We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay!!”
Review of English River Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in English River
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
English River Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay!!”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Friendly staff, nice, reasonable accommodation on the side of the highway facing a small lake. The kitchenette is great! The room is bright, clean and spacious. It includes breakfast. Overall it was a nice experience, we really enjoyed the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 355LaurenW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
29
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We recently stayed here on a trip from Ottawa to Calgary
The room was clean, however the motel itself is quite old. Our room had two double beds which were comfortable. We stayed in the very last room closest to the highway (101), so it could be loud at times when trucks were passing by, but for the price, I would definitely stay here again.

Our room was less than $75.00 after taxes

The communal eating area also sold snacks, water and soda, which was nice. They also had pizza and microwavable dinners for sale as well.

Room Tip: Try to book a room far away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMH T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I have stayed at this little motel twice now - once driving across Canada last August and again in July 2013. On both occasions I was pleased by the cleanliness, friendliness and downright sweetness of this little place. Communal eating room where breakfast is served also has simple dinners you can make - frozen pizza etc and that is a bonus in this isolated strip of highway. All of this and for an amazingly economical price! Not to be missed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trwf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleton, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We stayed at the English River Inn in July, 2013. The owners were extremely nice and welcoming. They went out of their way to provide extra bedding for our toddler, who needed to sleep on the floor to avoid a fall out of bed. Everything was extremely clean and we had no qualms about our child sleeping on the floor. While it is an older establishment, the beds were very comfortable and everything was in perfect working order. They even had a place on their feedback card to report any maintenance issues, although there were none in our room, or the room my parents rented. The water pressure was good and the fixtures, again while older, were in excellently maintained condition. There was plenty of hot water for baths and showers. A nice touch for our family of 4 was the sink outside of the bathroom area, which gave us more flexibility while getting ready in the morning.
The breakfast room was also spotless and every detail was thought of. The food was fresh and a nice variety was offered.
While this is not an "upscale" hotel, it is by far the nicest roadside motel I've ever stayed in. The owners clearly take pride in what they do and I would highly recommend that any traveler stay at the English River Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkaninen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is lost but so sweet. Its very clean and the breakfeast is great. The manager is really nice with the guest. Highly recommanded. The view with the lake is nice too. I really enjoyed my experience at this place .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island Pond, Vermont
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2013

On a four week road trip in June 2013, we came upon this little gem of an Inn. Exceptionally clean, very pleasant hosts- Bruce & Lois Rypkema. Amenities available in the kitchen area. I could have stayed there longer in this relaxing spot next to a lake, but we had to move on. Definitely high quality. Jerry & Beverly Goupee

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beverly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Three Lakes, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2013

English River Inn provides exceptionally clean, family owned accommodations. We look forward to staying here in the future and happy to recommend this motel to anyone looking for a clean and personable place to spend a night or more.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Londale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to English River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about English River Inn

Property: English River Inn
Address: Highway 17 | English River, English River, Ontario, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Kenora District > English River
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in English River
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing