We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birch Bay Washington State Park & Surrounding Area - Good for a Nice Bicycle Ride near the Beach & Old Growth Trees”

Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Birch Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bremerton, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Birch Bay Washington State Park & Surrounding Area - Good for a Nice Bicycle Ride near the Beach & Old Growth Trees”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Birch Bay State Park is a 194-acre camping park with 8,255 feet of saltwater shoreline on Birch Bay and 14,923 feet of freshwater shoreline on Terrell Creek. The park is rich in archaeological significance and offers panoramic views of the Cascade Mountains and Canadian Gulf Islands. The Terrell Creek Marsh is one of the few remaining saltwater/freshwater estuaries in north Puget Sound. The park features nearly two miles of beach and great views of the Canadian Gulf Islands and the Cascade Mountains. State Parks Discovery Pass, 2014 rates: $10/day to park/picnic or $30/year. Beautiful Area, appears to be well maintained. I bicycled from KM RV Beachwood Resort, 5001 Bay Rd through Birch Bay State Park and then along the waterfront shoreline road headed north (no shoulder or bike path unfortunately, but numerous very courteous vehicle drivers curved around me on the edge of the road) & then looped back to KM RV Beachwood Resort, over a couple hours on a nice sunny day. Birch Bay Chamber of Commerce Visitors center, with a view of the waterfront was very helpful & friendly, with literature of local PNW attractions.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank DonaldLarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    31
    5
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Almost deserted, since it was winter”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The park was almost deserted, since it was cold, but a very nice sunny day. We had a blast, awesome view. Worth the visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just Ok”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Birch Bay is on the bay..pretty but lots of private beach's.No place to really walk for pedestrians. I would not spend money in the summer to stay. You are better off in Blaine. Lots or RVs parks and not a decent restaurant to be found ( I know have been here for 2 weeks). Kind of a low bar place with a nice ocean view.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank outdoor75xs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forks, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good place to unwind”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I came up here after spending all day in a meeting. I have an annual Discover pass so there was no additional charge. I spent some time walking the beach and enjoying the last of a sunny day. The beach was narrow at high tide but there was still enough to walk on. The crowds had gone home and the few people left were all quiet. Overall a quiet relaxing place to come and unwind after a long day. I drove through the campground and saw some sites I liked. I'll be back sometime when I have a chance to camp.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
459 reviews
250 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Nice Bay with Loads of Blue Heron and Knarled Trees”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

When we arrived at Birch Bay, one of the parks we visited with our annual Washington State Park Pass (Discover Pass), we saw many people walking out in the sand during low tide. Turns out they were all digging for clams and crabs. which seemed like a great family activity for all ages, and great way to make clam chowder. It was a chilly and foggy late morning when we were there, however the boats, the multitudes of blue heron along the shore and huge driftwood logs made Birch Bay super photo worthy. The park did not seem that large but I noted that they had campgrounds with ocean views. Lots of nice woods with short hikes throughout the park.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Oceandweller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Birch Bay State Park also viewed

 
White Rock, British Columbia
 

Been to Birch Bay State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing