We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a week ago , such a beautiful place. Lovely modern room, very comfortable and clean. Gorgeous views . Lovely place to stay, Ruth and her team are very friendly and helpful. Thankyou I will be back

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollyanna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

380 - 386 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here for one night on the 28th April on the way to Cornwall. Very nice relaxing hotel.Room was refubished, large and very comfortable. The food was Excellent and so was the Breakfast. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for quiet refurbished.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teenyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

A wonderful location, the staff were all real friendly and efficient. The food at night was great and good value. Breakfast was superb , cooked to order, a treat these days. Very narrow lanes to get there, nearly had brace of pheasant to take home! WiFi a bit dodgy in room 7 but when I went to the bar and tried down there it was much better. I will be back next time I am working in the area. I experienced a special treat on my last night when we were informed there would be no electric power for about an hour as the the farmer had hit the telegraph pole carrying the electric cables and the utility company had to shut off the power to enable the repair to be done. The joys of living in the country. The staff all just adapted to the situation well done!

Room Tip: Room 7 over looks the courtyard
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This hotel is situated in an absolutely idyllic location. With open fields to the front and Devon's rolling hills to the rear it is a paradise for hikers or nature lovers. The hotel is situated on what was the site of a grand country palace based on Buckingham House in London. You are actually staying it what was the stable blocks and servants quarters.

Check in was simple and straight forward. The hotel has ample parking and some impressive grounds. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. This alone makes this hotel worth recommending. The bedrooms have all the usual creature comforts in addition to bottled water being provided. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The only criticism I would have is that the walls are badly sound proofed or certainly were in the room I was staying in and you could hear the person next door very clearly when they moved around or spoke on the phone or coughed. The rooms could do with better insulation.

The bar does not look particularly inviting although there is a lounge and a magnificent open courtyard area which must be very pleasant on summer evenings. The food here is excellent and not too highly priced. The breakfasts served here are also of a very high standard.

The hotel has a Wi-Fi service but unfortunately it seemed very slow from the room. It may have worked faster in the main lobby. I would definately recommend this hotel and will almost certainly book here again myself.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAVAKLI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We needed a last minute overnight stay on the way to Cornwall so this hotel was well placed just outside of Exeter, albeit about 4 miles down narrow lanes from the A30. A very quiet location with rural views and plenty of parking. We had a lovely large comfortable room seemingly newly refurbished with an enormous bathroom. It was spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a good dinner and breakfast. Would make a good quiet location to explore this area of Devon.

Room Tip: Room 5 was good.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davernip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

what a perfect place to come and unwind...... good fro all sorts, for all reasons, but NOT if you like noise and bright city lights...... this is the antithesis to all that: an oasis of calm in the Devon countryside miles from anywhere. Good service, lovely rooms, super views, beautiful gardens, excellent food.... what's not to like? Well done to Ruth and her staff. Just wish it were closer to home (then it wouldn't be half as nice!)......

Room Tip: anything with a view....... if at the front, there are blackout blinds to shield against the glare f...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This Hotel offered a quiet very rural setting with clean, comfortable well equipped rooms and friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are generally of a good size, as part of an old country house but some are showing signs of wear and tear. Plenty of parking but you have to walk a short distance to the reception, not good in heavy rain. Try to avoid on Wedding days! they do a lot of these and Hotel and restaurant can be very busy. Finding location can be difficult. you need to come from Exeter via Ide - do not attempt access from any other direction, very narrow roads with no passing places. Well worth a visit and good value for money. Food Excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchideock
4.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
2.2 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
525 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#17 of 31 in Exeter
1,311 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,732 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel

Address: Dunchideock, Dunchideock, Exeter EX6 7YF, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Dunchideock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Price Range: £68 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel Dunchideock
Exeter Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing