We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel!”
Review of The Fenwick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Fenwick Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fenwick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on business and thoroughly enjoyed it - great staff, pleasant rooms, good restaurant and good service. Very reasonably priced and punches well above its weight. Highly recommended; especially for business travellers - very convenient hotel.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank kwhayward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We have passed here many a time and finally got the excuse to stay, while attending a wedding.
I was very impressed with the service-even prior to staying as we required a room prior to the day of the wedding, and were contacted by The Fenwick staff to advise of room availability.
In arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the high quality finishes and noted that the only let down was the external of the hotel-as in no way did it reflect the interior finishes.
The bedroom was clean and well equipped, our only issue was the noise from the nearby road. This was only apparent when we had to leave the windows open all night due to the heat of the hotel.
We decided to partake in a few beverages on the first night, enjoying the lovely gin cocktails created by Grant (the barman).
The next morning we enjoyed a selection of fresh fruits, yoghurts, cereals and full breakfast options. I was a little disappointed there were no croissants or continental meats and cheeses as noted in their menu.
The hotel staff were incredible friendly and more than willing to help with anything.
The bars are well equipped and reasonably priced.
The wedding was wonderful, just a shame about the weather!
Only bad thing we noted was the water pressure in the showers-it was pretty poor so it's quicker to run a bath! That and the only other bad thing was that the pakora ran out at the evening buffet before we could get our hands on it!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kat5383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

No major gripes regarding our stay.

The accommodation was fine. It was clean and the decor of the room was in keeping with what you'd expect of a 3 star hotel.

The breakfast options were equally fine. Nothing too fancy here but enough available to satisfy.

We stayed in a double room for two nights...costing us a hefty £320.

Essentially, our stay here was ok but on reflection we think that this modest 3 star hotel is charging 4 star prices.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Have passed this hotel many times, and always noticed that it is busy. Had not heard any reports about it from friends etc. However, we stopped here on way back from Commonwealth Games in Glasgow. We were lucky to get a table (saturday night and we had not booked) and were delighted with the meal.
The staff were friendly and efficient, and there was a great atmosphere in restaurant.
Two of us had a curry (of which there was a good choice), one had home made steak-
pie and one fish pie, with salmon, smoked haddock and huge prawns. Our starters were lovely and there was a good choice of puds, all very reasonably priced. Unfortunately we had no room for them, so settled for coffee. Will certainly go back
here - sooner rather than later! Plenty parking spaces too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Endee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We chose the Fenwick Hotel for our wedding because of the beautiful decor and the very helpful wedding coordinator Caroline. During our wedding day all the staff could not have been more helpful and were on hand to attend to anything we required.

Caroline could not do enough for us and was completely calm the full day which help me as the bride stay calm. Everything ran smoothly thanks to her.

The service during dinner was excellent and the food was great. All our wedding guests had commented about how good the hotel had been.

We had booked out the majority of the hotel rooms for the wedding and each room was perfect. As most of our family was traveling from Ireland the close access from both Prestwick and Glasgow airport was ideal.

I would definitely recommend the Fenwick Hotel for a wedding or event.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allyson_Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

The service here is 100% fabulous. Couldn't speak highly enough of the attentive, friendly staff.
Food was great and the bar chappie was very good at putting together after-hours snacks for us upon late night returns.
Breakfast was superb and the weekend (blonde) breakfast lady needs to be mentioned for her perfect service!
Our room was newly refurbished so no complaints there either.
About 30 mins drive from Glasgow centre but the hotel will recommend a great single car cab service that charge less than £30 each way.
Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Leanne1977Bath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

More a review of the hotel as a place of entertainment, rather than a place to stay, as I have never stayed at the hotel. Have enjoyed the lovely Sunday Carvery many times. The Hogmanay Celebrations over several years, and very recently a reception for my daughter who was married abroad and had a celebration at this hotel on her return.
A very good night, lovely staff, could not have been better. Lovely tasty buffet was supplied, ample space for guests, a good night had by all. Family members who stayed at the hotel found the rooms very comfortable and breakfast very good.

Room Tip: no complaints from family members
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fenwick
4.1 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kilmarnock
353 reviews
14.4 mi away
Western House Hotel
3.3 mi away
Foxbar Hotel
Foxbar Hotel
#4 of 4 in Kilmarnock
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Travelodge Kilmarnock
Travelodge Kilmarnock
#3 of 4 in Kilmarnock
142 reviews
11.4 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,138 reviews
15.4 mi away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#2 of 17 in Ayr
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fenwick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fenwick Hotel

Address: Junction 8, M77 | Nr Kilmarnock, Fenwick KA3 6AU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > East Ayrshire > Fenwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Fenwick
Price Range: £52 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fenwick Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the picturesque, historic village of Fenwick we are centrally located with direct links to Glasgow, Prestwick Airport and Glasgow International Airport. Our accommodation is the perfect base for a leisurely weekend, getaway or rest and relaxation after the hustle of a business day. With ensuite facilities, writing desk, direct dial telephones, plasma televisions, complimentary wireless broadband, alarm call facilities, iron and ironing board, porterage, hairdryer and room service you will have everything you require for a luxurious stay.Boasting a boutique and individual restaurant, guests can enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinner in either the main restaurant or in the intimacy of our private chic booths.Our lounge offers a selection of drinks from freshly brewed coffee to tantalising cocktails with a choice of lights bites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Fenwick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kilmarnock
Kilmarnock Best Western
The Fenwick Hotel Ayrshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing