We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will be a little gem once its finished”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kies Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kies Villas
Ranked #2 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Kuta
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Will be a little gem once its finished”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked an exotic bungalow for our recent 3 night stay. The accommodation is lovely from the furnishings to the décor but and there are many positives but there are also a few down sides. The positives are the rooms themselves. The bed was super comfy and the fly net great to keep out any mosquitos. The mini fridge stocked with Bintang, soft drinks and snacks was great; as was the complimentary breakfast muesli, muffins and croissants each morning. The downs are that the location is a little out of the way and down a dirt track which isn’t lit at night. A torch is a must if you’re walking anywhere, especially to spot the local dogs which wander freely. As we were in the end bungalow we were woken early with the sound of staff talking amongst themselves in the yard next to us, which is where they hang laundry etc. Saying that, the local mosque and cockerel had us awake around 5am each day anyway. Ear plugs also a must! The bathroom was nice, although dimly lit and the rainwater shower would have been lovely had it been working properly. As the bedroom is upstairs and bathroom downstairs going to the bathroom in the night proves a little tricky unless you turn on a light as the stairs are painted black and there isn’t really much of a handrail from the top and they are quite steep and a little uneven. Overall this place will be great when the building work is finished but until it is I didn’t feel it was worth the price we paid. It’s a shame there won’t be a direct route from Perth to Lombok after mid October otherwise we would have booked another visit once it’s finished.

Room Tip: Exotic bungalows are great. There are 3; the first or second one may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SLMAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    39
    12
    5
    2
See reviews for
30
104
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The outstanding feature of Kies Villas is Carly, the owner and concierge! She couldn't be more helpful, in a lovely chilled out way. We stayed in the presidential suite with three kids aged 10-15. Great space for us. Carly organised us bikes and the non-surfing girls headed out to the beaches and the surfing boys to Gerapak which they loved. Carly arranged a day trip to Pink Beach which was the highlight of the trip for me. The place was spotless and cleaners came in regularly and Carly had arranged a bakery breakfast which was great. Fantastic place to relax and recharge.

Room Tip: Only have experience of the presidential suite and it was faultless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mudjimb
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently with adult children. Carly the owner went out of her way to make us feel welcome and provided great information on where to surf, eat etc. We stayed in the large villa which was amazing. Clean, spacious and with beautiful Balinese design. Scooters were available to get around.
Beautiful private pool to relax in when not out and about.
Would highly recommend!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

originally planned to stay in Kuta for a few days but ended up extending our stay by a week, mainly because of how wonderful Kies Villas was. Great accommodation with absolutely everything one may require and more. fabulous pool, beautifully designed bathrooms and some really lovely wood and wicker furnishings (in Lombok and Balinese style). best of all, however, was the very helpful staff, especially the manager, who not only gave us some very useful information pertaining to eateries, best beach and surf spots but also helped organize some quite entertaining adventures - including a night out at one of the local party locations. in all a perfect mix of simple luxury and heart-warming hospitality. hope to come again soon!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lemming R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The booking and pre visit communications was very good and the service continued during our stay. We stayed 8 nights in the big villa which has two massive bedrooms both with onsuites. 3 kids easily slept in one rooms. Large lounging area was great for relaxing and the pool whilst nice is a little tricky with access ( no steps into pool and a 'barrier' across it. Still nice though.

Fully kitted out partially stocked kitchen was an added bonus to make coffee noodles keep beers cold etc. Free muffins for breakfast were supplied.

Carly assisted with a party we had for around 30+ guests arranging catering, drinks and all for around $10 / head.

Have not stayed in many other places in Kuta however immagine this would have to be at the top of the 'places to stay'.

Room Tip: Two small families (3-4) could easily share the Presedential villa - if you asked Kies to put extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBumEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asi_Steve, Owner at Kies Villas, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Legends! Thanks for your review! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights last week and found the place overall to be pretty good, but there are much needed improvements. We didn't stay in the awesome looking huts, we were opposite them.

These rooms do not include a fridge, as stated on the room book.

If you're planning to stay soon, there is some construction going on, so there is noise during the day. The construction is right by the pool area and by the room we stayed in.

There is a dog that is owned by the owners. This dog bit me on my hand as we were walking into the gates of the hotel one night. It was barking at us and I tried to calm it down. I'm reluctant to mention this in the review, but I was really unhappy about it and I told the hotel staff who confirmed to me that the dog was friendly.. The dog was fine for the rest of our stay there.

The hotel owners were very courteous and helpful.

We did enjoy our stay and I would stay here again if the construction was finished, and the dog was locked up at night.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Oriana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asi_Steve, Owner at Kies Villas, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Hi Oriana,

Thanks for your review, it's always helping the KiES team improve. I've checked the booking sites and noticed it did include a fridge for the deluxe and twin rooms. We did have a large fridge there initially to share between the 2 rooms but replaced it with a water dispenser with a mini fridge. I've submitted a request to have that changed.

I am really sorry to hear our dog Kenya nipped you. He really is friendly and is still a puppy so he gets very excited. Over the last 2 weeks he has decided to join the KiES team and become a self proclaimed security guard. I think we need to define his role for him! Kenya is also coming of age so we are getting him snipped in 2 days so that will no doubt make him even more placid.

For all our future guests, work is currently in progress for our open air bar, reading and yoga area by the pool. All the major noisy has been completed and we are directing our contractors for work to be done off site. Working hours are between 10 & 4 while everybody is exploring Lombok! :)

Once again many thanks Oriana.

Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We really loved staying here. Great value for money rooms and villas with extensive and generously offered local advice from the owners. Many thanks to Carly and the Kies team for all your hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camera18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuta
1.8 mi away
Novotel Lombok
Novotel Lombok
#2 of 11 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Bau Nyale
Villa Bau Nyale
#1 of 11 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
32.4 mi away
Puri Mas Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.6 mi away
Qunci Villas Hotel
Qunci Villas Hotel
#2 of 7 in Mangsit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,405 reviews
2.0 mi away
Origin Lombok
Origin Lombok
#3 of 11 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Yuli's Homestay
Yuli's Homestay
#1 of 53 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kies Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kies Villas

Property: Kies Villas
Address: Jln. Sawe-Batu Riti, Kuta, Lombok 83573, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Kuta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Kuta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kies Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cosy hotel features the finest amenities in each of our double story bungalows, L-Shape and private villas. All rooms provide rainforest showers, air con, safes, fridges, flatscreen TVs, free high speed WIFI, water dispensers (hot/cold) and excellent bedding and linen. We offer king/queen/twin rooms overlooking a private or overflowing pool with an underwater music / lighting system and a funky chill out lounge & restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Kies Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kies Villas Kuta, Lombok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing