We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Guest House Paradiso.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Guest House Paradiso.....”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The saying, "never read a book by its cover" comes to mind with this hotel. The staff were very professional, the food was cooked well and our hotel room was very clean, and extremely modern. This hotel is out of the way, but this is why we booked it. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    187
    60
    14
    8
See reviews for
83
176
27
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

As on business Asked for a quiet room to get a good nights sleep. It was ok but overlooked the bar courtyard so lucky it wasn't a sunny, busy evening or it would have been noisy in the evening. Person in room next door woke us up very early as you can hear bathroom next door (if you ask for a quiet room in a clearly not full hotel why not put a guest in a room not next to other guests staying there to guarentee quietness?) Room clean, average decor. Twin room - one bed very creaky. Had a meal in the bar area, tired and dingy decor, food tired and dingy too. Would never visit again very disappointing for a Best Western. Only plus side is a lovely location near Haldon Hills and staff friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Red-rose-vintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordhaldon, Manager at Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. On behalf of myself and our whole team please accept my apologies that we did not exceed your expectations. I hope that you will come visit us again so that we can offer you a superior stay.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 01329832483.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.

Kind Regards

Nina Fowler
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We attended the wedding of my best friend's daughter this weekend. The weather was gorgeous and could only enhance what was an excellent venue. A beautiful country hotel within easy reach of the city, with fantastic view out over the hills. We were warmly welcomed at reception and found that the staff in general were very helpful and polite. The room where the service took place also had lovely countryside views. The 3-course wedding meal was amazing - the very best sticky toffee pudding ever!!!! Our room was comfortable and clean and a z-bed was put into the double room to accommodate our son (for an additional charge). Breakfast today was also very good. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Friends staying in rooms at the back of the hotel were disturbed by A/C noise - we overlooked the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraW137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

stayed here 20 times at least always enjoy my stay. everyone is so nice yeah maybe the rooms are not perfect but they are clean and every one has a different character for this very old building. the drive through the forest to this hotel is fantastic with the good chance to see deer.
there is so much to see here with stunning views everywhere you look and the gardens are fab.
the food as always been outstanding with a good menu.
And best of all the real ale served is perfect :)

Room Tip: Never had a bad one
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We had asked for executive room and were given room 5 which was fantastic. Lovely views, spacious room and bathroom with shower which was superb. Lovely breakfast cooked to order and porridge was excellent. Excellent evening meal but very quiet in Bar which lacked atmosphere as there was no-one there! We were visitng National trust properties in the area and were ideally situated. Found the property without any difficulty as we downloaded instructions. Staff very pleasant and helpful. had to take care didn't catch legs on wooden bed frame.

Room Tip: room 5 apparently was the bridal suite! Lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valerie097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My partner fell ill whilst staying at this hotel. The manager was very caring and drove her to the local doctors practice, which in my eyes is up and above what should be expected from hotel staff. I would like to commend the Best Western hotel manger for her helpful and caring approach to her customers. Thank you. My partner did say the room , staff and home cooked food were lovely.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1970Reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Molesey, Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Very quiet hotel and we had a lovely room. However, restaurant is just glorified over priced pub food! If you are a vegetarian beware as usual veggies are ripped off with over priced poorly thought out stodgy food, £15.95 for a pasta dish when it is £14.95 for a steak. The veggie pasta dish did not have any fresh ingredients so why so expensive?
It also felt like eating in a library and restaurant needs some music. Breakfast was much better and nice friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icdenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchideock
4.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
4.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#6 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#15 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
2.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel

Property: Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Address: Dunchideock, Dunchideock, Exeter EX6 7YF, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Dunchideock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel Dunchideock
Exeter Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing