We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to chill out and relax”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Novotel Lombok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Lombok
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
South Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great place to chill out and relax”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed at the Novotel for 9 nights in May and June. My partner is a member of Accor Advantage, so for us this meant a great discount on our meals (50%) and drinks (15%) which given its reasonably remote location, was a great bonus. We stayed in a Hotel room, which was very pleasant. The resort was perhaps 70% full? Anyway, always plenty of sun beds and umbrellas available. Breakfast buffet was excellent each day; lunchtime was some kind of snack at the bar; and then the dinner buffet or restaurant. We are not great buffet people, but the Indian night was good - the rest, we didnt really notice the theme all that much in terms of the food variety that was offered. We enjoyed the a la carte restaurant much more, and it was actually cheaper if you didnt want a three course meal. Not being a great fish lover, I didnt really enjoy the buffets that much.

The grounds are kept beautifully, and it is a very peaceful and restful place. But we had a couple of issues while there - one was dealt with appropriately, the other; well, the outcome was disappointing. But I guess that happens sometimes.

Trying to get information about tours is also a little challenging, but we did manage to book a day trip to Gili Air which was brilliant. Sparkling crystal blue sea, and white sand and brilliant snorkelling. The snorkelling off Kuta was non existent as there were very few fish.

We did wonder what people do when it rained - the rooms were too small to spend the day in, and other than the small bar area, there was nowhere else to spend a day indoors. We were lucky, we had brilliant weather that only rained at night. The gym is good, as is the (paid) wireless internet.

Overall it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique_Duvivier, General Manager at Novotel Lombok, responded to this review, 24 June 2010
Dear guest,
I would like to say thank you for your valuable comment.
I am sorry if we did not offer appropriate solution on one of your issue but I can ensure that our staff always try their best to pleased our guest.
Regarding the rain, luckily, this part of Lombok does not receive much water and whenever we get rain, it is more frequently on evening or night.
I wish that we will have the pleasure to welcome you soon again.

Best personal regards.

Dominique Duvivier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    663
    234
    125
    59
See reviews for
506
746
93
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2010

Novotel’s location in a beautiful bay is hard to beat. The service delivered by quite a few of its employees however is below my expectations. The lady in charge of the daily activities misinformed us about the breakfast on the hill. In the restaurant our food took very, very long to arrive and it was hard to get the waiter’s attention. The food was OK but most of our meals in Lombok were of same or better taste for less than half the price. When we returned from kayaking the guards were chatting facing the beach - not the bay – and didn’t hear us so we had to land through the waves on the shore by ourselves which resulted in my wife’s leg being hit by the kayak leaving a mark. Not that that’s the end of the world but I just feel this place could (should) do SO much better for a 4 star resort! Must say some staff was helpful, and rooms are great.
Conclusion: Good place to relax and enjoy the view, but service and dinner disappointing.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joss029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique_Duvivier, General Manager at Novotel Lombok, responded to this review, 14 June 2010
Dear guest,

I m pleased that you have enjoyed the rooms and the location of our property.

Regarding the food and service in the restaurant, I am sure that you can understand that with such a location, we are always facing difficulties in getting highly skilled staff but I guess they compensate for this with a rare friendliness and willingness to please our guests.
Concerning food, you will always be able to find cheaper around the hotel but is there really any comparison? We usually received most favorable comments regarding our two restaurants .
For your information, we have to purchase most of our ingredients from Bali and as an international hotel, we have very strict hygiene standards to adhere to, which is definitely not the case with the local “warungs”in the village!

I am sorry if you received wrong information from our staff regarding breakfast on the hill, I will take necessary action to improve the communication skills in this area. For your next stay, I invite you to check out our daily activities board displayed at the front office area which gives you all updated information on our activity program.

I wish that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in a near future.

Best personal regards.

Dominique Duvivier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

I stayed Novotel for 8 days.

Novotel Lombok is located in Kuta beach.
Kuta beach is the best beach in Lombok.

If you want to see the white sand, looking for quiet areato relax, This is the one for you.

Staff members are amazing. They are friendly, funny & helpful.

Novotel Lombok running different activities everyday.
You can hire the snorkelling equipment and snorkel , canoe in Kuta beach.

I highly recommend the breakfast on the hills & visit Kuta market. Also these activities are free of charge.

I also recommend the horse back riding however you have to pay for this but it's worth it.

Food in here is good & I had sasak massage in here. Sasak massage is like thai massage but they use the oil as well.

I was staying in room#219. I had a problem with the toilet. when I flush the toilet, I could hear the weird sound so I made a complain to front desk & they send the plumber straight away to resolve the issue.

Overall I'm highly recommend the Novotel Lombok & I would like to come back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jyjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique_Duvivier, General Manager at Novotel Lombok, responded to this review, 24 June 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind and detailed review on this website.

I am very glad that you have enjoyed our property as well as all our activities and service.

I wish that your input will arouse more interest for our lovely resort and I may just correct that our beach is really nice but we have just around the hotel 3 beaches even better such as Mawun, Tunjung Ann or Silong Blanak.

I wish that we will have the pleasure to offer you another great stay with us very soon.

Best personal regards

Dominique Duvivier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2010

We spent 5 days in Sanur Bali and then moved on to the Novotel Lombok. Initially we had reserved for 3 days but extended this to 9. The hotel is situated on a beautiful unspolit beach along the coast from Kuta. The accommodation was of a high standard and deserving of 4 stars. The staff were consistently friendly and efficient without being overbearing. The breakfast selection was extensive catering for all tastes and plenty of it! Evening meals were of a high standard however after a week the 'buffet' routine became a little tedious. The hotel Spa was excellent with well trained and effective staff. I would recommend getting to Lombok before the new airport is built. When access is made easier no doubt Lombok will become more like Bali. I would avoid travelling by the ferry from Padanbai to Lembar. The small ferry was a rust bucket, the trip took 41/2 hours and and the only time in three weeks that we felt hostility was from the hustlers around the ferry terminals and on the ferry. Flying from Mataram to Denpasar is a much better option.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristianKielland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique_Duvivier, General Manager at Novotel Lombok, responded to this review, 31 May 2010
Dear guest,

I would like to say thank you for your kind and valuable comment on this website after the stay that you apparently enjoyed with us.

Regarding the dinner, beside the "Kafe Chilli" restaurant where we offer a buffet every night, we have as well the restaurant "4 ikan" introducing a wide variety of Indonesian , sea food and fine dining dishes in a relaxing atmosphere. it is a pity that you have not tried it, I am convinced that you would have enjoyed this experience.
Regarding the new airport, at latest news, it will not open before next year so, still plenty of time to enjoy the place as it is!
I agree with you when visiting us from Bali, to come by plane, it takes only 20 minutes flight.

I wish that we will welcome you back soon.

Best personal regards

Dominique Duvivier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

This place was recommended to us by a colleague, for a relaxing "and nothing else fancy or cultural" trip. I had already read some reviews saying the upgrade to a villa was definitely worth the cost, and I totally agree! It had the most wonderful little garden and we had an extra terrace a few steps down that was directly at the beautifully designed, natural pool in the landscaped garden. We shared the pool with about 5 villa's, but I've never seen any of the other guests in the pool while I took a swim. The villa itself was actually a big room with king bed and extra day bed, a corner with fridge and desk and a huge bathroom with a very special shower. The bathroom also served as dressing.
Service was outstanding, every morning we would find tea and fresh fruit on our little terrace, and in the afternoon the fruit was replaced by biscuits. Staff were very discrete.
The beach is lovely, white sand and enough sunbeds (we were however in a quiet period), umbrellas available.
There is a very nice bar for your sunset or predinner drinks, great atmosphere, good cocktails and a relaxed beach feeling.
Food in the main restaurant is buffet style, with a bbq on the beach twice a week. There is also the a la carte restaurant, good quality, this is of course a French hotel...
We had one lunch and one dinner outside the hotel, the village is quite nice and you'll find several bars and restaurants with very nice local food. Besides that, not a lot to do in the area.. We did do 4 dives with the in-house diving centre, not for beginners though!
We also used the spa facilities for a massage, as always, good service, but nothing extraordinary and rather overpriced.
Best feature here, as other reviewers have already said, is the staff. Very welcoming, interested and always in for a chat, they will go out of their way to make you happy.
For a 4-star hotel, I think it is very good value for money!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique_Duvivier, General Manager at Novotel Lombok, responded to this review, 31 May 2010
Dear guest,

I would like to say thank you for your nice comment. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your room and the facilities of the resort but above all, I am glad to hear that you have appreciated our service and the genuine kindness of our staff.

Nevertheless, I will put some effort into the Spa to ensure better service in this outlet.

I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again in a near future.

Best personal regards

Dominique Duvivier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UAE
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2010

We went to Novotel Lombok for 3 nights and had a fantastic time. A bit away from the airport, but when we got there, it was worth it! We never left the resort during our stay there - they have activities lined up daily although didn't try all. Pools were great, beach was just in front of the restaurants/pools.

Staff were courteous, friendly and accommodating.

Rooms - spacious and comfortable and we loved the decor which gives it the Asian ambience. We had the terrace balcony and definitely recommend it. We had problems with our room, but the reception team were able to move us to another room very swiftly.

We definitely recommend it as we had our baby girl with us, however a bit hard when we took the pram with us to the restaurants for dinner as it was all stairs (our daughter was usually asleep by the time we went for dinner), so had to carry the pram up the stairs.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique_Duvivier, General Manager at Novotel Lombok, responded to this review, 26 May 2010
Dear guest,
I would like to say thank you for this nice review.
It is always pleasant for us to receive good feedback from the guest after their stay with us, it encourages and motivates the team to always try to deliver the best service possible.
I wish that we will have you back with us soon and by this time hopefully, we will have eased a bit the access to our outlets to pram.

Best personal regards

Dominique Duvivier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2010

We have stayed here about 8 times and each time it is really impressive. It has actually improved since we last stayed 2 years ago.
The staff members are amazing--friendly,funny and helpful. The food was great and the value outstanding.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruceSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique_Duvivier, General Manager at Novotel Lombok, responded to this review, 7 May 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and needless to ask if you enjoy our property after visiting us eight times.

I am pleased that you have noticed improvement, it motivates us to continue in this way to offer always a better service to our valuable guests.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon for your ninth stay.

Best personal regards.

Dominique Duvivier
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
34.3 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
34.1 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Villa Bau Nyale
Villa Bau Nyale
#1 of 11 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.3 mi away
The Lombok Lodge
The Lombok Lodge
#1 of 3 in Tanjung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
39.2 mi away
The Oberoi, Lombok
The Oberoi, Lombok
#2 of 3 in Tanjung
5.0 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
33.1 mi away
Sheraton Senggigi Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lombok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lombok

Property: Novotel Lombok
Address: Mandalika Resort, Pantai Putri Nyale | Kuta Beach, Pujut Lombok Tengah, Kuta, Lombok 83111, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lombok 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Lombok is a 4 star resort located on the southern shore of Lombok, just 60 minutes from Mataram international airport. Featuring 102 beautiful rooms, suites, traditional Sasak and private pool villas set amongst tropical lush gardens, Novotel Lombok is the essence of relaxation and tranquility. While the children are entertained in our kids club, be pampered with a beachfront or in-spa treatment. Enjoy our four beachfront restaurants and bars, our four swimming pools and fitness centre. Enjoy entertainment and purchase local handicrafts at Novotel Lombok, along with a daily program of activities for both children and adults. Our water sports range from kayaking to scuba diving, or simple enjoy a walk along our private beach. Accommodation Options: Superior Room - King: Paradise awaits. Our Brand New Superior room is fresh and bright, combining modern and authentic decor for a breathtaking Indonesian experience. Our rooms feature LAN internet, 32" LCD TV, in-room safe, mini bar. 1 King and 1 Day bed. No Rollaway. Superior Room – Twin: Escape into tranquility. Our Brand New Superior twin room combines modern and authentic decor for a breathtaking Indonesian experience. Our rooms feature LAN internet, 32" LCD TV, in-room safe, mini bar. 2 Single and 1 Day bed. No Rollaway. Deluxe Room: Embrace freedom and calm. Our Brand New Deluxe King room is spacious and mixes modern decor, ergonomic comfort and total relaxation. Rooms are fully appointed including outdoor terrace to ensure memorable holiday. 1 King and 1 Day bed. No Rollaway. Sasak Villa 1 Bedroom: A unique experience combining relaxation and focus. Our traditional Sasak Villa treats you like a VIP, offering pool, garden or beach views. This villa showcase traditional decor and design, complimented with modern functionality. 2 adults, 1 child. Private Pool Villa 1 Bedroom: Designed with space & privacy where you can truly be yourself. Our private traditional Sasak villa offers an inviting and tranquil ambiance; relax on the terrace overlooking your private swimming pool and landscaped gardens. Up to 2 adults, 1 child. Private Pool Family Villa 2 Bedrooms: Relax in style and comfort. Our private traditional family Sasak villa adds space and privacy for the entire family with private en-suites for both bedrooms. Take a swim in your private swimming pool or simply read a book in the landscaped gardens. Up to 4 adults or 2 Adults, 2 child. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Lombok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lombok Hotel Lombok
Lombok Novotel
Novotel Lombok Kuta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing