We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yep..we went back again! We love the ambience of this oldy worldy Devon place. Room 6 is a bargain when discounted.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Yep..we went back again! We love the ambience of this oldy worldy Devon place. Room 6 is a bargain when discounted.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2011

We were back with the family due to a bereavement.

All my family stayed and it's like putting on an old pair of slippers. Just feels so at home. Staff are great, hotel is located in a great quiet location and we love it here.

Might be worth talking to the staff before you try and find the hotel though as the Sat Navs take you on some very varied and interesting routes! It's quite difficult to find even when you have been there a few times.

The value is outstanding at times and so much better value than the place down the road I reviewed previously. (Countess Weir) Only thing we found this time was my daughters room was too hot (room 34 I think) and she couldn't cool it down even with the window open. Other than that, we had room 6 again and it's lovely. By the way, room 5 next door is the Bridal suite..you have been warned! lol

Room 6 is a huge room with a fantastic view over the rolling Devon countryside. If you stay, go outside at night in the dark and just look at the stars as there are no city lights nearby. In fact, there's nothing nearby, so go outside and just listen...and you will hear exactly that NOTHING. Maybe the odd fox or owl calling at night. Bliss.....

DISABLED?? All rooms are upstairs and there's no lift.. so maybe not very friendly for those with a handicap.

We will be back, of that I am sure. Thanks to all the staff..good job!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerculesC130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    185
    59
    14
    8
See reviews for
83
174
26
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We attended a wedding and reception here, and stayed overnight.
The staff were courteous, helpful and efficient, the food good, and all appeared to go according to plan. Our room was spacious and clean, and provided a view of the rolling Devon countryside. To be recommended.

Room Tip: Room 25 has dual aspect views, good bathroom facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missusf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

It was an OK hotel, bit run down and needing a revamp. Food was again OK but nothing special. There is nothing around this hotel so if you want to nip to a shop you are driving!

I don't think I would stay here again, and I wouldn't reccomend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We did not arrive at the hotel until 1 o'clock in the morning. The lady on reception was the most welcome lady ever. She even telephoned us on the way there to see if we needed any help finding the hotel.

The rooms had so much character and charm and were immaculate. The style of the hotel is totally in keeping with the location and panoramic views of this incredible little gem. The beauty was breathtaking.

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff and the food we had for lunch the next day was delicious and all homecooked.

I have read a couple of reviews of people who complained about the hotel and we are honestly flabbergasted that anybody could complain about this hotel, on any level. They go out of their way to ensure you have an amazing stay.

If you want a modern boutique hotel, choose a high street one. If you want fantastic service from staff who can't do enough for you, incredible views of our amazing countryside, great food, character and charm along with peace tranquility and relaxation, then you need to stay here !!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greattoseeyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel on our way home from our main summer vacation in Cornwall. The hotel is a very nice converted manor house which offers hotel and conference facilities. We were upgraded to an executive room (5) which was very well appointed indeed. Large and with both bath and shower in bathroom. The view over open fields was exceptional. The dining room was very good with acceptable food. If you stay try a pint of the local Jail Ale. This is one of the best beers I have tried. I can recommend this hotel. My only gripe is with the people who were staying in the ajoining room who decided to get up at 6am on the Saturday morning and make a lot of noise opening draws and letting their very loud alarm go off at 6:50. Very anti social behaviour indeed.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to an executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank briankirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

This Hotel has 2 Rosettes from the AA for its Meals.So we had a high expectation of the food there. sadly it did not live up to its billing. The positives are that the Staff are very good, but the chef I did not meet.
I had a ale steak pie and chips. The pastry was very thin and so after been cooked( I suspect in a microwave) was very hard and uncuttable. The chips were not chips but very very thin french fries that you would expect at a fast food outlet.2nd night sausages ans mash, How can you get excited about that.Our room was clean and had an ensuite. however the wash basin was not in the ensuite but in the room. I had beem promised an executive room. The shower over the bath had to be seen to be believed.We were over the main entrance and bar and was a bit noisy. Also had a small double bed. When I complained I was told I had a view of the small garden. The menu is fixed and is the same every night. It is also very difficult to get too. The food did not live up to the expectation of 2 rosettes.In fact the Little Chef on the A38 2 miles away served better food and the service was excellent. The food is expensive and for what you get is very over priced. The hotel seems stuck in a 60's time warp. Strangely enough all the staff seem to be new, Would I visit again no chance. I have complained to the hotel but have not yet received any response.

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pastorjohnWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordhaldon, Manager at BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2011
First of all I would like to say how upset I am that you did not enjoy your stay at The Best Western Lord Haldon Hotel, all the team and I try our very best for our guests to have a enjoyable stay.

With regards to your dining experience, we do not advertise that we are a two rosette standard.

We source local and fresh ingredients including our meats and produce, our dairy products come from a farm that has been supplying the hotel since it began. We use a traditional Devonshire butcher who has won many awards for his sausages and other meats. Like wise with the pies these are hand made using local ingredients with a short crust pastry which is thinner than some puff pastry pies found in some other establishments. These pies have won a gold award in the Taste of the West. I understand from members of our staff that you decided to eat in our restaurant on both nights of your stay and at no time did you mention that you were unhappy with your meals. It's our policy to deal with any issues immediately so all our diners have an enjoyable experience.

With regards to our menu selection, we offer main meals starting from £8.95 for a traditional choice up to £19.95 for a fine dining experience. We offer choices such as Salmon in a Champagne and dill sauce, Medallions of Beef with a red wine and wild mushroom sauce down to award winning hand made sausages with mash. We try to cater for all tastes and budgets.

Concerning our rooms, all rooms meet the AA 3 star standards and are checked each year. The room in question, meets the requirements of our grade and offers a wonderful view of the main hotel gardens.

We always try to offer an alternative room if a guest is unhappy with a room provided. When checking out with reception, you were asked if everything was satisfactory with your stay, at this point I understand that you mentioned you did not like having the hand basin in your bedroom. We explained that if you wished to visit again we would provide an alternative bedroom layout as only two rooms have a hand basin in the main bedroom..

We received your complaint by e mail at 18. 30 hours and we normally require at least 24 hours to investigate issues fully.

On a positive note, I am glad you found all our staff attentive and helpful.

Ms R Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2011

We took over the whole hotel for our Alvis touring holiday, a little tricky to find down the narrow lanes but well worth it. We were very well looked after by the staff, with good food, a really comfortable bed and lovely views across the countryside. Excellent parking for all our special cars and a lovely place to stay if you are looking for a quiet secluded break.
As no lift some of the rooms mean lots of stairs to climb or long passages to reach them, but help was offered with luggage.

Room Tip: 26 has a good view, but a bit of a treck to get to
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilynjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchideock
4.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
4.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
2.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Address: Haldon Drive, Dunchideock, Exeter EX6 7YF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Dunchideock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exeter
Exeter Best Western
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel Exeter/Dunchideock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing