We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Driftwood Lodge(Birch Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (147)
Filter reviews
147 results
Traveller rating
75
51
17
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
51
17
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstime sharethree bedroomview of the bayliving roomfull kitchencanadian borderdecorative pillowstwo twin bedsice makerwe stayed in a two bedroomwasher and dryersized kitchenclub roomquiet hourswalking trailshot tubparking pass
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 147 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We stayed at Sandcastle with some friends during the 1st week in Oct. This time of year was at the very end of their season. The place was booked but it didn’t have that feel…we hardly saw anyone there. Our suite was a 2/2, w/d, fireplace, full kitchen and shared living/dining room area with a full view of the bay. Sandcastle was clean and decently renovated. They offered several amenities (pool, Jacuzzi, workout room, spa, and an onsite restaurant – though we never tried out the onsite restaurant). The staff was very accommodating and helpful, catering to our every request and giving us great suggestions for day trips. We really loved the location –Vancouver, Snoqualmie, Mt. Rainer, Lynden…all within about 30-60minutes of driving.

Room Tip: Request the Bay view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KIM V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed at Birch Bay for one week with the other couple who posted. We were pleased with the apartment although it was the funniest layout ever. The living room area is a open combined living room, dining area, and kitchen all in one. The bedrooms are separated which is nice. We enjoyed our week and really did not use many of the facillities offered except for the computer and printer in the lobby and the hot tub. Having the computer is a really nice touch. It makes me crabby when a timeshare wants to charge me to print out my boarding passes prior to leaving. Grrr.
We did walk down to the state park a couple of times. The beach is not a east coast beach worthy of walking upon. One has to walk on the street or on the path next to the street. I must say the drivers do obey the speed limit and are very respectful of walkers. We never once felt unsafe. We did enjoy checking out many of the beach front homes from different eras and especially their humorous driftwood. There were a lot of people walking with and without dogs which was really nice. There is a 7-11 type store right along the same street which carried a little bit of everything. It was a convenient place to go for things forgotten. Funny enough, people park their dogs out front, while they go in and pick up an item or two.
We had a fishing trip planned but it fell through last minute because of small craft warnings. The good news we found the Barleans fishery in Ferndale. Wonderful people. It is a working fish processing plant which also sells retail fish. The day before we left Birch Bay, we went to Barleans and bought fish to take home. Barleans filetted the fish for us, vacuum packed each filet in the size we wanted, and packed it all in an airline approved box. We put the box through as checked luggage on Alaska Air. TSA will not allow the frozen gel packs through security. The box arrived safely without a hitch.
All in all Birch Bay was a nice place to stay. We could see Mount Baker in the distance off our balcony and it was a 45 minute trip to VAncouver. By the way, if one wants one's passport stamped at the border, they will do it. But, one has to park and go inside. The border agent said, "You come from Birch Bay and you want your passports stamped?". He looked incredulous. We had to explain we ere staying in Birch Bay but we come from the St Louis area. Oh!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lynclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We had a 2 bedroom here in October and knew that it would be a quiet time of year but we enjoyed it thoroughly - its a great home base for trips to Vancouver, Bellingham, Mt Baker, local wineries and various farmers markets and local food sources.

The property needs a little updating like replacing the hall carpet and sofas as they are starting to show some wear. But the room was well appointed with a lovely fully appointed kitchen, fireplace, balcony, washer/dryer, and plenty of pillows and comforters. Checkin and out was fast and easy.

Room Tip: As for room location, it depends on what you want. For more quiet, pick the back which looks east over the golf course. For a view, but with noise from the road and I imagine the pool in the summer, choose the front. That's where our room was and while that meant seeing everyone on their balconies and in the pool, we like that kind of thing.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlaskaChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Sandcastle with another couple from October 6-13 and it was a very positive experience, We stayed in a 3 bedroom on the thrird floor and even though it was in the back corner - we still had a lovely view of the bay. Our room was one of the largest we have ever had and had every ammenity we could ask for. The weather was lovely while we were there but I can imagine it might get uncomfortable w/o AC if it was hot and humid. The fireplace was perfect to take off any chill and having the cable, internet and washer dryer were great conveniences. The resort location could not have been better for simple day trips - Vancouver, Seattle and the surrounding small towns. The pool and hot tub were aslo a great addition as was the top floor view and BBQ grills. We realize that this time of year was a trade off - crowds were non-existent BUT many places were already closed for the season - BUT what a lovely time of year to vist and enjoy this resort and the surroundings, The staff was very helpful in providing us with information and having a computer and printer available in the lobby was great for those that did not travel with a laptop or Ipad

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My wife and stayed here in a one bedroom condo on the third floor for two nights. The unit we stayed was clean and spacious. The bedroom contained a king bed, closet with safe, and a flat screen with DVD (another flat screen in the living room). The main living area was like a great room with a living room, dining area, and kitchen. The kitchen was oriented along one wall and had granite countertops and stainless appliances. There were enough utensils and dishes for six and came equipped with the basic cooking gear. In addition, there was a coffee maker, toaster, blender, electric hand mixer and a washer/dryer combination in the closet.

The property had a pool and hot tub, but we did not have time to take advantage of them.

The property overlooks Birch Bay and is about a 45 minute drive to Vancouver. In the summer time, you have the water park, the bay, golf course, and the state park about a mile away. If you're looking for a place with a lot of things to do, this is not the place to come to. It is very laid back, even more so during the winter.

I only have a few negatives about the property. There was an HVAC unit below our bedroom window, but it wasn't too bad after I shut the window. We were wamly greeted at check in, but I did not here another greeting for the remainder of our stay.

Room Tip: I believe only the two and three bedroom units face the bay. The one bedrooms either look out over the golf course or parking lots.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fromak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews