We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cyclist friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Windmill & Turnpike
Ranked #3 of 3 Dunnington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was an excellent stop off during our Way of the Roses cycle tour from coast to coast and back again. The staff were friendly and helpful and a secure lock up was available for our bikes. Clean, comfortable rooms and in a good location for the trip. We also enjoyed a very pleasant evening meal.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandJLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2014

We've stayed at the Windmill before and we're so pleased to find a hotel in York that we like, the first time we came up. The food is excellent and I judge this by the fact that i'm an excellent cook and it was as good as any meal I can produce. The staff are friendly and efficient, the rooms are comfy although we found it a bit hot in December and the Hull road was too busy to have the windows open but when we stayed in June week both windows were open and the traffic didn't bother us. A late night glass of wine in the gardens was lovely and an excellent breakfast in the conservatory watching the birds before returning home was perfect. The rooms are spotless and have been refurbished to a very high standard. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Really tasty filling meal, with lovely service and all for a good price. Just what you want from pub grub. Also once you get inside the look is much nicer as are the gardens behind, so ignore the main road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 88DanLa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Sat down early at 1945 for an 2000 reservation and ordered quickly but food took an hour to arrive. After a journey full of delays to get to Dunnington, the wait was the last thing we needed but to be fair the food was superb. Never worth the wait as you should never have to wait an hour for a main course only but would certainly revisit based on the food alone.

Thank taggwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a fantastic stay at the Windmill, The food was excellent!!!! fantastic fresh produce and cooked to perfection. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We had a small issue on arrival due to communication confusion, however the staff pulled out all the stops and this was sorted to our satisfaction. The rooms are adequate with nice extra touches, only negative comment it that it was very warm which made sleeping difficult (it was a humid weekend no breeze from open window) We had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel. Food really is something special.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Pristine rooms, comfortable beds, warm and welcoming staff, nothing is to much trouble. Breakfast with a great choice to suit all and we always book for the evening meal which has always been excellent. Stayed at the windmill when visiting York and York Races numerous times now and we have always had a fantastic stay. We would recommend The Windmill without hesitation as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: we have stayed in various room numbers and have found them all to be pristine and of the same qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a night with my Mum The rooms are fantastic value for money and, while on the small side, they are appointed to a high standard. The refreshments include hot chocolate, mineral water, boiled sweets & biscuits The bathroom is modern with a fantastic shower & nice toiletries. Breakfast was of a high standard, with a good choice cooked food, served by very helpful staff. The Windmill also offers great food for lunch & dinner and has a large garden with outdoor seating & play area. It offers something for everyone really. The location is great for trips into York City centre or the Yorkshire Wolds. We will be back.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunnington
4.1 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
4.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
5.3 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
3.9 mi away
Travelodge York Central Layerthorpe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windmill & Turnpike? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windmill & Turnpike

Address: Hull Road, Dunnington YO19 5LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Dunnington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunnington
Price Range: £69 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windmill & Turnpike 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly relaxing welcome awaits you at Turnpike Lodge, Dunnington, York. Our bed and breakfast accommodation is finished to a high standard and consists of five double rooms and five twin rooms, one of which has disabled access. This ground floor bedroom also has the benefit of an audio/visual siren in case of emergencies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Windmill & Turnpike reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windmill Hotel York
The Windmill & Turnpike Dunnington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing