We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely place to stay - home from home!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dunnington, York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

GillianB2...
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay - home from home!”
Reviewed 27 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is the fifth time we have stayed here and it's as lovely as ever. We have never returned to a place more than three times in the past, but we are drawn like a magnet to Jean and George's perfect little annexe. They are the ideal hosts and have become good friends over the years.
It is beautifully equipped, sparklingly clean and as comfortable as anyone could wish. We absolutely love it and will return again!

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary Ann...
1 review
“Great stay”
Reviewed 10 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

George and Jean are wonderful hosts and the Gateway Annexe is a great place. It's comfortable, clean, quiet, up-to-date, attractively decorated and convenient to all kinds of interesting and historical places. In addition to all of that, the garden is beautiful and Meg, the golden retriever, is a real sweetheart. Jean and George are kind and clearly enjoy meeting new people. They love the area they live in and are happy to share information about it. They are ready to help if needed but are not at all intrusive. They've put a lot of thought and attention into creating a real home away from home for their guests. Dunnington is just minutes away from a park and ride into the city, but you can easily drive in in under 15 minutes. It's also handy to many other interesting and fun places. If you're looking for a great place to stay close York, look no further!

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol0917
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

I stayed here because of working in that area and really enjoyed my stay. George and Jean have a perfect holiday home with everything needed to enjoy a break and being able to sit out in the garden in the evening was lovely. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it, Dunnington is a lovely village and close enough to York to be able to visit that as well.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A hidden gem to relax and fully charged”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The location is so wonderful just in the centre of the avenue. No interruption from neighbours barking dogs, George and Jean, the owners were like family. I remember returning from shopping to this stunning and wonderful studio apartment, and got loss. I called George and before I could look around twice, George was there to take me back to warmth of the studio.

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Second Home Away From Your Home”
Reviewed 23 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

I felt like Jean & George adopted daughter. What a marvelous place to be in beauty and tranquility!!

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire-Ma...
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful warm and very friendly”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely place, clean warm welcoming and homily. Lovely village friendly locals and good walking for the dog.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julie7720...
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodation”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I have reviewed this accommodation before.
We had everything we wanted. It was wonderful. Cannot recommend it enough.
Hosts were lovely and friendly and helpful.
Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There was nothing we didn't like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.