We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff - what more can you ask for” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Certificate of Excellence
wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great staff - what more can you ask for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hi

Booked in here for business meeting next day in Racecourse and didn't arrive until very late so can only comment on a quick hello and goodbye however very impressed with staff.

Before I go any further a word of warning for a Sat Nav - give the hotel a call before and get directions or try a route planner as hotel will not come up on the Sat Nav and seems to be a problem however do not let this get in the way and bit of pre-planning will eliminate this.

The lady at reception was just great when I finally arrived and really couldn't have done more for me i.e.meet me at the door as I came into the hotel, took my bags to the room when I parked the car, offered to make me a sandwich even though the kitchen has closed ages ago - all in all such a great service and really made me feel welcome.

Also a good mention for the other member of staff (sorry forgot name) who helped me when the Sat Nav failed !! but who was on hand to serve a well deserved glass of wine when I arrived !

Power shower, comfy bed, good room temperate and fab staff. Shame I had to leave at 6.45am. Would of been nice to see more and appreciate my surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank webbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    182
    59
    14
    8
See reviews for
80
171
26
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

I had a business meeting in the centre of Exeter. The food was good and the service through out the hotel was fantastic will be going back and recommending this place. Down side is it was to far from Exeter for me but will be going back for a weekend as fantastic location

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Vdubgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Set in the middle of the Devon countryside this hotel enjoys a peaceful spot. I stayed here as I was working close by and enjoyed a relaxing evening. The welcome at reception was warm and the public areas clean and well maintained. My room was lovely modern decorations, clean, good bathroom and wonderful view out the window. The bar area provided a nice place for a pre dinner drink and restaurant has views over a lovely courtyard, with friendly service and good home cooked style food. If you travel by public transport you will need a taxi, I got mine from Exeter St David's station and it cost about £22. But make sure you have directions or the postcode to give the taxi driver mine didn't know where to go.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank purpleTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We chose The Lord Haldon pretty much at random and late in the day as we were too tired to continue driving. It's out of the way and in a glorious setting. The lady at check in was lovely and chose us a room with a beautiful view. It was fairly quiet. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed the meal. We had a pleasant chat with a couple of the other staff. The bed was comfortable and the room clean.
All was good until check out when we encountered an extremely rude girl at the desk. We were rather rattled when we drove away, so much so that I emailed to complain - something I've never done before. The response was extremely prompt and apologetic. It certainly made me feel better. It was her second last day so at least she's moved on. Would recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CheddarHouseAU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

I stayed here for a little break on my own in the country side. I was put in a room with a leaky shower, which would drive me nuts, so I was moved to another room. The original room needed someone to clean the mirrors too- very dirty. I had a lovely view, nice hot big bath and spacious room. Comfortable bed too. A couple of negatives though. The lamps next to the bed, plugged in behind the bed (impossible to get to) didn't work, despite being plugged in and switched on. The Plumbing after flushing the loo was really loud, and the main problem I found was the doors in the hallway. People coming and going, they were constantly slamming and woke me several times. The breakfast wasn't great either. Fruit wasn't fresh, and the cooked option was tiny and not a lot of variety of options available, so I wouldn't pay the extra £10 for breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 26 has a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melissa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

This hotel obviously prides itself on service. I have regularly stayed here over the past 4 years and never had a bad night or service. Food is excellent, service friendly, discreet and overall superb.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchideock
4.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
3.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#5 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#14 of 31 in Exeter
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mercure Exeter Rougemont Hotel
2.9 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel
Address: Haldon Drive, Dunchideock, Exeter EX6 7YF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Dunchideock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exeter
Exeter Best Western
BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel Exeter/Dunchideock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing