We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ortley Beach
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

I have been going to this motel since I was a baby. The officiencies are big, with nice size kitchens. It can fit 8-10 people. The regular rooms are just as fine. The rooms are clean and the maid service is amazing. We cook some nights, go out others; we make breakfast every single morning in the room. I love that we have that option! Must bring your own show supplies!The motel is in a great location... right across the street from an arcade, snack bar, mini-golf course, and a block away from the beach. The motel has a nice, heated pool... wish it was a little bigger though.

Room Tip: Get a room with a kitchen... expensive but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank afelric1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    31
    7
    3
    5
See reviews for
87
14
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

Rooms were very nice and recently renovated. They have mostly suites with kitchens and living rooms and some standard rooms as well. Typically the suites and just a little more than the standard rooms so I would say go for the suite. Stayed in the "large" suite which had 2 beds, a large closet, dining room table, bathroom, washer and dryer and kitchen. The kitchen was also fully stocked with everything needed including a crock pot in our room. The lobby also has an ice machine and large bags you can fill up. It was nice not having to run to the store to get ice and with the large bags you weren't going to get ice every few hours like at most hotels with the small ice trays they give.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NJSundevil55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, Delaware, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

What a great place for a girl's get away! We stayed in the Deluxe Luxury Suite and the three of us had plenty of room. The kitchenette was a perfect way to end a day of travel, we cooked our own food and relaxed! The fixtures and details were high quality and we kept comparing the color combination to a Vegas suite. It was clean, well stocked, and offered a friendly and gracious staff. We were a block from Ortley Beach, a slow paced, peaceful beach (not sure if it's always like that or if we got lucky!) We were an easy 20 minute walk to Seaside Heights so we could experience the boardwalk, greasy food, and interesting people watching.There are several restaurants and delis within a block of the Starlight. There's an arcade and mini golf across the street. It really was a fantastic spot for our weekend retreat! I'm already imagining taking my family there for a fun adventure. We were a bit nervous about the younger crowd enjoying cocktails in the courtyard but by bedtime, they had gone out or were just really quiet. The AC unit in the bedroom proved a great white noise machine to block out the street noise for my light sleeping friend but I didn't notice any noises at all. One "complaint": the whole suite was really pristine and luxurious, don't skimp on the shower curtain! lol Ours was a full sized curtain cut in half and didn't quite fit the shower stall. And a couple canvas prints would really make the walls POP! That's grasping for cons and overall, the place was fantastic! I'll be referring all my friends. See you soon!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We did not have a suite. We had a regular room, so the Suites may be better, but I read the reviews before booking and I expected better. The room was clean. We had no soap in the bathroom, I had to ask for it. I initially thought it was an oversight, however another couple told me the same thing. Since when is soap a luxury item? The pool is heated, but way too HOT! Not refreshing at all, in fact the kids called it "gross". In May the ocean is too cold so the kids were very disappointed!! Day 2 the toilet wouldn't flush. After two attempts they were able to fix it, but left a mess behind. There is no tub, only a shower and the bathroom is extremely small.
The beds were extremely uncomfortable, and everyone was happy to be leaving.
On the plus side, the location is good. Minature golf across the street. Close to the beach.

Room Tip: Go with a suite, the regular rooms are small and bedding is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NjEve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

This was our third year staying there, and we're going back year after year. The rooms were recently renovated (maybe 3 years ago?) and the largest suite they have (on the ground floor by the pool) are very comfortable and roomy. They have grills there for you to use. The pool is heated and open (even on rainy/cloudy days.) The cleaning staff is very friendly and helpful. And everything is clean. What more can you want from a place??

Room Tip: I would pick any suite on the ground floor by the pools!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RoseOfMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

just stayed here or a week with my husband for the very first time ! def the best place to stay at the jersey shore,the suite was clean very spacious,and everyone was really nice ,i will def be back every year !! thanks again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have always rented houses in ortley/lavallette, but I was only going down the shore for a long weekend this year. It is located in a great location, near the beach, across from Barnicle Bills arcade & golf, near stores and restaurants. We stayed in the large suite. They remodeled the rooms. The kitchen and bathrooms are great, they definitely went with great quality there. They should of invested more into buying better beds. They were so hard. There is only 1 tv in the living room, which is so small, and the pull out sofa could of been better quality. The pool is a great feature, and kept clean everyday. The starlite is the biggest motel in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anarusso01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ortley Beach
8.5 mi away
Point Pleasant Manor
Point Pleasant Manor
#6 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.5 mi away
Days Hotel Toms River Jersey Shore
8.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center Toms River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#22 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.4 mi away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
9.1 mi away
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & Spa
White Sands Oceanfront Resort & ...
#9 of 16 in Point Pleasant Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites

Property: Starlight Motel & Luxury Suites
Address: 1963 Route 35 N, Ortley Beach, NJ 08751-1246
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Ortley Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ortley Beach
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starlight has been and continues to be the ideal spot for a perfect New Jersey Shore family vacation, reunion, or weekend retreat. We take great pride in our impeccable reputation for cleanliness, hospitality, and attention to detail. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Starlight Motel & Luxury Hotel Ortley Beach
Starlight Motel And Luxury Suites
Starlight Hotel Apartments
Starlight Hotel Toms River

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing