We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Break”
Review of The Windmill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Windmill
Ranked #3 of 3 Dunnington B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Welcome Break”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have just had a lovely break at the Windmill. The staff were friendly and helpful, the meals excellent and the rooms welcoming and very clean. Could not have asked for anything more to make our stay more enjoyable..

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    90
    26
    21
    11
See reviews for
77
133
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was an excellent stop off during our Way of the Roses cycle tour from coast to coast and back again. The staff were friendly and helpful and a secure lock up was available for our bikes. Clean, comfortable rooms and in a good location for the trip. We also enjoyed a very pleasant evening meal.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandJLeicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We've stayed at the Windmill before and we're so pleased to find a hotel in York that we like, the first time we came up. The food is excellent and I judge this by the fact that i'm an excellent cook and it was as good as any meal I can produce. The staff are friendly and efficient, the rooms are comfy although we found it a bit hot in December and the Hull road was too busy to have the windows open but when we stayed in June week both windows were open and the traffic didn't bother us. A late night glass of wine in the gardens was lovely and an excellent breakfast in the conservatory watching the birds before returning home was perfect. The rooms are spotless and have been refurbished to a very high standard. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Really tasty filling meal, with lovely service and all for a good price. Just what you want from pub grub. Also once you get inside the look is much nicer as are the gardens behind, so ignore the main road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 88DanLa84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Had a fantastic stay at the Windmill, The food was excellent!!!! fantastic fresh produce and cooked to perfection. Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. We had a small issue on arrival due to communication confusion, however the staff pulled out all the stops and this was sorted to our satisfaction. The rooms are adequate with nice extra touches, only negative comment it that it was very warm which made sleeping difficult (it was a humid weekend no breeze from open window) We had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel. Food really is something special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Pristine rooms, comfortable beds, warm and welcoming staff, nothing is to much trouble. Breakfast with a great choice to suit all and we always book for the evening meal which has always been excellent. Stayed at the windmill when visiting York and York Races numerous times now and we have always had a fantastic stay. We would recommend The Windmill without hesitation as a great place to stay.

Room Tip: we have stayed in various room numbers and have found them all to be pristine and of the same qualit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
421 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a night with my Mum The rooms are fantastic value for money and, while on the small side, they are appointed to a high standard. The refreshments include hot chocolate, mineral water, boiled sweets & biscuits The bathroom is modern with a fantastic shower & nice toiletries. Breakfast was of a high standard, with a good choice cooked food, served by very helpful staff. The Windmill also offers great food for lunch & dinner and has a large garden with outdoor seating & play area. It offers something for everyone really. The location is great for trips into York City centre or the Yorkshire Wolds. We will be back.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunnington
4.1 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
4.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,200 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Travelodge York Hull Road
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
0.4 mi away
Fifth Milestone Cottage
Fifth Milestone Cottage
#1 of 3 in Dunnington
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windmill

Property: The Windmill
Address: Hull Road, Dunnington YO19 5LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Dunnington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunnington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windmill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly relaxing welcome awaits you at Turnpike Lodge, Dunnington, York. Our bed and breakfast accommodation is finished to a high standard and consists of five double rooms and five twin rooms, one of which has disabled access. This ground floor bedroom also has the benefit of an audio/visual siren in case of emergencies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Windmill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windmill Hotel York
The Windmill Dunnington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing