We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel off the beaten track”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This place is well worth the effort of negotiating the long winding Devon lanes to reach it. The food is excellent, the service is prompt & friendly & a programme of redecoration is well under way. The public rooms are tastefully done there's a wonderful garden with a fantastic view-It would make a marvellous wedding venue. Some of the bedrooms are rather dark & some bathrooms still need attention but if there's anything you don't like, the staff are very helpful-we did change from the room we'd originally booked.I was even given a crutch when I'd hurt my knee.The hotel is dog-friendly & they're allowed in the bar.

Room Tip: The rooms with the views aren't necessarily the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 510 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

My husband kids and myself stayed here .on arrival the outside looked lovely, but we were very dissapointed at the inside. The reception was very depressing ,there weren't any lifts ,there was no air conditioning ,the room was stuffy and smelly .the bathroom was dated to say the least ,the enamel was peeling off the dirty bath . The breakfast was dreadful with only 1 member of staff .we would never stay again .

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordhaldon, General Manager at Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay.

We have been busy carrying out maintenance and refurbishment of the reception area and Court Yard, which is now complete.

Our maintenance team maintain our rooms to a high standard but occasionally fittings need replacing and we try to this with as little inconvenience as possible.

Our team strive to provide good customer and I am sorry you feel that we let you do in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Room with a view means 2nd floor and there is no lift. There are no rooms on the ground floor! Views over the Exe Valley towards Woodbury Common an the Sidmouth Gap were great.
Sultry, humid weather for our 2day stay and no air con. They provide a fan which did the job!
Food what you might expect.
In the bar, a revelation ! Dartmoor Brewery's Jail Ale bitter. Managed to drink 2gallons in 2 days. Absolutely well kept beer.

Room Tip: If you are young and fit choose a second floor room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bamburyrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordhaldon, General Manager at Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed the Jail Ale.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Have stayed at the hotel 5 times now, 4 with my 3 young sons in tow. The setting is stunning - Devon countryside at its best. The hotel is having a makeover so some rooms have been done and some still awaiting a bit of a facelift but even the ones still to be done are very clean and comfortable. The reason we keep going back, aside from the stunning location, is that the staff are all very friendly and look after us so well when we stay. I think once the makeover is complete this hotel will become a bit of a gem. Great place to chill too after a long day's work/on the road!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms - with a view. The views are priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordhaldon, General Manager at Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Best Western Lord Haldon Hotel, Exeter, is difficult to find and to drive to. There is no lift. There was a smell of a dusty vacuum cleaner when entering the reception and up to the room all the time, yet the bits on the stairs were there all week which puzzled us.

In the room the carpeted floor was uneven and there was a loose tile in the bathroom. Both were unnerving. We could have tripped up. We had to be wary all the time. Our window was above the large ducting for the hotel. The roaring noise of the extraction fan was heard from early morning and again in the evening until about 21:30. We could also smell food being cooked.

In the bathroom the basin hot water tap was faulty giving the smallest trickle of water. We reported it. They said it would be fixed. It wasn't. We reported it again and were told that there was nothing wrong. We both explained further that we were using the bath tap to run hot water. The basin tap was fixed by the evening.

The television did not have a sound-bar to go with the modern TV. We could not have it on because the sound was so poor. The room lighting was too dull. There was no light above the bed to read by. The two bedside table lamps with large dark shades were not suitable for reading. There was only one thing which was good - we could use Wi-Fi in the room.

We did not enjoy the breakfast due to the undercooked bacon and the overcooked eggs. The eggs had obviously been kept hot for ages, having a crusty brown base to them which was inedible. We did not order it again for the rest of our stay, and just had toast and a hot drink.

More staff should be on the reception desk, especially when checking out. We held back as we saw it was far too much for the one employee. The cleaner was there as well making a noise (and smell) with the vacuum cleaner. The timing of this work should be better arranged.

All of this is not acceptable. It was an expensive stay too. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: My advice: do not go there. It's not what you expect it to be. Go if you must, but you'll no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lordhaldon, Manager at Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations during your stay.

We have been busy carrying out maintenance and refurbishment of the reception area and Court Yard, which is now complete.

Our maintenance team maintain our rooms to a high standard but occasionally fittings need replacing and we try to this with as little inconvenience as possible.

Our team strive to provide good customer and I am sorry you feel that we let you do in this area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We did not stay but attended for a wedding celebration. The general impression is of a dated and tired hotel in need of investment, from untidy flower beds to internal decor and furniture.
Eye-watering prices at the bar ( over £10.00 for one orange juice, one lager and an orange juice and lemonade ) didn't help, although the staff were helpful enough.
Our views as above were echoed by other guests; a shame as we were expecting much more.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank 2IS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The Lord Haldon hotel is set in the country with great views, a few miles north of Exeter. It is extremely quiet and peaceful a real escape. Dogs are made very welcome and we had ours with us in the bar one evening where we had dinner (dogs are just not allowed in the lounge or restaurant). The food in the restaurant was lovely as was the cream tea on the patio. Our only real complaint was there is no lift, so if you have trouble with stairs don't get a room on the second floor.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank chrisandsharon20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunchideock
2.2 mi away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
540 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin Exeter
Hotel du Vin Exeter
#18 of 31 in Exeter
1,330 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Devon Hotel
The Devon Hotel
#3 of 31 in Exeter
1,131 reviews
4.6 mi away
Jurys Inn Exeter
Jurys Inn Exeter
#11 of 31 in Exeter
1,788 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Exeter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel

Address: Dunchideock, Dunchideock, Exeter EX6 7YF, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Lord Haldon Country House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter > Dunchideock
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dunchideock
Price Range: £63 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel Dunchideock
Exeter Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing