We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful unspoilt location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Certificate of Excellence
Aude, France
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful unspoilt location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

As others reviewers have mentioned, this hotel is a bit tricky to find, especially in the dark, but the view when we woke up in the morning was worth it!
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
The bedroom was great with everything we needed, but the public rooms were perhaps a little tired and dated.
We ate in both for dinner and breakfast, and both meals were excellent.
A place we would like to return to and, with more time, take some of the excellent walks in the area

Room Tip: My sister was on the top floor, and the landing up there seemed quite chilly
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    182
    59
    14
    8
See reviews for
80
171
26
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

I booked this hotel as I was attending a seminar in a nearby hotel that did not permit dogs.

This is a very picturesque hotel and venue however be warned, if you are driving towards there at night you may be directed to use a single track road by your sat nav!

The welcome was warm and although for some reason the receptionist appeared to be unaware that I was accompanied by a dog, this only required a change of room.

The room was of a reasonable size, furnished with a double bed, a good size flatscreen tv and suffiicient storage. The ensuite bathroom had was equpped with a good mains shower and soap, shampoo and bath gel.

The hospitlality tray was generous with both still and sparkling water, mugs and biscuits.

Although there were several cars in the car park, when I went down to dinner only two other diners were in the restaurant.

My starter of a game terrine (which was excellent and very filling) was accompanied by two rolls sliced, something I have not come across before.

The main, sea bass with mussels was delicious although the sauce might be a tad sweet for some.

I found the piped festive music extermely intrusive.

The bed was very comfortable and in the morning I could take my dog straight out for a good walk down a right of way.

When I went to breakfast, again I was alone in the restaurtant, although joined later by some other guests.

I found it puzzling to be located at a table very close to the kitchen when the room was empty and the tinny music from the radio in the kitchen was EXTREMELY annoying, exacerbated by yet MORE piped music from reception.

So much for a nice, quiet, relaxing breakfast!

The continental choices were reasonable and I asked for poached eggs on toast and these were PERFECTLY cooked. Orange juice was cheap and cheerful and the toast a little anaemic.

The decor is a little tired but still clean and smart.

My room was only £40 so good value for money, however the charge for a dog is a little steep £7.50 per night) and I would not pay this if staying more than one night.

Sort the music out and that was the only real gripe I had. A good base for exploring the surrounding area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CamilleWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great location, stylish building and public areas. The hotel has a relaxing lounge, clean pleasant rooms - and bright, helpful staff. Very good food.
Poor signage in the area, so check web-site for route

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Alf L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were very late checking in and the hotel reception contacted us to check if we needed food and then kept the reception early later to allow us to arrive. The reception staff were very polite and helpful. The building itself showed age a bit in places, but was pleasant and in pretty surroundings- well off the main road. The breakfast was really good, well cooked and served again by polite and helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Damian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Stay here, for value for money, and to help preserve this type of experience. It's cheaper than a travelodge! Places like this are an endangered species. The views are magnificent, and the hotel is a marvellous building.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

The saying, "never read a book by its cover" comes to mind with this hotel. The staff were very professional, the food was cooked well and our hotel room was very clean, and extremely modern. This hotel is out of the way, but this is why we booked it. We would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchideock
3.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
4.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
8.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Address: Haldon Drive, Dunchideock, Exeter EX6 7YF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Dunchideock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exeter
Exeter Best Western
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel Exeter/Dunchideock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing