We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but noisy”
Review of The Windmill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Windmill
Ranked #3 of 3 Dunnington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice but noisy”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

After eating in the Dunnington village the night before, we decided to try The Windmill. What we didn't realise was that a table had to be booked. They managed to fit us in without any problem. The menu was extensive, as was the specials board.

We ordered our food and when it came it was hot and very tasty.

If I had one comment it was that the tables were quite close together so you couldn't help but hear what the neighbouring table was talking about and they allow children and most of the meal was eaten with the sound of a screaming baby.

With that said, we would visit again if we visit the area,

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    88
    26
    20
    11
See reviews for
75
133
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Good value food served hot. Service first class.
Excellent choice on menu for starter and main course.
Desserts choice superb but make sure you go hungry.
Nice country pub just outside York with ample parking.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yorkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Dunnington is 4 miles from York Centre. Its no good if you want to spend the evening in York, but oif you are on your way through its ideal. Comfortable rooms in modern extension. Staff helpful. Good food and beers reasonably priced. Bikes locked in outside area with the beer barrels. Recommended.

Room Tip: They are identical - on two floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baly50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Had a table for 6 booked. Service at the bar and table very good. Food quality good and portions plentiful. Would recommended. We had pate, fish cakes, black pudding stater - all very good . Chicken dishes on specials all good. Didn't have puddings as too full!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Zoe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Went here on a Thursday evening and had booked a table for 7pm. When we arrived I gave our name and we're told our table number was 29. We sat down expecting some service, that was our first mistake! We sat for ten minutes in a very quiet conservatory with no atmosphere while staff ignored us. Eventually just before we decided to leave another couple of diners told us we had to go to the bar to order. No one on the staff had thought to tell us this, even though it was quiet and we're obviously waiting. The other diners told us they asked to move to a more comfortable part of the restaurant but we're told they couldn't even though it was quiet. We ordered 2 steaks which were average at best for what we considered a high price. We would not recommend this place or visit it again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for 4days very nice rooms very clean and comfortable. Sarah at breakfast was excellent very welcoming and so was the cleaner. If I was going to be picky I think the prices in restaurant are pricy but we would stay here again.

Room Tip: room 4 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wassa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night as our daughter was taking part in a triathlon at York university. We arrived late although we did ring and tell them we would be late as we were on the drag, but a very nice lady welcomed us into the hotel and took us too our rooms which were on the ground floor. The room was very pleasant and had tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits and sweets! The towels and the toiletries were nice too. We had a lovely breakfast and the lady donated some money for the charity our daughter and friend were competing for. We enjoyed it so much we went back after the event and had some lunch which was lovely. Great food and really friendly people. Thanks the windmill!! Might see you again next year if the girls take part!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 59christine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunnington
6.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
4.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
6.6 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windmill

Property: The Windmill
Address: Hull Road, Dunnington YO19 5LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Dunnington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunnington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windmill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly relaxing welcome awaits you at The Windmill, Dunnington, York. Open all day, every day, The Windmill is the perfect setting for a quick drink, a bite to eat or an evening out. Our bed and breakfast accommodation is finished to a high standard and consists of five double rooms and five twin rooms, one of which has disabled access. This ground floor bedroom also has the benefit of an audio/visual siren in case of emergencies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Windmill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windmill Hotel York
The Windmill Dunnington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing