We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NZ Holiday - JF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kapiti Gateway Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waikanae
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“NZ Holiday - JF”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Kapiti Gateway Motel, Waikanae, for 11 nights recently whilst visiting our daughter. We had contacted Vivian and Russell from the UK informing them of our plans and enquiring about accommodation availability. We booked a Double Studio however our hosts upgraded us to the Superior Studio with no extra costs. The rooms were very clean and as stated by others the beds are very comfortable. Although the motel is located near a main road and train station, we found the noise very minimal and we always enjoyed a good nights sleep. We used the pool often to cool off, it was well maintained and clean. There is also a children's play area with a trampoline etc which our grandchildren enjoyed playing on. We decided to visit Napier on our way back to Auckland Airport and Russell recommended a nice motel in Napier which he booked for us (as the Napier motel was in the same chain it only cost us $50 for the night). Vivian and Russell were superb hosts and we shall have no hesitation in booking another stay at the Kapiti Gateway Motel on our next visit to NZ.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    32
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
30
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
newcastle england
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Very clean rooms excellent hosts rooms bit dated but everything works and beds are comfy we had booked a studio and the hosts upgraded us. The shops were just along the road and just off the main highway for Wellington. A little bit noise from the road Highway maintenance were working one night of our stay so this could be the reason for road noise, and a couple of trains trains but the super clean rooms and comfy beds made up for this. Thank you for our upgrade we enjoyed our stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for for feed back. Our building may be an older style but our exterior upgrades and interior refurbishments are recent and modern. Comfort and cleanliness are what we promises our guests so we are delighted to know you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed your room. There was indeed some night time work going on in Waikanae village, we heard it too but unfortunately have no control over the inconvenient choices the road maintenance companies make! It is rare for this to occur though. We hope to have you back to stay at Kapiti Gateway Motel when you next journey to our part of the world.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

3 couples Spent 1 night in Waikanae recently. Beds were extremely comfortable. Units not ultra modern but very clean and comfortable. Hostess superb. Easy walking distance to shopping,restaurants and train station. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Mention a full kitchen if this is what you are requiring for your stay. There are upstairs and downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

What a great place, perfect for day tripping into Wellington by train. Rooms were super clean, nice linen, comfy beds and the owners very lovely and helpful. If you want somewhere nice and basic but comfortable then well worth the stop.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed one night at Gateway; in town for a birthday party. It was completely fit for purpose- close to restaurants and shops.
Despite the garish turquise exterior, our room was fresh, modern and immaculate. (I have never seen such shiny cutlery!). The is a nice and quite sizeable garden area, with trampoline, swings and bbq. DIdn't chance the 'solar' heated pool or have time to check out the spa pool!
Other people have commented on the traffic noise. We didn't notice it- and traffic is fairly low on the road over night. Once Kapiti Expressway is built, and takes traffic from SH1, this place will become a little gem- and a destination in itself!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodinio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for staying at Kapiti Gateway Motel. - it is our aim that every guest, no matter how long you stay, has a comfortable friendly experience and enjoys the service and facilities we offer. We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We recently had the motel exterior repainted and have passed your comment about the colour on to our painter - we will take pleasure in telling him not everyone loves the Dulux D'Urville Island colour he chose! Your comments about the lack of road noise are in keeping with what many of our guests say so thank you for pointing that out. We wholeheartedly agree with you that once the Kapiti Expressway is complete, our township will become a wonderful picturesque destination...and we are well prepared for that here at Kapiti Gateway Motel. Thank you again, and we look forward to having you back to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanganui, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We needed somewhere with easy access to Wellington. Booked through booking.com, very easy to do. Railway station within a couple of minutes walking distance, great rail link into Wellington every half hour. Waikane Beach a couple of minutes drive away with excellent eateries, would recommend the Long Beach, delicious butter fish. The motel was easy to find, just off SH1. Very clean room and extremely comfortable. The staff were very helpful and very friendly. Had a great night's sleep. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this motel to anyone wishing to stay in Waiakane.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Needed somewhere to stay for a family birthday and Kapiti gateway was perfect. Close to everything we needed, hosts were lovely, rooms were immaculate. Had no problems with noise, slept wonderfully. Added bonus that the hand soap appeared to not be tested on animals which topped it all off for me :). Bathrooms were a bit older but they were in great working order and we had no problems at all. Overall wonderful stay and would stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kapitigatewaymotel, Owner at Kapiti Gateway Motel, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. All our cleaning products and guest amenities are indeed environmentally friendly which includes non-tested on animals - thank you for noticing! We agree with your comment about the bathroom. Most of our bathrooms have been fully renovated...in your room just the vanity, toilet, floor and mirrors have been replaced, shortly to be followed by a new shower box. Following that the walls can then be repainted to complete the renovation. This is happening iminently so you can be assurred of a lovely new bathroom on your next visit! Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waikanae
4.7 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
94 reviews
2.5 mi away
Greenmantle Estate
Greenmantle Estate
#1 of 7 in Paraparaumu
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariki Lodge Motel
Ariki Lodge Motel
#2 of 2 in Waikanae
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Kapiti Lindale Motel & Conference Centre
4.7 mi away
Asure Kapiti Court Motel
Asure Kapiti Court Motel
#5 of 7 in Paraparaumu
59 reviews
9.4 mi away
Cottage Park Motel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapiti Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapiti Gateway Motel

Property: Kapiti Gateway Motel
Address: 114 Main Road | Waikanae, Waikanae, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Waikanae
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Waikanae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kapiti Gateway Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Kapiti Gateway Motel, Waikanae's only Qualmark 4-star quality assured accommodation. For corporates or couples, families or groups, your hosts Russell & Viv Willis, have thought of everything to make your stay an enjoyable one.Studio, executive and 2-bedroom units, clean and inviting, featuring comfortable beds and double-glazing for a great nights rest. 40+Sky TV channels, free wireless internet (conditions apply), heating controlled by you, electric blankets, iron/ironing board, hairdryers, 3 units with bath. Cot/highchair available. Consider having a delicious cooked or continental breakfast delivered to your unit.All our units enjoy a pleasant outlook and easy access to attractive garden area. You'll love our private spa pool, free for use by our guests, and in-ground swimming pool (solar heated Oct-March). Playground with trampoline and basketball area. Guest BBQ and laundry on site.Kapiti Gateway Motel is easy to find and a short walk from restaurants, cinema, art gallery and popular bush/river walks. Waikanae Railway Station is just a 2 minute walk so you can leave your car with us and take the train to Wellington city for a great day out, or to attend an event at Westpac Trust Stadium. Also close by is Waikanae Beach, Nga Manu Nature Reserve, Southwards Car Museum, Waikanae Golf Club, Otaki factory outlet shops. Ten minutes from Paraparaumu Airport, 45 minutes to Interislander Ferry - late arrivals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kapiti Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing