We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of The Packhorse Inn

The Packhorse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Crowdecote
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Malaga, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is the best food around, the whole place is welcoming and warm and friendly. We were late arrivals and the kitchen was closed but the chef opened it up just for us and boy we were not dissapointed, the starters was fantastic and the main course just blew us away. there is 2 menus running, the normal everyday menu and chefs new A la carte menu. plenty to choose from so i don't understand the last review maybe someone has a beef with the place. mick, sharon and of course the chef are warm welcoming and great hosts. we will return again and again. Thank you all.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bigleighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    45
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Re-visited after dining here a few months ago, and have to say we felt let down. The menu had no new additions and the choice was quite limited. We ate at lunchtime and all picked different meals, and were then informed that the choices of 2 out of 4 of our party weren't available! We all agreed that the food was over-priced for the portion size and quality, and would have to say that we won't be returning.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank torremendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Let hungry”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were turned away at 2.10 pm on a bank holiday Sunday because we were too late. What nonsense, why advertise that you serve til 3 if you turn people away at 2.10pm.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So good we went 3 times in a week!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The Packhorse Inn is in a beautiful village nestled near the bottom of a steep hair pinned hill. We were struggling to find a real pub to eat in and we found just that here.
There was a good variety of meals on the menu as well as a specials menu which changed daily providing extra choice.
The landlord made us feel very welcome and had an excellent knowledge of his regularly changing real ales.
All the meals we tried were superb, being presented well and tasting excellent.
If you're in the area please try this pub as you won't be disappointed by the food or the excellent and friendly service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“First class food and service once again”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We ate here as a party of 13 (pre-booked!) and despite it being half term and the place being packed the service was exemplary.
The food could not be faulted and was served quickly and efficiently.
Ambience is always good here with involving hosts and friendly natives!
We shall return.
It should be noted that as we were a party of 13 and this was half term that our starters and main courses were pre-ordered.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TGRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Packhorse Inn also viewed

Hurdlow, Peak District National Park
Kettleshulme, Cheshire
 
Chinley, Derbyshire
New Mills, Derbyshire
 
Disley, Cheshire
Hayfield, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Packhorse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing