We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Wedding and Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing Wedding and Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

Mr wife and I arranged our wedding at the Lord Haldon on the 9th of March 2013. Our manager Ruth was very helpful right up until the end, and no questions was too silly to ask. The wedding and detail of presentation certainly exceeded any expectation that I had.

The staff welcoming, food looked as beautiful as it tasted, and was certainly rather filling. Our own room and guest rooms were very sizeable, clean and modern. The countryside views of the fields and forests are the icing on the cake for this hotel! All guests had a lovely time, and were very impressed with the hotel. Worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    182
    59
    14
    8
See reviews for
80
171
26
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

Myself and a friend had a lovely stay at the lord haldon on sat 9th march. The hotel staff especially the manager Ruth were warm and welcoming. The room with a magnificent view was very comfortable and spotless. The food at dinner and breakfast was excellent. All in all a very lovely experience. will definitely be back. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2013

Devil of a place to find but when you get there you're glad it's in the middle of nowhere. It's just so peaceful, surrounded with fields all around. If you get a room with a view you can see for miles, with hardly a house in sight. A lovely change to the noise and bustle of a city hotel.
Nice staff who seem genuinely pleased to help. My room (26) is an upgrade room with a feature stone wall. Again, a nice change from the concrete box rooms so prevalent in the large hotel chains.
Why not 5 stars? The restaurant seems a bit lacking in it's layout. It seems to be more a corridor room rather than a dining room. Quite strange really. But the food is nice and my waitress Vicky was a happy, charming young lady.

The hotel (as do others) have weddings most weekends so as Saturday night stay may not be as tranquil. Best to check if quiet is what you're looking for.


Would I come back tho this hotel? I have five times before!... and will again.

Room Tip: Room 5 is the bridal room so you don't get that! Try getting an upstairs outward facing room - s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeadGnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Arrived late at night in the dark , so views next morning was nice surprise , very rural in the countryside so if your looking for a near city hotel this isnt for you 4-5 mile journey into exeter , food and rooms were excellent, very narrow lanes on the way to hotel and a low bridge at the bottom of the drive no problem for cars or vans anything over 8'6" would be staff very friendly and as i say food was very good

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186334Traveller610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

I had a great stay here last October (2012).

The staff were lovely, I informed the hotel by e-mail a few days before i arrived that i may be late arriving, they were great, replied telling me it was fine and even offered to put some food up for me for when i finally arrived if i wished even though the kitchen was closed.
When i arrived the young girl on the desk was really friendly and was again in the morning when i left. She went out of her way to ask where i was heading, to prewarn me about locally flooded roads. Really kind of her. Great customer service!

I was very impressed with my room, they had put the heating on for me, so my room was nice and toastie (very welcoming on the chilly night). The room it self was spotless. It was modern but felt homely, i settled right in after investigating the room (bit of a treat to be in a hotel). I had a double bed, wardrobe, two bedside tables, a desk table and then a suitcase holder. They had a flat screen TV, plenty of Tea and coffee to choose from, a bottle of still and sparking mineral water, a couple of packs of biscuits, box of tissues, towels nicely folded on the bed, extra bed sheet and pillows (though they weren't needed) in the wardrobe and a hair dryer then shampoo, soap, shower gel and a shower cap.in the bathroom. All great!
The TV had good reception and a fair selection of free-view channels. The bed was nice and firm. The bath had a shower over it. I had a view over the side entrance/gardens, wihch was nice.

Affriad i can't comment on the breakfast as i didn't stay for it.

Even though my trip was for business, i would be very happy to come back and stay with my other half, lovely hotel and staff - highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank u5m48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed for 2 days over Christmas which our 2 dogs. The hotel caters well for them but an outside tap to wash them down would have been a good idea. And poo bins would also have been a good idea. Our room on the 1st floor was simple but adequate, as was the bathroom. Our biggest disappointment was out meal on Christmas Eve. We both chose confit duck leg and they were totally over-done. In addition, the noodles that accompanied them were full of hot chilli (without warning on the menu) and as I become quite ill when I eat spicy food, I was quite upset about that. My pate was also not good - just a very large slab!! Breakfast was excellent, served on hot plates, but the yoghurt that my wife had was 'off'. It should have been thick but it was runny and was inedible.
The position of the hotel was superb overlooking the valley and the grounds were well kept.
The staff were very friendly and helpful but one of the waiters had rather scruffy hair, although he was friendly enough. He would do well to have a lesson in grooming.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank najllib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2012

Just came back from a EXCELLENT evening at this hotel.
The food was excellent also.
All the staff was more than helpful.
The rooms was clean and tidy.
The views are breath taking the web site picture don't do it justice.
Thanks once again to all the staff :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchideock
4.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
2.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Address: Haldon Drive, Dunchideock, Exeter EX6 7YF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Dunchideock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exeter
Exeter Best Western
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel Exeter/Dunchideock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing