornwall. Perfectly positioned close to Exeter and the motorway but far enough away to find peace and calm. Massive car park and lovely pub and garden with extremely welcoming staff. Had a meal in the pub which everyone enjoyed apart from the Pimms Eton Mess pudding that looked and tasted like a mix of cream and strawberry Angel Delight topped with a slice of strawberry, there may have been a crumb or two of meringue so sadly this was disappointing but gave us a giggle. The room we stayed in was alongside the car park and was plenty big enough for a family of four and ideal for us. Unfortunately the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night which lead to some distress for the children and a shock for us older folks but thankfully it was a false alarm. We really enjoyed breakfast, three of us opting for a full English which was delicious with plenty of other food to choose from if you were having the continental. Good value stop over.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LP41671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
We are so pleased to hear that you found The George & Dragon, Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter a good place to stay, and we really appreciate you leaving positive feedback on Trip Advisor. We have replied to you personally as it is our aim to give every customer the very best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clyst Saint George
3.2 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
495 reviews
3.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Buckerell Lodge
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#4 of 31 in Exeter
1,000 reviews
4.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,592 reviews
6.1 mi away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George

Property: Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George
Address: Clyst Saint George, Exeter EX3 0QJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Clyst Saint George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Clyst Saint George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few miles from Exeter, this unique 19th century lodge offers characterful yet convenient budget accommodation in the heart of Devon.Originally a brewhouse, skittle alley and stables, The St George and Dragon now provides a handy base for exploring Dartmoor National Park or the unspoilt beaches of two coastlines. As well as 21 recently refurbished bedrooms, it's home to a cosy, traditional pub - so if you love the food, drink and atmosphere of a classic country inn, you're in exactly the right place.Nestled in the pretty village of Clyst St George near Topsham, the lodge is surrounded by farms and historic buildings, including medieval Powderham Castle. Nature fans will love the acres of ancient moorland and the National's Trust's huge Killerton House Estate, which are both just a short distance away. Exeter itself is also well worth a visit, with its magnificent Gothic Cathedral, mysterious medieval underground passages and bustling quayside area full of shops and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George & Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Hotel Clyst Saint George
St George And Dragon Vintage Inn, Innkeeper`s Lodge
Innkeeper's Lodge Exeter, Clyst St George Clyst Saint George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing