We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Trip”

Nga Manu Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Waikanae
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Discover "A Real KIWI Nature Experience" on the Kapiti Coast, within easy reach of Wellington. A diverse range of native animals & over 700 plant species. Nga Manu Nature Reserve offers you a unique opportunity to have a hands-on experience with nature. It is a 'must see' attraction for all local families and tourists visiting the Wellington region. There are 13 hectares for you to explore, including the largest remnant of original lowland coastal swamp forest on the stunning Kapiti Coast. The animal life at Nga Manu is a mix of both wild and enclosed species. Get up close to the iconic New Zealand Kiwi in the Nocturnal house and discover New Zealand's unique prehistoric reptile- the Tuatara. Meet the friendly Kea, Tui, Fantail, Kereru and Kaka. Over 56 different bird species come and go around the wetlands, bush and surroundings. All pathways are easily walked and are wheelchair and pushchair friendly (a wheelchair is available on site - we recommend that those in a wheelchair come with a friend who can assist with the aviary double doors). There are seating and picnic spots throughout the reserve including a BBQ facility and area. Follow the staff on our 'Bird Feeding Tour' at 11 am daily or take part in our Eel Feeding at 2 pm daily. We have a free guided bush walk and talk on weekends over the summer period and public holidays. We are flexible with your requirements, catering for individuals and groups, as well as hosting educational programs for visiting school groups in our Conservation Education Centre. If you have a special request please ask and we will work with you to create the best experience. We are able to provide personalised guided tours, catered lectures and a unique celebration or wedding venue.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Amazing place to bring the whole - great little bush walks - easy with a stroller and 2 little children - they have a Cafe onsite as well

Thank DanielC16193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F, Public Relations Manager at Nga Manu Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Hi Daniel, Thanks for writing us such a great review - we're glad your family had a fun day at Nga Manu!
For others reading this - please note that although Nga Manu has an indoor seating area with hot drinks available and a few snacks, we do not have a cafe with a menu or hot food items. Visitors are very welcome to bring a picnic and enjoy it inside or out.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bush walk"
in 15 reviews
"eel feeding"
in 28 reviews
"nature reserve"
in 15 reviews
"nocturnal house"
in 15 reviews
"native birds"
in 20 reviews
"kapiti coast"
in 17 reviews
"new zealand"
in 13 reviews
"nz bush"
in 4 reviews
"an excellent place"
in 3 reviews
"kiwi house"
in 5 reviews
"family group"
in 2 reviews
"wander around"
in 2 reviews
"young man"
in 2 reviews
"great afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"lovely grounds"
in 2 reviews
"nice walk"
in 2 reviews
"feeding tour"
in 3 reviews
Filter

23 - 27 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2017

We had a lovely overnight stay in the cottage, magical! A real gem and a special way to celebrate a birthday....unique! We will be back again....

Thank FranR14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F, Public Relations Manager at Nga Manu Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay in our Theo's Cottage at Nga Manu - a lovely way to celebrate a birthday! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I hired the function room for a significant birthday party and the staff were extremely helpful over the whole process. The room was attractive and warm and the kitchen well set up and the toilets cleaned. My grandchildren enjoyed their exploration of the reserve too.

Thank MaryB7327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F, Public Relations Manager at Nga Manu Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you Mary. We are glad you enjoyed your Birthday celebration at Nga Manu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

I was disappointed on arrival expecting a better set up. All the rain had made the paths slippery and the grass boggy which can't be helped of course. For some reason I expected it to be much bigger than it was and that it would also have a cafe or at least somewhere you could buy sandwiches. If taking children, bring your own food. The staff weren't as knowledgeable as I'd expect, however they may have been new and learning. Not overly welcoming either which for a reserve needing funds to keep up the grounds etc. one would expect better. Not all bad and I was still glad I went even if it was just to support the breeding programs to help the wildlife.

Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F, Public Relations Manager at Nga Manu Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Hi Melissa,

We are sorry that you were a little underwhelmed on your visit, but thank you for your support. At 15 hectares we are not a huge site, but Nga Manu is special because it is very accessible and you can see a lot of New Zealand's native and endemic flora and fauna in a short time frame, which makes us unique.

Due to weather variations that cause huge fluctuations in visitor numbers, it is not cost effective for us currently to provide perishable fresh food. In September we set up a 'serve yourself' hot drinks area in our visitor centre with tables and a few snack items and ice creams available, but we do recommend that people bring a picnic to enjoy inside or out. In the future we may have a greater selection of snacks available.

We apologise for your experience with a staff member or volunteer - we hope this was an isolated incident and take your feedback very seriously - it was passed on to our Manager and team. We shall review our inductions and training for staff and volunteers as it is our aim for everyone to provide a great visitor experience. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

Walking around the reserve to the sound of native birds in particular the warble of the Rio gives one a sense of walking through primeval forest and the peace that brings to one.

Thank KuimiriaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah F, Public Relations Manager at Nga Manu Nature Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you Kuimiria for your positive review. We are glad that you were able to enjoy the peace and tranquility of our precious forest remnant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nga Manu Nature Reserve also viewed

Waikanae, Kapiti Coast
 
Waikanae, Kapiti Coast
Paraparaumu, Kapiti Coast
 

Been to Nga Manu Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing