We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation, food and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Windmill & Turnpike
Ranked #3 of 3 Dunnington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I would like to thank The Windmill's owners and staff for the service we received during our 2 night stay with you. Food is of a high standard and portions large. We dined with you on both Saturday night and Sunday lunchtime and the service we received on both occasions was outstanding. The renovations that have been carried out since our visit, last year are wonderful and given the place a fresh new look. We are very much looking forward to a visit in the not too distant future.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Mollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2014

14 of us went for our grandson/s 21st food good .drinks top price ,13 people had puddings then told we were not allowed to eat the birthday cake .loyalty at this place means nothing we call 4/5 times a year .but no more ..told by staff some people now go to the duke of York .{will have to look it up }

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank EVERTONFAN31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

A last minute decision to eat out mid week. As always the food was well prepared and fresh. For a change we both had vegitarian options, lasagne and canelloni and we were not disappointed. Seated in the conservatory but even though the weather outside was cold we were warm and cosy.
Bar and table staff were friendly and attententive.
Prices are resaonable and you certainly get good value for money.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank MadYorkite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Went for lunch with my elderly mother, I had booked a table but they said they had no recollection of a booking? We were eventually seated at a table next to the corridor where the toilets and kitchen are . So you can imagine the amount of people traffic coming and going past our table ! The food we ordered had obviously been pre prepared and re heated in a microwave and not freshly cooked on the day. For the prices they charge you would expect better quality food and service in my opinion. We certainly will not be visiting there again !

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

A typical Yorkshire food pub with huge portions, but good food. The place is closing on 6th January for a badly needed refit. Re-opens 18th January, it will be interesting to see what refit is like, if good this will become a great value food pub in York. We'll worth a try, but be warned, huge portions.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank stewart207624333307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Inn serving food in the finest of British traditions: hearty, freshly prepared meals, many dishes using locally sourced ingredients. The beer battered fish and home made steak pie are especially good. The desserts to die for, whether the chilled selection on display or the spnge puddings.
The welcome is always convivial.

Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We met here on the Sunday between Christmas and New Year for a meal with friends. We were two couples with 4 children under 5 and had a lovely time. We were seated in the dining room and had lots of room for highchairs, food was lovely, no crackers so no cheese and biscuits but lovely puds instead. Will definitely return

    • Value
    • Service
Thank Storrfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunnington
4.1 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
653 reviews
5.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Travelodge York Central Layerthorpe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windmill & Turnpike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windmill & Turnpike

Address: Hull Road, Dunnington YO19 5LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Dunnington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunnington
Price Range: £69 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windmill & Turnpike 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly relaxing welcome awaits you at Turnpike Lodge, Dunnington, York. Our bed and breakfast accommodation is finished to a high standard and consists of five double rooms and five twin rooms, one of which has disabled access. This ground floor bedroom also has the benefit of an audio/visual siren in case of emergencies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Windmill & Turnpike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windmill Hotel York
The Windmill & Turnpike Dunnington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing