We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Memories” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Memories

Memories
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Northam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$29
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous Memories”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

The man in the kitchen at Memories is an accomplished chef AND a hunter gatherer. Naomi is the attentive, cheerful, knowledgeable front of house, whilst Brett slaves in the kitchen after a hard day's kayak fishing. The result is excellent, local (wherever possible), fresh, delicious food which Greg Whatsit on Masterchef would "lick off the plate!"

At £27.50 for 3 terrific courses it's unbeatable. I had whiskey and dill marinated trout gravadlax and queen scallop popcorn with roasted garlic and chive mayonnaise to start - clean plate! Next, pork belly (sumptuous) with apple and onion fritters, crackling (melt in the mouth), gratin potatoes, sauteed cabbage and leeks with a peppercorn and cider sauce. Party in your mouth - clean plate! To finish me off, a warm treacle and walnut tart with ice cream. Guess what? Clean plate! AND there are three other choices for each course, including delicious vegetarian plates. I could become a convert!

The restaurant is small and intimate - only 14 covers, but the neutral decor and modern table settings offer the perfect foil for terrific food.

PS My wife had a vegetarian starter (exquisite), followed by local wild seabass (unbelievable) and for dessert a heavenly sticky date and ginger sponge with butterscotch sauce.

Fabulous Memories!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MJPearce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    17
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bideford
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expected so much more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

All very nice but a little too minimalist for us, lacks that warmth you expect from an independent restaurant. Food okay but nothing to rave about. Going out is usually a treat for us so I expect something I wouldnt do myself at home.
Some of the flavours overcrowded the main event. Not going to rush back here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TeazleBideford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Can't fault this restaurant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had an excellent meal at Memories. Naomi was very welcoming and the menu looking appetising. We were not disappointed as the food matched the menu descriptions beautifully. All the courses were individually prepared and well presented. It was a dining experience I would suggest, that if you are nearby, you must try. Be prepared to book a table in advance though; but that table is yours for the night. What a pleasant change from feeling rushed as 'your table is needed' hovers over you. Other restaurants take note of this good practice - well done Naomi and Brett.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appledore, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Book in advance ...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

... to secure a table in a wonderful restaurant run so efficiently. Great hospitality in a relaxed atmosphere, mouth watering menu, fish line caught by the chef! Super portion size so that you can make it to the sweets - all incredible. Save room for an Irish coffee ...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie_Lillywhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Recommendation Worth Sharing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

I'm not from the area, but a friend who is recommended 'Memories' for an evening meal. It's a recommendation I am more than happy to pass on.

Great restaurants in the area are obviously well hidden and known only to the locals, so I was pleased when a friend suggested Memories, and the suggestion was spot on. A warm and friendly welcome from front of house, matched by the delightful food (well produced and wonderfully plated). It was a full house at the time of our visit, and based on the food and experience I can see why, Make sure you book, and you are bound to return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cookingatzerodegrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Memories also viewed

 

Been to Memories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing