We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disgusting rude customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disgusting rude customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

Visited recently as a potential large function customer.
Waited in reception whilst receptionist obviously was ignoring us, thought maybe she was extremely busy and would be with us as soon as possible. Girl in the office by the reception also saw us waiting and chose to ignore us also. Reception phone rings, huge sigh of relief on the receptionists part, she could get out of acknowledging us at all now.
Although we made the effort to drive to this hotel, won't be bothering again ! Sort the front of house out and maybe you won't have to do promotional sales for your weddings !

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Miranda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    182
    59
    14
    8
See reviews for
80
171
26
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
westkirby
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Great venue for a short break. Hotel lovely and clean,nice bathroom,spacious room.
Friendly and helpful staff,would stay again if in the area.Reasonable prices and a good base for us exploring the area.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mandymf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in Feb 2014 and was pleasantly surprised.

- room on top floor (33) was large and elegant, with bath and great views over the countryside. Much may depend on your room allocation.

- wifi free and easy to connect

- breakfast was good and there was seemingly decent provision for vegetarians

- water noises and adjoining bathrooms meant a bit of a lottery in terms of early / late noise.... but slept very well overall.

- hotel's rates with Capital taxis in Feb 2014 are £14 to Exeter and £25 to airport, likely to be better than standard rates quoted by taxis.



Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Keepsmiling22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isleworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Have stayed in this hotel several times when on business. Because it is in the middle of nowhere I have always eaten in hotel. Great food and good service, hotel happy to serve food in bar (Sky football on TV). On business trip on my own so really enjoyed the stay.
Rooms are large and clean. This hotel is in a very peaceful location with fantastic views.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

OK so the wife and i had a 2 night stay at the lord haldon hotel and over all we were very happy its a fantastic hotel located in a fantastic location for that peaceful break, the staff were friendly and helpful, the food was really good and lots of it, the room was big and had everything we needed and looked clean but on further inspection ( ROOM 21 ) i found thick dust on top of the wardrobe on top of the door frame on top of the door closing mechanism on top of the picture frame and on top of the TV also the bathroom looked newly decorated but there was still grout on the tiles and where the wall tiles met the floor tiles there was no sealant also in the dining room one of the top windows about 2ft - 3ft there was a cobweb the size of the whole window its a shame as silly little things like that could make it a much better hotel and would of got 5 stars from me but don't let this put you off staying there as apart from the issues mentioned its a fantastic hotel and we had a great stay i just think the cleaners need a good kick up the a!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is very close to Exeter City Centre and is a joy to stay at. Lots of little things such as plenty of tea bags in the room. Nice toiletries and lovely big windows that actually open. Good radiators that heat up the room quickly. Lovely aspect. Beautiful grounds. Very very clean rooms. Delightful Staff. They could not do enough to help you. Lovely black out blinds - just perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Townmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchideock
3.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
4.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
8.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Address: Haldon Drive, Dunchideock, Exeter EX6 7YF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Dunchideock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exeter
Exeter Best Western
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel Exeter/Dunchideock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing