We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed service and laid back atmosphere”
Review of Waimea Restaurant

Waimea Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 20 Restaurants in Waikanae
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$28
Cuisines: Bar, Pizza, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Absolute beach front location, sunsets, live music, range of authentic Sicilian-style pizza to fine-dining quality food, well groomed wine list, NZ craft beers on tap including our very own Sacred Water Pilsner and Waimea Ginger Beer. Relaxed friendly environment with good times for all. We would love to have you in.
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
89 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Relaxed service and laid back atmosphere”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

With options to sit outside in a beach setting or upstairs with breathtaking views of Kapiti Island - it is simply a great setting. Food tastes great with something to suit all, including the younger patrons. Relaxed and helpful staff set the scene for the laid back atmosphere. Always a great option to relax or celebrate.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jadedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    82
    35
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location, great decor and good food”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I have dined here twice now and both times have had a really great experience. We had a family dinner here with a large group in October 2013 for my brothers 21st and the staff were amazing - worked with us to put together a specialised set menu and allocated us our own area in the restaurant and let us bring a cake etc. The food was amazing - especially the paua fritters!! We also dined there tonight (Feb 14) on a wonderful sunny Sunday evening. Again, the staff here are wonderful, enthusiastic and ready to help. The menu is varied and it is great that they now have a pizza menu to choose from. I had the beer battered fish and chips - delicious! My husband had the angus sirlion which was also really really good. Waimea is the perfect place to relax and wind down - looks over the beach and the decor inside is really awesome.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taraleigh01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great cafe/restaurant, excellent view!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Stopped here for dinner while stuck in terrible traffic on the way back to Wellington. So glad we did! Very friendly service, nice looking inside & outdoor tables, and fantastic view from the first floor! Recommend booking ahead and requesting to sit up there as it was booked up when we visited (a Sunday night). Not huge meals but tasty enough. Definitely recommend :-) great location too, right by the beach.

Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_traveller19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good grub, value & lovely position”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Have eaten here a number of times over the years and the new owners have upped the game. The position is fantastic, right on the beach and in the upstairs room views right across to Kapiti. The restaurant is clean and decorated just right for the position. Of course, being from the UK we are not so used to all food being cooked on the premises like you lucky Kiwis are - cook chill dominates - so I can understand why you might say it is average, but for us it is a delight. Veggie stuff abounds in this restaurant and can be assembled from all the menu parts. Even the same meal comes prepared differently, depending on who is cooking, and they have all been delicious. As ever the staff are friendly and accommodating, especially as we always eat with the family and grandchildren. The prices are reasonable and portion size excellent. You won't want dinner after having a lunch here.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LandVWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waikanae, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meals average”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Service was good but the meals were average. Quite a bit of the fresh tagliatelle was stuck together in clumps which meant some of it wasn't quite cooked through. Great views!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueDavidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waimea Restaurant also viewed

 
Waikanae, Kapiti Coast
 
Paraparaumu, Kapiti Coast
Raumati Beach, Kapiti Coast
 

Been to Waimea Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing