We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation for family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sandcastle at Birch Bay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We traveled here for my Dad's 60th birthday. The rooms were nice and spacious. Only down fall was there was no housekeeping available besides trash removal. The staff was helpful finding the grocery store and leading us to great ideas for places to eat and things to do. The best part was the tide coming in and out of the bay. The 20-somethings might be a little bored by this slow pace, but it was perfect for a family wanting to spend time together and really enjoy each other. No spa when we were there, but we found plenty to do. The best activity, besides building sand castles, was a hike we took to some near by waterfalls (about 30 min away).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank poore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

61 - 67 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed at this motel for a week and it was very enjoyable. The check-in people were very helpful, especially Jeanne. It was a central location to branch out to other towns, cities and places to see. The rooms were large and nicely furnished. They cleaned the rooms every day. Restaurants were close by.
The only complaint was the free Wifi signal was very faint. I had to be in a certain place to get a siganl.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimKirkevold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay ! I wanted to let you know that we are looking into our options for increasing our Wifi signal as we know it can be spotty and hope for a resolution soon. Hope you come see us again soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We recently stayed at Raintree’s Sandcastle at Birch Bay for a week on an RCI exchange. We had a great condo on the third floor on the side facing the pool. This unit had a different layout and had a more spacious living area but the master bedroom was smaller.

Once again, as in another resort we stayed at the dishwasher in our unit did not work. This time we had to report it and spend the time for someone to come into our unit to replace it. I can’t figure out whether other people that have stayed in that unit have never reported that it did not work. When we did report it someone came soon after to check it out.

I always cook when we have a condo – when you have an amazing view, it is a bonus. Enjoyed our morning coffee and evening glass of wine or martini looking at the ocean.

Costco, Cost Cutter and Hagen’s are great places to do your grocery shopping. It is so great to get wine without having to remortgage when in the US – Riteaide has great prices for wine. Still have not made it to Trader Joe’s.

We always bring our own food staples from home when we travel by car. We also bring wine, martini glasses, martini shaker etc. – I believe a law has been passed that you should not drink wine from a tiny glass!!

Remember not to bring veggies or fruit in if you are entering from Canada – we made the mistake of bringing in tomatoes that were from the States and customs made us go in to verify this – a real waste of time.

It is so great to have a washer and dryer in the unit and have a safe to store your passport etc.

As usual, the staff was great and very helpful. We always enjoy our visits to this resort. We love the fact that the resort is so close to home – check out was at 10 am and we were back in our own home an hour later.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank winedancers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

We are so glad to hear you had another great stay! Sorry you had trouble with the dishwasher but I am glad we were able to replace it for you and get you up and running again. We look forward to you coming to visit again and hopefully making it to Trader Joes as it is a fun place to shop. Hope to see you here at the Sandcastle soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed through a timeshare exchange with the intention to use as a base for traveling to Seattle. It was the closest location available to us through our timeshare. We knew it would be a bit of a trip to get to Seattle (about 2 hours drive), but also wanted to visit Vancouver, BC. Vancouver is a short drive since Blaine is so close to the border. The staff was excellent and accommodating. We had a couple of small maintenance issues which were resolved immediately and efficiently. The unit was a one bedroom which was very roomy and we were pleased with the cleanliness. Furniture could use some updating but the kitchen was well appointed with sufficient kitchen ware and utensils. Our visit was the first week in February so it was very quiet and not very busy. Due to weather we only used the exercise room but it was very nice and nicely equipped. We did not explore any of the surrounding area as our destination was Seattle but did shop in Bellingham and had a good meal at the Boundary Bay Brewery which I believe was also in Bellingham.We may want to visit Vancouver again and would definitely consider staying again at the Sandcastle.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lu2travel05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

we had a 3 bedroom, 3 bath condo facing the water - loved the view of sunsets from the living room, dining room, and kitchen windows. it was a winter visit, so we didn't linger on the balcony.

the only negative was all the ugly power lines right across the view. too bad the area hasn't gone to the trouble to bury the lines along the road - it sure would clean up the appearance of the whole resort town.

very friendly and helpful staff. heated pool and spa along with an exercise room. enjoyed the gas fireplace in our unit very much. we did hear some noise both from the next unit and the upstairs unit as well, but not enough to complain about.

there's also a restaurant right downstairs, so on our snowed in days, it was nice not to have to go out.

Room Tip: the ugly power lines maybe wouldn't be so annoying in a higher floor unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnelrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

This place is absolutely gorgeous. It's like home living. I was privileged to stay in a 2 bedroom suite that was larger than my 3 bedroom apartment. The staff was awesome and helpful. I would recommend this resort to everyone. I went off season so the town was pretty dead, but it was nice and quiet.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCLB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We spent two weeks at the Sandcastle in September. We were very pleased that we chose to stay there. The room, although only a one bedroomed apartment was comfortably large. We were even able to store our bicycles without them being in the way. Although the furniture looked a bit dated, it was obviously of a good quality. The whole apartment was well equipped and really was a "home from home." Initially we were disappointed that we didn't have a sea view, but we appreciated looking out over the abandoned golf course and we had some lovely misty mornings to look at whilst enjoying our coffee on the balcony.

We had a problem with the dishwasher, we reported it to the front desk and the issue was sorted out immediately. Overall, the reception staff were really helpful, even to the point of arranging a couple of tools to sort of problem out I had with my bicycle.

We really enjoyed taking a drink button the roof and watching the sunset over Birch Bay! Although a quiet area, the closeness of the Interstate makes visiting the San Juan islands, Mount Baker and the Northern Cascades National Park practical for a day out. For a rainy day, Seattle can be reached in a couple of hours.

I hope we have the opportunity to return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 344SimonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacy L, General Manager at Sandcastle at Birch Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay! No matter what the season Birch-Bay is a great place to relax and take in the many sights . Hopefully while you were here you were able to take in some of the hiking and bike trails as it sounds you had come prepared. We hope you are able to return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birch Bay
9.2 mi away
Silver Reef Hotel Casino Spa
0.1 mi away
Worldmark Birch Bay
Worldmark Birch Bay
#2 of 3 in Blaine
90 reviews
6.6 mi away
Ocean Promenade Hotel
Ocean Promenade Hotel
#1 of 2 in White Rock
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
473 reviews
4.6 mi away
Semiahmoo Resort
Semiahmoo Resort
#1 of 3 in Blaine
598 reviews
0.8 mi away
Birch Bay Get Away
Birch Bay Get Away
#2 of 5 in Blaine
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandcastle at Birch Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandcastle at Birch Bay

Address: 7854 Birch Bay Dr, Birch Bay, WA 98230-9656
Region: United States > Washington > Birch Bay
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Birch Bay
Price Range: £112 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sandcastle at Birch Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandcastle at Birch Bay is an upscale resort located in the serene community of Birch Bay on the northwestern coast of Washington State. The resort is the perfect place to stay for nature lovers or those looking for a quiet retreat. Sandcastle at Birch Bay’s guests have access to an on-site fitness center to keep up with their workout routine, a heated swimming pool, and a hot tub, the perfect spot to relax after a full day of adventure. Sandcastle at Birch Bay’s one-, two-, and three-bedroom condominiums feature all the amenities guests need to feel right at home. Each unit has a fireplace, flat-screen TV, washer and dryer, fully equipped kitchen, and a balcony that offers a view of either Birch Bay or the snow-capped Mt. Baker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sandcastle at Birch Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Hotel Blaine
Sandcastle Birch Bay
Sandcastle At Birch Bay Blaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing