We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dave and Maggie C”
Review of Sundene House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sundene House
Ranked #1 of 2 Northam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dave and Maggie C”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

It would be difficult to overstate the quality of this B&B. Indeed it is by far the best we have ever stayed in during the last 25 years! The warm welcome and hospitality we received from Louise and Harry was second to none - nothing was too much trouble for them. We hired all three rooms (for ourselves and other members of our family) for 3 nights (2nd - 4th June). The breakfasts were excellent - everything we wanted was provided. Would we come back again when in the area? Definitely!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise S, Owner at Sundene House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
It was really lovely to meet you all and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in Devon. We hope all goes well with you and your family. Harry and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
47
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Really top quality bed and breakfast set close enough to walk to Westward Ho! beach and to pretty much everywhere in the local area. Great couple running it made us feel really happy and welcome, and cooked us a full English breakfast to order and waited on us in the morning! Perfect cleanliness. Would recommend to any families, couples or singles without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BenjaminDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise S, Owner at Sundene House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are really pleased to know you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the new room we have made available this year. Looking forward to seeing you next time. Harry and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Louise and Harry made us so welcome, nothing was too much trouble considering we had a toddler and a dog with us. Very dog friendly and the accomodation was excellent, good location, parking and lots of useful information to hand about the local area and Louise and Harry were happy to offer recommendations. We felt very much at home there and can thoroughly recommend this B&B. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise S, Owner at Sundene House, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback-we are so pleased you are happy with your stay.We look forward to welcoming you all back another time.Harry and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and couldn't have been happier with our choice.
Our room was excellent - very clean, comfortable and very quiet. Our room had just about everything that we needed + extras !!
We had a great friendly welcome from the owners Louise & Harry, their home is just an amazing property very spacious,
The breakfast had to be the best and we are still full now !
The B&B is in a great location walking distance to Northam, Bideford and Westward Ho!
Really looking forward to going back.
Thank you so much to Louise and Harry xx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise S, Owner at Sundene House, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you so much for posting a review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Feedback is vital to make sure we continue to meet our guests expectations so thank you for taking the time to post.Harry and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just spent our second bank holiday weekend in this charming B&B. The breakfast was to die for and our hosts were so helpful and warm. The decor is fresh and stylish and our bed was really comfy. Excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Overlooking the pretty garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise S, Owner at Sundene House, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you so much for adding your lovely review of Sundene House.See you next time...Harry and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

What an excellent welcome I received from Louise and Harry! The room was in excellent order and it's an amazing property, the fire place is wonderful! The room was clean, spacious and had everything I needed and the breakfast has to be one of the best in North Devon! I'll definately stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happyjohn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise S, Owner at Sundene House, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Great to see you and glad you enjoyed your stay with us.Thank you for taking the time to post a review.Harry and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We would absolutely recommend staying at Sundene House. Rooms were spacious and spotlessly clean with everything you could want plus more. We were absolutely spoilt. It was a great position, very quiet, breakfast was fantastic. Will be recommending Sundene to all our Australian friends. Thanks Louise and Harry.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CydMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise S, Owner at Sundene House, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Sundene B&B and hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.Hoping to see you again next time you are in the UK!Thank you for recommending us.Harry and Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northam
0.5 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
701 reviews
2.5 mi away
Instow Barton
Instow Barton
#2 of 3 in Instow
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundene House

Property: Sundene House
Address: Sundene Chope Road, Northam, Bideford EX39 3QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Northam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Northam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely,spacious suites available as double,single or family rooms. New king size bedded en suite now available too. Free Wi-Fi, generous welcome tray with fresh milk and small fridge and microwave in suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundene House Northam, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing