We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location and Home!!!”
Our tiny beach. Down by the Seaside is the white roof to the left.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our tiny beach. Down by the Seaside is the white roof to the left.
Waiting for the rain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Our tiny beach. Down by the Seaside is the white roof to the left.
Waiting for the rain
Our sunsets are spectacular. Pull up a lawnchair, open a Kalik & throw some fresh fish on the grill
Hang out in the hammock
Kayaks available for your use. Put in the water right from the front yard
View from dining room
American style kitchen with everything you need to cook at home
Twin room
Full bed room
Queen room
Wake up to this view
One of the living areas
Dining/living area
Living area
Living area
Tidal pools that protect our shoreline
Easy water access in the front yard
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Tarpum Bay, Eleuthera, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anne K
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Location and Home!!!”
Reviewed 3 weeks ago for a stay in June 2018

It was my first, but hopefully not last, time in Eleuthra and this home was perfect! Being centrally located on the island it was close to everything we wanted to do. We discovered beautiful secluded beaches nearby and it was just a short drive to some of the best restaurants on the island. And since it is a fully-equipped home, staying in and cooking was a great option a couple of nights. Then after dinner we sat on the porch, sipping wine and watched the beautiful sunset. Thanks for making it one of the most memorable vacations I've ever had.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cliffesha...
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A Little Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My visit to “Down by the Seaside” in Tarpum Bay on Eleuthera:
After traveling with two flight changes, the joy is to get off at Rock Sound on Eleuthera and having only a 10 to 15 minute drive to our destination. Down by the Seaside is a delightful home with 6 clean and spacious bedrooms. You walk into a large room with an equipped kitchen, dining area, and roomy sitting room. But the real charm is the view from the front porch. You are a short distance to the ocean….yes, the ocean. The surrounding grounds are charming and interesting with plants, shells, and trees of the island. I forgot to mention a TV room on the other side of the dining room. I am not a TV person, but it is there for the kids. One of the best memories for me was Kayaking with my son along the shore. Down By the Seaside has two kayaks for your using.
The real charm is the sleepy Tarpum Bay and its inhabitants. Charming is the word of the town. Whether you talk to the locals are listen to the singing from the church, the town is scenic and distinctive. At 3 p.m. each afternoon, come see the local fishermen bring in their catch of the day.
From this location you are able to travel north or south on the island. There were so many high spots of the trip depending on what you are looking for. Tarpum Bay is more the laid back existence but a short drive away is some pretty exceptional scenes. Tippy’s restaurant and the pink sand beach, Vintage 1648 restaurant and the quaint Governor’s Harbour Village. Take time to visit the “Island Made Souvenir” shop. It is a sweet shop if you are looking for a few souvenirs from the island. A little more of a drive is Lighthouse Beach. One of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen, just a challenging drive…..I’ve done worse. In the other direction is Harbour Island. It is a charming island in the north that must be obtained by ferry. Rent a golf cart, see the beaches and eat at one of the many excellent restaurants.
In between the close destinations and the “somewhat of a drive”, experience the many destinations on this “Old Bahamian” island experience.
Oh and I forgot……………Brenda Carey’s Car Rental is both dependable and easy to use.
The Island of Eleuthera and Tarpum Bay is an experience I would not want to miss.
Cliffe in Missouri

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view of the ocean and the location.
Liked least: You need to be vigilant with bug spray.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2016
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pharding8...
1 review
“Great location!”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016


Me, my fiancé and our daughter visited Eleuthera for 2 weeks and it was probably one of the best trips we've ever been on. The house was of good sizing for quite a few more people then just three, but the space was all the same appreciated. There were so many beaches to visit, but if we didn't want to drive we had the beautiful Caribbean waters right in front of us. The house was fully stocked with everything we needed, and the sunsets were absolutely gorgeous and you have a perfect view right from the front porch. The dock is of walking distance from the house and you could get fish caught that day. Over all, the experience of being on Eleuthera was amazing but having a comfortable home of decent pricing made it that much better.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2016
Thank you!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing, spectacular views”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Relax snd enjoy the island life. The views are beautiful every night theres an amazing sunset. If your looking for non touristy this is it. You can go to several beaches or get in the water right at the house. You encounter usually only a few locals at the beaches who are all super friendly. There's many natural wonders to explore such as The Ocean Hole. The house is secluded but still close enough to amenities. House was very comfortable with all the comforts of home. It was amazing to lay in bed and listen to the ocean. Your close to a local fishermens dock. Fresh fish daily. It was a great experience cant wait to return!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Thanks for choosing Down by the Seaside!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in April 2014

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in April 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: The location and view
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jun 2015
We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Please let us know if there is anything we could do that would improve future visits.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing