We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Prenteg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I used to holiday many years ago at this caravan park and have some wonderfully happy memories. Myself and other half decided to go as I wanted to share this very special area with him.

We don't have a caravan anymore, so booked into the hotel, which has about 9 bedrooms. We stayed in the four poster room, which was quite nicely done out, although in my opinion, the furnishings could have been a bit brighter. The bathroom was nice with a double shower and sink.

However, the highlight for us was the food which is well prepared and presented and really tasty without being expensive. The breakfast is substantial (if you have the full english) and again excellent.

The hotel bar areas and restaurant seem to be well used by both those on the site and locals, so even though we weren't expecting the second week in November to be particularly busy, it was, so I think it's advisable to book into the restaurant.

The hotel is nicely done without being over the top. The only comment I would make that is slightly negative is that a couple of the staff did not seem as if they wanted to be there. The chap behind the bar was lovely - helpful and friendly and the young lady that greeted us on reception was nice - the comment is more about the girls waiting on who were not especially friendly.

That being said, at £60 each per night bed and breakfast, we both thought this was great value.

We both thoroughly enjoyed it - the views and the surrounding areas are beautiful and all round a great weekend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (463)
There are newer reviews for Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 463 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

This holiday park is an amazing little place, in a perfect central location to all the surrounding places to visit. We broales ught one of our dogs and it suited us well for his stay too. It was just perfect all round. The hall did lovely food and great for a quick lazy drink in the afternoon. We would definitly revist Wales and stay here again. The little stream behind out caravan was just a lovely surrounding feature.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraBassenger86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Been here quite a few times and always enjoyed it. Great food and atmosphere. The surrounding views are superb, very tranquil. Our four children love the outdoor space and play area. The staff were very attentive, and the portions were of a very generous size. All in all another great Sunday at Aberdunant Hall. Thanks once again, from the Scott family.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StephenScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We stayed for one week with our dog in an Oak caravan, number 107, and couldn't fault the caravan or the park.
The caravan was older than some of the others, which we expected because it was a dog friendly one, but it had everything we needed and was very spacious with 3 bedrooms. The outside area was great aswell with plenty of space and dining area set in a fantastic woodland.
The location of the park is a 5 minute drive to Porthmadog, with it's access to Black Rock Sands and close neighbour Criccieth, and a 10 minute drive to Beddgelert.
The only negative i would mention about the park was the outside seating area of Aberdunant Hall itself. The tables were never cleaned during the week we were there. Ashtrays were full and overflowing with water from the rain and butts the day we arrived and the same ashtrays were in the same condition 1 week later. One ashtray had left a perfectly round mark of cigarette ash on a table and the mark was still there at the end of the week. Used glasses and cups were constantly walked past on empty tables by the bar staff. It doesn't take much to wipe tables clean etc especially when the occupancy is nowhere near full.
Would still recommend a stay here though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deak75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

We booked to stay at Aberdunant Hall Hotel as we had day tickets for Festival No.6 and we're really pleased we did! What a great find! The staff were very friendly & helpful and the room was lovely! It was spotless, spacious & very quiet. Lunch & breakfast was great and overall we were really impressed! The hotel is the perfect location for those not wanting to camp @ Festival No.6 or pay the inflated prices at Portmeirion. The hotel is located 4 miles from the park & ride so it's the ideal spot. Anyone with anything negative to say about this hotel are the type of people who will never be happy! Looking forward to returning soon!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJE1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

arrived at the site at 6pm on a Saturday, reception closed so had to report to hotel,got our keys from polite member of staff,on entry to our caravan which was an elm 2 in the walled section we found the caravan to be of a clean and presentable caravan,got up next day and spent all day out, on return we found the caravan to have a strong smell of dogs, we proceeded to complain to the lady in reception to which she apologised and gave us some shake n vac and ordered for the carpet to be cleaned which could not be done until 4pm the next day, we returned back to our caravan to be told she would return to speak to us soon, about 30 mins later she came to investigate the smell, but because she has dogs herself she said she couldn't smell it, bearing in mind we had just put half a bottle of shake n vac on the floor, she informed us that she had spoken with who we assumed was her manager that we could upgrade our caravan at a cost of £100 to which we bluntly refused, she then informed us that in her own words that basically 99.9% of all caravans is dog occupied throughout the season, I informed her that if this was stated on the website to which I booked I would never have booked this campsite but she just put this down to being upto hoseasons to rectify, caravan carpets were cleaned 4pm next day prompt unfortunately the smell returned after only 2 days (more shake n vac ) just feel that as I booked a discounted week £620 down to £230 I am extremely disappointed with the standard of the caravan that I had, we had 7 nights on the campsite and there was no entertainment in the hotel as stated, childrens play area is a basic beer garden with a swing and a slide, the views there is none unless you go hill climbing and the stunning waterfalls( trickling stream ) are no where to be seen, there is noway I would book this camp again and I would never recommend anyone to visit it. the only good thing about it is the young staff in the hotel were extremely helpful

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We had a midweek 2 night break here after finding it on a hotel booking website and then reading the reviews. We were not disappointed in the slightest. In the middle of lovely countryside and beautiful, well kept grounds, the caravans were hardly noticeable and a lot of them had wonderful displays of hanging baskets. The hotel was very easy to find without a sat nav. I still use a map and Google Earth before I leave home and often take the minor scenic roads. Plenty of parking spaces just outside the hotel reception and a friendly receptionist to welcome us and show us to our room and explain all the important details. The room was a good size with a huge well lit walk-in wardrobe, good cupboard space and lighting and best off all, tea making facilities. There was a large sash window which we left open as the weather was hot, without getting a lot of unwelcome noise as other people seemed to find. I personally think that this window could do with a net curtain as I felt quite overlooked by the cars parked opposite unless I kept the curtains closed. The bathroom was excellent, complete with whirlpool bath, a very good shower and Victorian style fittings. The breakfast waitress was a joy. She was very efficient, helpful, bubbly and always smiling. Just what was needed first thing in the morning. On our second evening, we ate in the restaurant. The service was good, the food even better with something to suit most people on the menu. My only "complaint" was that the portions were too large if you wanted both a starter and a dessert but I did just manage to eat my Peach Pavlova. We had a drink afterwards in the bar and found one of the best beers my partner had ever had, from a local brewery in Porthmadog, Purple Moose. For him, it was the highlight of the trip and the best reason for a return visit to this lovely hotel and area of North Wales.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suziesuperstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prenteg
3.0 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
1,475 reviews
5.5 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
390 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Porthmadog Hotel
1.6 mi away
The Golden Fleece Inn
The Golden Fleece Inn
#2 of 5 in Tremadog
396 reviews
5.8 mi away
Marine Hotel
Marine Hotel
#15 of 21 in Criccieth
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel

Address: Prenteg | Porthmadog, Prenteg LL49 9SR, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Prenteg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Prenteg
Price Range: £76 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aberdunant Hall Hotel is set in the Snowdonia National Park and within an upmarket static holiday home park. Perfectly situated, this Victorian Manor House and grounds has far reaching views of the Snowdonia mountains and is an ideal location to explore the whole of Snowdonia and the LLyn Peninsula and being within easy reach of the harbour town of Porthmadog (4 miles) and the market towns of Pwllheli and Criccieth.The world famous walking village of Beddgelert (Gelerts grave) is just 3 miles from Aberdunant Hall. The grounds offer nature trails through the woods and boast waterfalls, streams and rock features. From the hotel you will find a number of scenic walks ranging from gentle strolls to more adventurous hill walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdunant Hall Holiday Park & Hotel Prenteg, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing