We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well hidden, but well worth finding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Well hidden, but well worth finding”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Devil of a place to find but when you get there you're glad it's in the middle of nowhere. It's just so peaceful, surrounded with fields all around. If you get a room with a view you can see for miles, with hardly a house in sight. A lovely change to the noise and bustle of a city hotel.
Nice staff who seem genuinely pleased to help. My room (26) is an upgrade room with a feature stone wall. Again, a nice change from the concrete box rooms so prevalent in the large hotel chains.
Why not 5 stars? The restaurant seems a bit lacking in it's layout. It seems to be more a corridor room rather than a dining room. Quite strange really. But the food is nice and my waitress Vicky was a happy, charming young lady.

The hotel (as do others) have weddings most weekends so as Saturday night stay may not be as tranquil. Best to check if quiet is what you're looking for.


Would I come back tho this hotel? I have five times before!... and will again.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the bridal room so you don't get that! Try getting an upstairs outward facing room - s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeadGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    187
    61
    14
    8
See reviews for
84
176
27
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Arrived late at night in the dark , so views next morning was nice surprise , very rural in the countryside so if your looking for a near city hotel this isnt for you 4-5 mile journey into exeter , food and rooms were excellent, very narrow lanes on the way to hotel and a low bridge at the bottom of the drive no problem for cars or vans anything over 8'6" would be staff very friendly and as i say food was very good

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 186334Traveller610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2013

I had a great stay here last October (2012).

The staff were lovely, I informed the hotel by e-mail a few days before i arrived that i may be late arriving, they were great, replied telling me it was fine and even offered to put some food up for me for when i finally arrived if i wished even though the kitchen was closed.
When i arrived the young girl on the desk was really friendly and was again in the morning when i left. She went out of her way to ask where i was heading, to prewarn me about locally flooded roads. Really kind of her. Great customer service!

I was very impressed with my room, they had put the heating on for me, so my room was nice and toastie (very welcoming on the chilly night). The room it self was spotless. It was modern but felt homely, i settled right in after investigating the room (bit of a treat to be in a hotel). I had a double bed, wardrobe, two bedside tables, a desk table and then a suitcase holder. They had a flat screen TV, plenty of Tea and coffee to choose from, a bottle of still and sparking mineral water, a couple of packs of biscuits, box of tissues, towels nicely folded on the bed, extra bed sheet and pillows (though they weren't needed) in the wardrobe and a hair dryer then shampoo, soap, shower gel and a shower cap.in the bathroom. All great!
The TV had good reception and a fair selection of free-view channels. The bed was nice and firm. The bath had a shower over it. I had a view over the side entrance/gardens, wihch was nice.

Affriad i can't comment on the breakfast as i didn't stay for it.

Even though my trip was for business, i would be very happy to come back and stay with my other half, lovely hotel and staff - highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank u5m48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed for 2 days over Christmas which our 2 dogs. The hotel caters well for them but an outside tap to wash them down would have been a good idea. And poo bins would also have been a good idea. Our room on the 1st floor was simple but adequate, as was the bathroom. Our biggest disappointment was out meal on Christmas Eve. We both chose confit duck leg and they were totally over-done. In addition, the noodles that accompanied them were full of hot chilli (without warning on the menu) and as I become quite ill when I eat spicy food, I was quite upset about that. My pate was also not good - just a very large slab!! Breakfast was excellent, served on hot plates, but the yoghurt that my wife had was 'off'. It should have been thick but it was runny and was inedible.
The position of the hotel was superb overlooking the valley and the grounds were well kept.
The staff were very friendly and helpful but one of the waiters had rather scruffy hair, although he was friendly enough. He would do well to have a lesson in grooming.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank najllib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

Just came back from a EXCELLENT evening at this hotel.
The food was excellent also.
All the staff was more than helpful.
The rooms was clean and tidy.
The views are breath taking the web site picture don't do it justice.
Thanks once again to all the staff :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2012 via mobile

I have enjoyed this hotel many times over the last few years but this last time I stay was by far the most relaxing

I have rejoiced in the vast views of the country side while My wife and i spend time walking in the nearby woods

Our room was cleaned to the highest possible standard and beautifully decorated

The night we stayed in the hotel we enjoyed the food that was on offer in the restaurant my wife had the bouillabaisse and I had a rump steak both we're cooked very well
Breakfast was served piping hot and accompanied by french chocolate pastry s which my wife extremely enjoyed

We were checked in and out very well by two lovey lady's a mention must go to Beccy or Rebecca as she was very friendly and helpful

Very much looking forward to our future stays
Thank you very much keep up the magical work

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harrysnet1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Just had a Christmas group meal, how can a professional Chef plate up a piece of braised beef which looked like a piece of shoe leather.Even the exchanged one was poor.Veg were either so overdone or total hard ie brussel sprouts.Turkey was square ! The piece of salmon was cold.Cheese and biscuits were three tiny pieces of dried out cheese. The christmas pudding was impossible to chew.. The starters were good.

The venue room ,place settings (sorry except for dirty glass and bent fork)and service were good.
Oh dear what a disappiontment

Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 345jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchideock
4.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
4.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,565 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#16 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
2.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel

Property: Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Address: Dunchideock, Dunchideock, Exeter EX6 7YF, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Dunchideock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel Dunchideock
Exeter Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing