We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great atmosphere, worth a visit!.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Windmill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Windmill
Ranked #3 of 3 Dunnington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mallorca
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, worth a visit!.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

I ate Sunday lunch here on 18th Oct 2009, with my family. I would recommend booking a table (we did).
It's a nice English pub, excellent menu (plenty variety of food, something for everyone), and the food was of good quality. We found the price of the food to be reasonable, however I found the coffees to be expensive. Make sure that you check the blackboards at the entrance, that's where the Windmill Specialities are.
Staff are friendly and polite.
I would go again to eat, and perhaps would think of staying here if I didn't already have alternative accommodation in York. The pub is in a handy location, easy to get to from York by car.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniella B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    157
    85
    26
    18
    11
See reviews for
71
131
3
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

Think of that well known travel motel chain and the Windmill is modelled on it but run and maintained in much better fashion. I dont think I have stayed in a hotel that was kept in a cleaner state. From floor to ceiling it was spotless. Thats not all, the bathrooms were as good as new - no sign of mould on walls or ceilings, good quality toilet fittings and best of all a real shower cubicle with room to shower comfortably and no fear of water escaping all over the floor.
The adjacent Inn is a mere thirty metres from the entrance to the accommodation block and, for the evening, food is reasonable and well priced. A good job as there is no local alternative. Breakfast is excellent and cooked to order so it is hot and fresh.
The hotel is on the edge of York but access to the main roads is excellent and it is a good base for exploring the area by car, including the coast and Nth Yorks Moors. Free parking is available.
The owner is always about and he and his staff are excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exkgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

I've stayed at the Windmill a few times on business.

The owners and staff are very friendly; the rooms are modern and in very good condition. The pub serves your typical "pub grub" menu - reasonable prices but can be a little too heavy.

There's free wi-fi, but you can only pick up the signal in the rooms nearest the restaurant. Alternatively you can use it at the back of the pub whilst having a drink instead.

One time when The Windmill was full I stayed at a more expensive pub/hotel (part of a chain) nearer to the York town centre but was disappointed in both food and service in comparison.

Overall: good value, especially when compared to the budget hotel chains.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoreCheeseGrommit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

We booked and stayed here last week. We had a wonderful time and a very good meal.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
humberside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

Me and my husband stayed here for 2 nights to go to York races in july 09. The accommodation is amazing. Exeptionally clean rooms, fantastic power shower, the most amazing comfortable bed. Rooms have a tv(no sky though) hairdryer, biscuits which were replenished!!! tea ,coffee, towels. Located on a main road but didnt hear a thing as the accomodation block is to the rear of the pub so a little further back. The staff are soooo helpful and the breakfast was huge - my husband had the whopper breakfast and struggled to eat it and he eats a lot!!!! I had a traditional breakfast and it was huge. There is also cereal, yoghurts and fruit too so you wont go hungry at all. A taxi to York city centre will cost you around a tenner and is about 6 miles away, alternatively a short mile walk will take you to the park and ride buses which is £2.30 day return. We had sunday lunch at the pub too and it was also of huge portion size so left with full tummies. All round an excellent choice of accomodation and we would definately stay again and would reccommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trinny28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2009

Very friendly staff welcome you to this lovely pub and hotel just outside York. The accommodation is in a purpose built block behind the pub so there were no problems with noise. The room was modern, spacious, well decorated and very clean with a modern bathroom with walk-in shower. There were the usual complimentary toiletries along with some thoughtful little extras like nice biscuits and sweets with the tea and coffee. Breakfast consisted of a choice of cereals, yoghurt and fruit juices followed by a full english breakfast and toast. A lovely stay, would definitely recommend this hotel and will be back!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJT21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dunnington
6.8 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
4.0 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN York Pavilion Hotel
4.0 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windmill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windmill

Property: The Windmill
Address: Hull Road, Dunnington YO19 5LP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Dunnington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dunnington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windmill 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly relaxing welcome awaits you at The Windmill, Dunnington, York. Open all day, every day, The Windmill is the perfect setting for a quick drink, a bite to eat or an evening out. Our bed and breakfast accommodation is finished to a high standard and consists of five double rooms and five twin rooms, one of which has disabled access. This ground floor bedroom also has the benefit of an audio/visual siren in case of emergencies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your The Windmill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windmill Hotel York
The Windmill Dunnington, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing