We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Location”
other travellers have booked this property
Two Dunes - right on the beach
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Two Dunes - right on the beach
'Our' pink sand beach in front of the house Large deck with two day beds for lounging
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Two Dunes - right on the beach
'Our' pink sand beach in front of the house
Large deck with two day beds for lounging
Two Dunes from down the beach - photo courtesy 'The Beach Book' by Bret Sigillo
Coral pool directly in front of the house
Terrace with private outdoor shower
View from the terrace
Dine out on the deck ...
or head straight into the water
Cruise ship spotting in front of the house
Tranquil back deck overlooking the lake
Sunset from the back deck
The tropical side garden
The house from the ocean
Open concept interior
Fully equipped kitchen
... with a great view
Living room with immersive ocean views
Lots of windows
King size bed
Wake to a view of the water
Walk out onto the terrace
Soothing ocean at sunrise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
North Palmetto Point, Eleuthera, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sumerle D
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The property was beautiful and like others have said there were no other houses or people nearby. For most of our week long trip we didn't see anyone, only once did someone walk by the house along the beach. The view from the house is beautiful and panoramic, I love all of the windows. The house was nice and clean, had most of the staples we needed to cook, more than enough pots and pans. There were even toiletries which I didn't expect. The outdoor shower was great, it does face the "road" but only once did someone come down the road and they turned around. Note regarding road: don't try to go farther than the house, the little bit of road that is there ends and it's hard to turn around. We also had a power outage while there during an electrical storm, the lightening was intense but awesome. The lights went out, but the flashlight and candles were great and helped until the lights came back on like 20 min later.
There were a few reasons I didn't give it 5 stars but I would still recommend staying here. We were told that if we needed to use the "house cell phone" there may be minutes on it but we would need to add some. We didn't think we would need to use it, until our rental car died. We tried to use the house phone and there were no minutes left on it at all and obviously we had no car to get anywhere to add to them. We emailed the property manager Natasha but never heard back...ever. When we finally got cell service to connect on our cell phones we were able to call the car rental place and got a mechanic, but it took like 30 min for our phones to finally connect. One thing I didn't read on any other posts was how rough the water is on the Atlantic side, I really didn't expect it to be that bad. We basically waited for low tied every day (so about 2 hours later in the day) when there was a large tide pool in front of the house that we could swim in. Other than that we went to tens bay which was beautiful and calm. Maybe others didn't think it was too bad, but it was knocking us over anytime we tried to relax in the water.
After about 4 wonderful days at the property we did see a few roaches, I would say more like water bugs as they were the really big ones, not the ones you find at a dirty house. Although I understand it's an island and it was a bit rainy so I can't blame the property, but it was really unsettling and hard to sleep in the dark for the last 2 nights. We also opted to use the outdoor shower instead of the one inside because that seemed to be where they were coming from.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Liked least: the roaches
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad to hear that overall you enjoyed the property!
Sorry to hear you had car trouble though - what a frustrating time to discover that the cell phone was out of minutes. It's something we can't control as we're not always on the island and generally guests top up the phone if they have depleted the minutes, but it's a very good point and I will flag in the welcome package in future that guests should check the phone when they first arrive so they're not caught out in case of emergency. Our caretaker is generally easier to reach by phone than email, but clearly that's not helpful info for you when the phone is out of minutes.
We've since made a repair to the bathroom ceiling to prevent any bugs from making their way in. Unfortunately we had to wait until the house was empty to get the workers in.
We appreciate your feedback.
all the best - Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Georgia
Reviewed 9 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Privacy and Seclusion and the views
Liked least: Week went by too fast
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
You are quite welcome! So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay (and thanks for feeding the lizards - we love those little guys). All the best, and hope to see you back.
Rachel and Will
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cschim
Frankfort, KY
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation, Beauty and Privacy”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have traveled only to all inclusive resorts in the past, so this was our first all a carte experience. It was all that we dreamed it to be. Privacy, natural beauty, and total relaxation. This was our first trip to Eleuthera, but hopefully will not be the last. The house is an open studio paradise for 2. Ceiling to floor window at every angle. My husband and I celebrated our 26th anniversary here the week of May 24-31, 2014. The beach in front of the house is a great place to snorkel, and swim in the natural made pool at low tide. There is also another pool like beach just to the left of the house at low tide. We loved watching the ocean change from sunrise to sunset.
The home is well equipped with great amenities which we greatly appreciated. We cooked breakfast in every day. We also used the gas grill on the deck for a few meals. Sweet Dreams take out has great grouper and burgers. Pammy's and Governors Harbor bakery were two of our favorite places for take out. The view from the house made it hard to leave to go explore other beaches. We did visit Ten bay Beach and French Leave Beach, but we were always anxious to get back to our paradise at Two Dunes.
Groceries at Burrows, but liquor was cheapest at Sands liquor in Governors Harbor.
Thanks also to Tanya Knowles for the car rental. Natasha also catered lobster and grouper to us one night for our anniversary. Yummy!!
Thanks Rachel for the use of your wonderful home, we hope to return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are so pleased you chose to spend your anniversary here at Two Dunes! It looks like you had beautiful weather - so glad you enjoyed. We hope to see you back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exactly as described - and more!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Two Dunes but definitely won't be our last. The house was easy to get to, with Rachel's excellent directions (although in our rented car the odometer and speedometer were in kilometres rather than miles, so we needed to make adjustments for that).

I'm a vegetarian so I packed a couple of veggie burgers, although they had them a Burroughs in Governor's Harbour. We got hummus and some fresh veggies at Island Farm, and at another roadside stand near Gregory Town. We ate out a few times - once at Tippy's where they made me a veggie pasta and once at the Front Porch in Hatchet Bay where I had a nice salad. We also got a meal at Lee's in James Cistern and at the Fish Fry - both times I just ate sides which were really good.

We drove to a number of other beaches and enjoy ourselves, especially at Islandia Beach which was really hard to get to but had amazing snorkelling. You need to be a strong swimmer as the reefs are a bit of a swim from the beach. We also did some snorkelling at Rainbow Bay which was much more accessible but was one of the few beaches where we saw other people.

After all our travels around the island, I realized how amazing the beach at Two Dunes is. There are waves for people who like them, and excellent snorkelling right outside the house. We occasionally saw other people walking along the beach but for the most part, we were entirely on our own. The seclusion and solitude made for a very relaxing vacation.

Thank you Rachel and Will for sharing your home with us.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nautical1
Pasadena, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We LOVED IT!!!!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 for a stay in April 2012
3
people found this review helpful

This is a WONDERFUL place! It's not the Ritz but Eleuthera is not Manhattan! We had a truley magical time there. The beach is very private and beautiful. The house is a little weather worn but very charming, I could live there and be very happy. I'm getting this review in just under the deadline for reviews, but I HAD to finally get on here to give it 20 stars out of 5....Wait a minute, I plan to go back soon so forget what I said..it's terrible, stay away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy, the beach!
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ejbmgd
Carleton Place, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mixed Feelings”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This is a very nice beach house and the beach and location are beautiful. It is also conveniently located for picking up groceries or going out for lunch/dinner. We were able to buy fresh lobster one day, fresh grouper another and cooking them on the provided grill was a real treat. Overall we enjoyed our stay but it was not quite perfect, so not quite 5 stars in our experience. First, the house could have been cleaner on our arrival. It was not dirty, but not as clean as it should have been. A little more effort is required in the housekeeping department, i.e. hairs in the tub, dead flies and dust on top of the fridge, etc. There was also a problem with sand flies the first few days, I realize this is weather dependent and out of the owner's control, but it did dampen our enjoyment somewhat. If you have a serious sensitivity to these bugs, as my wife does, beware. Finally, and this is really our biggest negative, the beach was not nearly as private as other reviews indicate. We only had three days out of ten when there was almost nobody around, the other days there was a fairly regular procession of beach walkers and for five days in a row a couple who set up their beach chairs 50 yards from the house and stayed there all morning! The supposed privacy and seclusion of the beach and house were a big reason we chose it and this was a disappointment. This is the main reason we are not prepared to rate our experience more highly, though we would still recommend it to others who may be less concerned with the privacy issue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views.
Liked least: Too many others on the beach.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Mar 2014
Hello there, and thank you for your review. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed it!

I was surprised to read your comment on cleanliness as certainly it is the first time we have received a single negative comment on that. In fact, previous guests have often referenced specifically how clean our house is, so I will pass on to our housekeeping immediately, and we appreciate the feedback.

Sorry to hear the beach wasn't as private as others have experienced. As you know, no beach in the Bahamas is private by law so we cannot guarantee absolute seclusion. Some seasons are busier than others and the house is on one of the most gorgeous beaches on the entire island, so that's why you will sometimes find others enjoying it as well. It's unusual for other tourists to set up for their beach day within sight of the house, but I guess it happens.

We hope you enjoyed the island and will be back!
Rachel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Reviewed 4 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing