We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accomodations for affordable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropical Dreams Rentals
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice accomodations for affordable price”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We just got back from Bahamas. Of all the different places we stayed at (including Atlantis), we liked this one the best.

Pros:
good size rooms, nice and clean.
All equipment and dishes/spoons/forks/cups in the room were in good condition.
Beds were nice.
Location is great if you are going to drive all over the island. French Leave, Popponi and Ten Bay beaches within 5-15 minutes from the hotel. Island Farms and Leon Levy preserve also within 10 minutes.
Sammy and Rose are very nice. Sammy helped us with our luggage and gave us beach towels for our stay.
Price

A few things you may want to be aware of when booking a room here.
No indoor common area.
Our room didn't have any balcony and I don't think any of those rooms have a balcony where you can sit and eat or chat or contemplate life :)
No restaurant or catered food on site.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
19
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Located 4 minutes walk to North Palmetto town facilities, this motel is the right choice for people looking to a convenient yet very good accommodation. We stayed in a very large apartment with 2 queen size bed, a kitchen and a spacious lounge. Apartment was very clean with access to a garden on the rear perfect to have breakfast there or to contemplate stars in the night on the hammocks provided.
If I will be again in the island I will consider again this cozy motel; it is in the middle of Eleuthera with easy access to the North and South of the island.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank GodieMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, KY
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I highly recommend Tropical Dreams Motel Resort for anyone looking for a comfortable and affordable place to stay on Eleuthera Island. There are about 6 rooms in the building, all with plenty of windows and balcony/porch space. You wont get lost among a resort full of people here. The hotel is located right in the middle of the island, so it is a great place to stay if you want to explore the island. Which I highly recommend, the island has some amazing spots where you can get away from it all. Governor's Harbor is just to the north, and Tarpum Bay to the south is also a very nice settlement where one can find restaurants and grocery stores. My room had a fully equipped kitchen, all appliances, beds and linins were in good condition and very clean. Rose and Sammy Sands are very friendly and will help their customers any way they can. I was very happy with my stay here.

Tropical Dreams is also a great location for fishermen and bird watchers as it is located near some of the best bone fishing flats, reefs and birding spots on the island.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duarte, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My daughter and I (80 years old) stayed at Tropical Dreams and don't have enough compliments to express our enjoyment at having a most pleasant home to come back to after our daily trips and having fun getting lost and otherwise. Our room with kitchette was so comfortable and pretty we felt we were in Shangri-la. Bathroon, air conditioner and all facilities were perfect. Love the floral sheets on the beds which were also comfy. Sammy and Rose were especially helpful, as are most Bahamians, in giving us directions which we needed. Our vacation just didn't last long enough (1 Week) and we could easily come visit the same place again.

Room Tip: Room 6, perfect for 2 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LYDIACJARBOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ichikawa-shi, Chiba, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

My wife and I spent our honeymoon at Tropical Dreams based on the reviews we read here and were NOT disappointed. We weren't looking for anything too fancy since we planned on spending all our time on the beautiful nearby (by car) beaches. The owners, Rose and Sammy, were incredibly personable and helpful. Sammy recommended some excellent restaurants and sights to see. He told us about the local grocery store and after my wife and I drove around without being able to find it, we asked him for directions. Instead of drawing us a map, Sammy hopped in his car and lead us there.

We ended up staying in the suite. It was clean with a nice kitchen complete with all the pots, pans, and cutlery we needed, which was perfect for cooking breakfast before a day at the beach.

We had such a nice trip that we're planning to go back to Eleuthera again. When we do, we will definitely be staying at Tropical Dreams.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This is a wonderful example of 'you get what you pay for'. Very clean and simple, no pool. I think this is the most inexpensive place to stay on Eleuthera. If you're on Eleuthera you need to rent a car and see the island, and Tropical Dreams is centrally located and there are a number of good restaurants within a short drive or walk.

Rose the owner was very helpful. She checked in regularly, but not in a nosy way. She was also helpful with directions and advice.

A/C unit was right next to the bed, so it was a bit loud. The bed was a bit hard, but aren't all beds in Mexico/Caribbean hard? I still slept well and I'm fussy.

If you want an upscale resort, don't even come to Eleuthera. Stick to Nassau or some other place in the Caribbean.

If you're on Eleuthera, you need to spend one day to drive north to Harbour Island; rent a golf cart, and spend another day and drive south to Lighthouse Beach--beware the last three or four miles are ROUGH road, but this beach is out of this world. Mate and Jenny's for pizza.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wx8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed here for a couple days before we got into our house we rented. We got one of the 1 bedroom efficency, and it was perfect. It had a comfortable bed, a microwave, and a good sized fridge. Sammy was great, a very nice Eleutheran, as all of them are, but he was especially helpful and sociable. He showed us the other rooms they had when we were checking out, and they were amazing! The suite and two-bedroom portions of the hotel are huge! You could definitely stay in them for an extended amount of time. And it's a great price. It's two minutes from the ocean, and there is a bar, a couple restaurants, and convenience stores nearby.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Palmetto Point
5.9 mi away
Villa Allamanda, Eleuthera
Villa Allamanda, Eleuthera
#2 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
104 reviews
7.1 mi away
Sky Beach Club
Sky Beach Club
#3 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
327 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Bougainvillea
La Bougainvillea
#6 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Love At First Sight Hotel
0.9 mi away
Unique Village
Unique Village
#2 of 2 in North Palmetto Point
85 reviews
2.4 mi away
Pineapple Fields Resort
Pineapple Fields Resort
#1 of 6 in Governor's Harbour
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Dreams Rentals? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Dreams Rentals

Property: Tropical Dreams Rentals
Address: Queen's Hwy, North Palmetto Point, Eleuthera (Formerly Tropical Dreams Motel Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Eleuthera > North Palmetto Point
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in North Palmetto Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Dreams Rentals is located in the beautiful settlement of North Palmetto Point, Eleuthera, Bahamas in the center of the island Eleuthera 55 miles South and 55 miles North, near pink sand beaches. We have 1 - Efficiencies, 2 - Suites, 1 - Double Suite, 1 - 2 bedroom Apartment. Nightly / weekly rentals. Owners are Rose and Sammy Sands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tropical Dreams Rentals reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing