We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmorfa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

What a find ! The attention to detail was exceptional. In our very comfy and spacious room we were greeted with fresh milk for our tea, biscuits, teas etc, mint humbugs and even a small bottle of wine!
Breakfast included every treat we could think of and really didn't need to eat for the rest of the day!
Alison made us feel very welcome, was very friendly and helpful.Amazing value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this lovely B & B. The setting is beautiful, and Alison couldn't have been nicer. She recommended different sites to see and restaurants to patronize. She has great detailed maps of the area we borrowed each day for our trips through Snowdonia and over to the LLeyn Peninsula. Breakfast was scrumptious... tons of variety, including fresh fruit. Be sure to ask for porridge - the best I've ever had! The room was comfortable (as was the bed) and very CLEAN, with tea/coffee etc. and delicious little biscuits. Definitely highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Moel Y Gest room had a very niceview of the garden and mountain, and a comfortable king sized be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2cvgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

What a fantastic little gem. Room clean, well presented and comfortable. Welcome amazing and food fantastic.We will without doubt return to this wonderful place.
The location could not have been better, central to all the hot spots in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Looking for accommodation in North Wales. Look no further Bwich-y-Fedwen, Penmorfa, Nr. Porthmadog comes highly recommended. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this B&B.
We stayed here for six nights. A very high standard of cleanliness and comfort with great attention to detail. There was a separate entrance so guests could come and go as they pleased. Breakfasts were wonderful with locally sourced bacon, sausages, eggs, mushrooms and vine tomatoes. Yoghurts and fresh fruit also available, and other options too. Even homemade marmalade, strawberry and raspberry jams.
Alison was very friendly and accommodating - nothing was any bother for her. Don't waste time looking for somewhere else. We've made it easy just choose Bwich-y-Fedwen. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Moyle Gest was the name of the room we stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We stayed at Bwlch Y Fedwen for 3 nights whilst visiting Snowdonia and we were absolutely blown away by this place. The rooms were beautifully decorated and equipped with a wide assortment of teas and coffees as well as chocolate, delicious shortbread and wine! Alison was delightful, extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms have a TV with DVD player and a selection of DVDs provided, a good choice of toiletries, hair-dryer, shaving kit, robes and slippers.
A special mention should be reserved for breakfast. As other posters have pointed out, we simply had the best breakfast ever! It included an amazing choice of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, dried fruit, nuts and seeds as well as fresh juices and pastries and a delicious cooked breakfast masterfully prepared by Alison using local produce with wonderful scrambled eggs, grilled vine tomatoes, sausages, bacon, beans and hash browns accompanied by toast with butter and home-made jams.
This is a true gem and the best B&B I have ever visited. We will certainly go back if we are in the area and would highly recommend it to all and sundry.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyMuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed at Bwlch y Fedwen for 4 nights and have no hesitation in recommending this terrific B&B near Porthmadog, North Wales. The location is great for touring the area.The ensuite rooms are very comfortable and the separate entrance means you can come and go without disurbing the family. Wifi worked a treat. There was everything you could possible need- even hot water bottles and saccarine sweetner as well as home made cakes. The breakfasts were wonderful with a great array of local foods including fresh fruit, sausage,smoked salmon. Alison was very friendly and even did some washing for us. She is very knowledgable about the area and various activities to do. Highly recommended!!!!
Jen and Ron Australia

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonListerSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

If you want to experience a friendly, efficient and properly-run B&B, make a concerted effort to stay at Bwlch y Fedwen in the village of Penmorfa. Great room; great location; great service; high-standard throughout; thoughtful attention to many details; and a breakfast to die for! Sets the bench-mark for all other B&Bs. Will definitely be returning – vacancies permitting!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmorfa
3.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,487 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
3.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
299 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
703 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#2 of 12 in Porthmadog
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast

Address: Bryncir Terrace, Penmorfa LL49 9RY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Penmorfa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmorfa
Price Range: £68 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bwlch y Fedwen is a Grade II listed coaching house built around 1660. We provide a first class friendly service in accommodation that we feel will meet and exceed all your expectations. Relax and enjoy a fantastic breakfast whilst overlooking Porthmadog hills. Located near to Portmeirion, Ffestiniog Railway and Snowdonia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast Penmorfa, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing