We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Beautiful Barn”
other travellers have booked this property
The Barn, with Sunset cottage at left
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Barn, with Sunset cottage at left
Barn - the lounge Barn patio and BBQ in dappled sunlight
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The Barn, with Sunset cottage at left
Barn - the lounge
Barn patio and BBQ in dappled sunlight
The Barn Kitchen - rustic and modern, a dream kitchen
Barn - breakfast room
Barn - courtyard form the front. Byre cottage to left, Sunset to right
Gallery landing with 19th C antique chandelier
Early summer - a glorious garden
Barn, 'Oak' master bedroom with ensuite,
Stable cottage, taken from Byre cottage
Barn - 'Chestnut' twin bedroom
Sunset cottage.
Barn - 'Birch' twin bedroom
Rustic 2m wood-fired hot tub.
Barn - 'Elm' bedroom
7' Pool table
Byre Cottage - lounge
Barn the Blue or Garden Room
From the south side looking through the garden room to the breakfast area
Stable cottage - lounge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
10 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 25
Bishops Lydeard, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Katherine...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Beautiful Barn”
Reviewed 24 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

I have just returned from a suprise hen do I arranged for my best friend. With there being 10 of us it took time to find the perfect location but once I found Penbridge Court and confirmed the availability it was all systems go to get it booked and confirmed. I can only compliment Simon on the great service he offered, responding quickly to all email enquiries from start to finish and even after our return.

The hen, not having a clue where we were going, put all her trust in me to plan the perfect weekend and luckily with The Barn as our location, I couldn't really go wrong. The Barn is absolutely stunning and you can tell that a lot of thought and care has gone into the presentation of each of the rooms, from the bedrooms, to the games room, to the outside patio and garden area. The little extras had a big impact: outside games, selection of DVDs, two TVs, a little welcome pack etc etc. And that is of course without mentioning the hot tub!!

Needless to say, we had an absolutely fantastic weekend and when it came to Monday morning - none of us wanted to leave! I would recommend this to everyone and would jump at the chance to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean K
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Welcoming and tranquil.”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Beautiful barn conversion which provided a lovely base for attending a family wedding and then a holiday. We ranged from a 70+ down to twins of 7months and included young adults. Everyone was comfortable and had space. The owners and managers were very helpful in organising baby gear and whatever else we needed. Thoughtful welcome pack and a quick informative tour on arrival as well. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquility of location with all mod cons.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma B
Poole
1 review
“Tranquil peace and quiet”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We stayed for 4 days in april, great hospitality and well looked after, warm and comfortable, close to all amenities, great views across the country side and the west Somerset railway line. Would highly recommend to anyone, will definitely be revisiting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dusk chorus in the hot tub
Liked least: We hadn't booked it for the next week too.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic property, brilliantly managed!”
Reviewed 21 March 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We had spent weeks trawling the internet for suitable cottages that would fit our group of fifteen for Tom's 30th birthday, and were met with e-mail after e-mail of disappointing replies to our enquiries, mostly with regards to people/companies, not being able to accommodate our entire group, not willing to do short breaks or being fully booked.

Almost at our wit's end, we then decided to send as many e-mails as we could, in the hopes that at least one would get back to us, and here was where our GREAT experience with Penbridge Court began.

Despite the fact that they hadn't planned to open until March (which was clear on the website, but we hadn't read properly due to our utter desperation), they had decided to let us have their four cottages from the 25th to the 27th of January. After the dismal result of our first attempts at securing a cottage, we didn't think that anyone out there would take into consideration that, for someone like Tom who works abroad and would like to spend his 30th with friends and family back in the UK, it would mean a great deal to us for someone out there to take it upon themselves to help out rather than just dismiss us. E-mails flew back and forth quite regularly. Every question was promptly and thoroughly answered, and this was despite the fact that we'd ended up talking to different people throughout the whole correspondence. What consistency!

Now on to the best bit, the actual cottages.

We arrived on the Friday and as we drove in, were immediately greeted by the very organised, Tim, who then proceeded to give us a systematic and comprehensive tour of each and every single cottage, and each of its rooms and facilities. Suffice to say, it was very difficult to keep our jaws from dropping through out the tour.

Tea, coffee, sugar and a tin of shortbread biscuits greeted weary travellers, but the birthday boy got a little bit extra. To his surprise, he also had a wonderful birthday card and a bottle of Baileys! Every cottage has central heating, which is a given, but they also had their own wood burners, and more than enough chopped wood. Each cottage also had it's own stove, fridge, washer & dryer, dishwasher, glasses, crockery and utensils. Towels and bed linens were provided for each and every single room, and everyone LOVED the fact that hot water bottles were provided (perfectly colour coordinated with the room by the way) with little bags of lavender that you could put inside the cover for a relaxing nights sleep. Everyone also enjoyed their beds and their very soft duvets that just enveloped you and shielded you from the cold . There was ample and spacious parking. We had 6 cars in total and there were still spaces left. You could also park really close to the cottage of your choice so it was so easy to load and unload our belongings.

Sunset Cottage
For those who like a firm bed, it has the firmest bed out of all the cottages. It is the closest to the main cottage, The Barn, and has a view of the massive garden.

The Stables
This cottage faces The Barn and is the furthest from it so it's perfect for those who like to go to bed early or not be worried about noise or loud music (perfect for the elders :D) though, to be honest, we had music blasting in The Barn and you could hardly hear it once you stepped outside.

The Byre
Really cute cottage for two attached to The Barn, and we don't mean cute in lieu of pokey, we do really mean cute.

The Barn
Oh, The Barn. It's beautiful. We entered through the kitchen door and the kitchen was massive. Gone were our worries of being able to cook meals for fifteen people comfortably. Heavy-duty stove with multiple hobs and ovens (don't really know the proper term for these sorts of things but we definitely didn't run out of room to cook/bake things). There was a huge free-standing fridge and just in case that wasn't enough, they had a smaller one (disguised as a cupboard), so again, didn't have to worry about where to store food and drinks. We had a kettle, tea towels, trash bags, washing up liquid & hand wash (for the TWO sinks), and A LOT of glasses, utensils and crockery. Every kitchen tool you can think of, they had it! Can/bottle opener, graters, sieves, cooking utensils, (glass, ceramic and wooden) bowls of different sizes where you serve food in… they had EVERYTHING!

Opposite the kitchen is a long dining table, which extends onto one of the living areas with a foosball table and a humongous tv. The layout was great because it allowed everyone to do their own thing (lounge around, watch tv, play, drink, eat, cook, etc.) without completely separating anyone.There is also a bathroom on the ground floor, which was SO convenient as people didn't have to go all the way to their cottages or their rooms on the second floor, as the main party, we had decided, was going to be in the kitchen & dining area, as we could easily have the food all over the kitchen countertop and all the drinks in a corner, whereby everyone could just keep going back for seconds or thirds with such ease.

There is another dining area on the other side of The Barn where the table is even bigger than the last, which is connected to another living area with immense brown leather sofas and a grand fireplace. It provided a great space where we could prepare the banners, posters, cards, streamers and party hats for the birthday celebration without the fear of premature discovery by the celebrant. This was also such a terrific area to wind down at the end of Tom's birthday evening.

There was so much natural light all through out the cottage, and even though there was a lot of space, it felt cozy and homely. You could imagine the garden as being lovely in the summer, but the view of the snow-covered garden was beautiful as well. The family dog, Bella, definitely enjoyed the grounds and it was so lovely that they had thought of preparing a doggie loo.

The only downside (which, to be honest, wasn't really a downside for us) is that mobile signal is intermittent. Vodafone has the best reception but it was still spotty. The great news is, is that The Barn has wifi AND a landline, which eliminates any concerns you may have about not having mobile reception.

Suffice to say, if you want a hassle-free weekend/week away, with all the comforts of home (and more), this is definitely where you should go. It's always nice to stay in a place that has been designed as if someone were to live in it, rather than as a place where people flit in and out. Also, in this day and age where you get quite used to being treated like an atm machine, it was touching that there are people/businesses out there that genuinely want to make your experience as smooth and memorable as possible.

Thank you very, very much, and looking forward to staying with you again!

Hannah J. & Tom B.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing