We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from Home”
Review of Sundene House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northam
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sundene House
Ranked #1 of 2 Northam B&B and Inns
Farnham UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 23 January 2011

We chose Sundene House from the very favourable reviews it has been given on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. It is a very attractive arts & crafts style house on a rather select road in Northam which is on the outskirts of Bideford.
Our hosts Louise & Harry could not have been more welcoming and hospitable. The accommodation was more than we could have wished for as we had the place to ourselves since this is definitely 'low season!' This meant we enjoyed a spacious sitting - breakfast room, ante room with en-suite (which could double as an extra bedroom for a family) and of course a very well appointed double bedroom complete with sewing kit, hair dryer, books & magazines. There was a kettle with tea bags, infusions, coffee, biscuits and even a fridge.
Breakfast was the 'full works' if you wanted or simplye enjoy cereals, yoghurts, toast etc. Fresh coffee and fruit juice all available of course.
We will definitely go back

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
49
47
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We have stayed in many quest houses but Sundene House exceeds them all...... such a friendly welcome on our first day and this welcome continued throughout our stay (4 nights) Our rooms were so very comfortable that we spent two evenings just chilling there. The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful and we loved having a fridge in the room plus tea/coffee and even biscuits available at all times. A truly beautiful home from home in a wonderful area.
Even had an iron and ironing board available......fantastic.......we will certainly be visiting Sundene House again next year. Harry and Louise we thank you and have recommended you to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lexykent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2010

Harry and Louise are wonderful hosts, very friendly and helpful. Our room was great - it actually had an adjacent sitting room with couch, TV, fridge, dishes and cutlery. In the fridge was a pitcher of water, milk, and even two bottles of beer! Perfect for self-catering after many restaurant meals. All in all, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Princeoftides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newmaldenfamily
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights recently and couldn't have been happier with our choice. Our room was lovely - nicely decorated, comfortable and very quiet. We were very impressed with the friendly welcome we received from the owners Louise & Harry who kindly brought in our bags on arrival and happily indulged our chattering 6 year old! They really couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome.
One of the things we most enjoy when we're away is a cooked breakfast (we never have one at home!) and the breakfast here was superb.
Location wise the B&B is easy to find, well situated for local attractions and very close to the beach. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newmaldenfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Our experience from beginning to end was excellent at Sundene House. The hosts (a really lovely couple) could not have been more friendly and welcoming and nothing seemed too much trouble to ensure that we had a really lovely stay! On two nights we ate an evening meal there which was also excellent and exceptional value and the breakfasts were also lovely with loads of choice. It was the little touches like chilled water in our suite, as well as fresh milk and tea making facilities that made it all so special - and also excellent for families who want 2 adjoining rooms - It is certainly the best B&B I have ever stayed in and we will certainly be back!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonquillius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Spent a long weekend at the end of September. A beautiful house in a quiet location (but within walking distance to Northam, Bideford and Westward Ho!) with car parking. Rooms are spacious and well stocked. We stayed in a mini suite which gives you room to move around when getting ready to go out etc.
The owners are really friendly which makes the stay much more relaxing.
Breakfast was plentiful with a wide choice.
Have already booked to go back next year!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dunny1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devonport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Stayed at Sundene with three children for the first time this July and it is definately the best B&B we've ever stayed in. We have stayed at other B&B's and Hotels locally as we go to North Devon every summer for a few days but none of them compare to Sundene. The owners are very friendly and the rooms are better than you would expect in a B&B. Extra touches like fresh milk and water, cookie jar which was a hit with the children! The shower room was very clean with fresh towels/cotton wool and cotton buds. The room was a mini suite where the children could sleep in the 'lounge area' and I had my own room! ( a luxury when away as most family rooms have everyone in together)
It is in a very quiet location therefore there was no noise at night or early morning to wake you up. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice and really nicely laid out for us. Will definately be staying there with them again next year.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wibs_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Northam
0.5 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
490 reviews
0.7 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
544 reviews
0.2 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
701 reviews
2.5 mi away
Instow Barton
Instow Barton
#2 of 3 in Instow
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sundene House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundene House

Property: Sundene House
Address: Sundene Chope Road, Northam, Bideford EX39 3QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford > Northam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Northam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lovely,spacious suites available as double,single or family rooms. New king size bedded en suite now available too. Free Wi-Fi, generous welcome tray with fresh milk and small fridge and microwave in suites. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sundene House Northam, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing