We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A B&B GEM”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Penmorfa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A B&B GEM”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Our recent stay with Alison at Bwlch y Fedwen turned out to be the best b&b stay we have had in the thirty three years we have been married. We were warmly welcomed by Alison as we got out of the car, signed in, and were shown to our lovely room. There were many things in the room that we have never had at other places, including fresh milk in a mini fridge! you will have to visit to see the other things.We took many things with us that we just didn`t need because they were already in the room. Breakfast is an experience unsurpassed anywhere we have been, the variety of things on offer surprised us, many types of fresh fruit,yoghurt,cereal,pastry, etc. etc., then the best and excellently prepared cooked breakfast you could wish for. Alison`s attention to detail and hard work made our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
98
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We spent two nights at this excellent B&B in Snowdonia. Our room was very comfortable with lots of lovely extra touches which other people have mentioned in their reviews. It was also very quiet, and we had really delicious breakfasts. Thank you, Alison, we shall certainly return if we visit the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NSW, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Alison Jones' Bwlch y Fedwen is undoubtedly the best B & B that my wife & I have ever stayed in. Our 2 night stay in the Glaslyn Room provided us with the best bed we have yet found in a B & B and the best welcome. The scones, jam and cream on arrival were marvellous! The refreshment tray contained a jar of shortbread biscuits, hot chocolate, a variety of teas, coffee, and unbelievably a bar of chocolate and a small bottle of wine. The spacious room contained a dressing table and stool, wardrobe, chest of drawers and two comfy chairs! The large bathroom had a shower over the bath (room to move!) and the extras revealed that nothing seems to be too much trouble for Ali: mini soap, face cloths, tissues, shower gel, shampoo, nail file, sewing kit, shoe shine tissue, a comb, slippers and dressing gowns! For breakfast, the cooked breakfast menu made choosing difficult, but the scrambled egg with salmon was the best presentation we've seen and simply delicious! That was after we got through the serve of fresh fruit and muesli. Would have liked to try the muffins and the Danish pastries but couldn't manage! Nearly forgot, the home made jams and marmalade require superlatives, too! The weather forecast on the blackboard is a nice touch, too.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Glaslyn Room, but this is an outstanding B & B. Any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

What a lovely welcome arriving to home made cake in our room. Thank you Alison for your attention to detail. Rooms are beautifully kept, clean, spacious & very comfortable. An amazing breakfast menu & breakfast table....we felt very welcome in this lovely B&B. There was even a small bottle of wine in our room as well as an extremely well stocked tea tray & jar of biscuits!
We will defiantly be re-booking another stay in the future. Alison you are a star, thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weekends_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Luckily we had booked to stay at Bwlch y Fedwen for five nights. Always a little concerned at arriving at a new B&B not knowing what to expect but after only ten minutes we realised there really is gold near Snowdonia. Alison has just thought of everything you could possibly need with so many thoughtful touches from the scones on arrival to the bowl of humbugs and such an amazing spread for breakfast. We don't think anyone could be disappointed with a stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Over the years we have stayed in a great number of B&Bs, all very good. We always chose carefully. However, Bwlch Y Fedwen has to be the best - a pity that we only stayed 2 nights! Alison has thought of everything - delicious home made cake on the "tea" tray on arrival, fresh milk in the mini fridge, a superbly well equipped guest room and en suite, plus an excellent breakfast, with an extensive choice. The scenery is stunning too! We expect to return.

Room Tip: We chose the Moel Y Gest room, which provided the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englishbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

A big thank you to Alison for a lovely three day stay at Bwlch y Fedwen.
It's the best B&B we've ever stayed in. We stayed in the Glaslyn bedroom and it was very clean and nicely decorated. Our friend stayed in the Pennant room which was also nicely decorated.
Had a lovely welcome from Alison and nothing is too much trouble for her. Some cakes were waiting for us on arrival, as well as a bottle of wine and a bar of chocolate. Refreshments in the room for us were shortbread biscuits, tea, coffee, hot choc, a mini fridge with a carton of milk. There were dressing gowns and slippers for our use, and a hairdryer. The bathroom had a nice big bath and shower and lots of extras like a small pack of tissues, mini soaps, face cloths, a comb, shower gel, shampoo and conditioner, and even a small sewing kit.
The breakfasts were delicious - we were really spoilt for choice. There were a choice of cereals and fruit juice, yoghurts, fresh fruit, muffins and a huge cooked breakfast with toast and jam and marmalade. Set us up for the day and we didn't need anything else to eat till late afternoon. Will defintely recommend this to my friends to stay, and if we are ever in the area again, we'll be back. Oh, just remembered that Alison writes the weather forecast for the day on a blackboard in the breakfast room, which was really helpful to us.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Glasyn room and had a lovely view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penmorfa
3.4 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,456 reviews
1.2 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
3.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
Glyn-y-Coed Hotel
#2 of 6 in Criccieth
290 reviews
1.6 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
689 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tudor Lodge
Tudor Lodge
#2 of 12 in Porthmadog
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast
Address: Bryncir Terrace, Penmorfa LL49 9RY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Penmorfa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Penmorfa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bwlch y Fedwen is a Grade II listed coaching house built around 1660. We provide a first class friendly service in accommodation that we feel will meet and exceed all your expectations. Relax and enjoy a fantastic breakfast whilst overlooking Porthmadog hills. Located near to Portmeirion, Ffestiniog Railway and Snowdonia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bwlch y Fedwen Bed & Breakfast Penmorfa, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing