We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for day use”

Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Birch Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bonney Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great for day use”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Camped at a camping resort about 15 minutes from Birch Bay State park. Short drive away.

Easy access to beach. Kids enjoyed playing in the water. Fairly shallow and not extremely cold.

Make sure you have your Discover Pass clearly visible when parked. People were ticketed that didn't pay a day use fee or have a pass.

Stop in Birch Bay for ice cream after leaving the park. A few shops have great offerings...bakery items were good too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    30
    5
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Silverdale, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience.”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Campsites are not separated by much, so because it was camping high season for families with children it was a little louder than we are used to. The beach is wonderful and the town of Birch Bay is great. The price is a wonderful comparison to all the vacation rentals in the area. Bathrooms are great. Close to the Border so we took a trip up to Peace Arch Statepark too!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“We love to visit”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We live about 5 minutes west of the State Park and frequently bring food and wood for dinner and a campfire. Lots of times we are the only people on the beach campfire area. We love it!
We also like to go early in the morning for a walk through both campground loops to see the variety of campsite setups, RVs, trailers, tents, etc.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank orcabison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concrete, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“One of the best in Washington!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Camped here four nights during the high season. Had to get reservations a few months prior, because this park fills up fast for the summer months. Easy to see why! Close and easy proximity to a wonderful beach and fabulous sunsets. We camped in our 26' RV at a spot with electricity and water for $30/night. Quite reasonable. The campsites are nicely level, didn't have to use blocks to level out on for our site. The campsites are fairly open to view the other sites around you. There are, however, lots of mature and old-growth conifers, big leaf maple, and black birch in between you and your camp neighbors - that helped keep the feeling of separateness between us and 'them' (if privacy is important to you). During our stay, the campground was full every night, and while it had its share of bike-riding kiddos happily and loudly passing by all day until supper time, it was still pleasant to sit outside the RV and lounge in the coolness of the shade or warmness of the sun. The camp is kept spotless by the volunteer camp hosts, and the bathrooms are easily accessible, large, modern, well-maintained and...CLEAN (usually a big concern for most campers). With our own shower, toilet, etc. in our RV, we didn't need to use the facilities, but did take a look inside. If you like to walk or bike while camping, this park is a fantastic place to do it. Only slight and short grades and mostly flat bike/walking paths. So much tree cover and shade makes it even more pleasant. We rode our bikes down to the beach as well as into the town of Birch Bay...only 2 miles one way into town makes it an easy ride. Highly recommend this state park, and we will definitely be back. Not just to camp, but also to drive the RV there for day use next to the beach and a picnic/BBQ ($10 for day use).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 636Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great campground, clean bathrooms and close to everything”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed here for the weekend in our RV. It's a campground and we stayed in a regular site with no hookups but they do have sites with power and water too. The place is beautiful and well managed. The bathrooms are clean and they have showers for 50 cents per 3 minutes. The beach is very short walk from the campground and at low tide beach combing is a must-do! The sunsets are glorious! You can ride bikes or walk to the area in town where there are a few places to eat and other things to do including a water-slide park. There is a small store just outside the campground entrance with food, drinks and camping supplies. All in all this was a great campground.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Koobeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birch Bay State Park also viewed

 

Been to Birch Bay State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing