We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best independent hostel in the U.k.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Torran Bay Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Torran Bay Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best independent hostel in the U.k.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Definitely, by far the most wonderful hosteling experience I've ever had.
21 st century hosteling at its best. More like a four star hotel...
An outstanding hostel in an amazing location on the shores of loch Awe.
The hospitality was fantastic. Very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for the hosts to do for you.
Everyone visiting this beautiful area should visit loch Awe and should stay at the Torran Bay Hostel..
You will not be disappointed..
Wish we could have stayed longer.
Big thanks to the owners...:-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevio247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    0
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
16
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Hubby took me fishing, he'd been talking about this place for ages ... I'd heard and seen it was nice and was not disappointed - fishing lodge?? - More like a travel lodge, clean and well maintained with all you need for a fishing trip, relaxing getaway or whatever your pleasure - The owner is a very pleasant person who always wants to ensure your comfort and enjoyment of your stay -- I see a few folk have mentioned the beds -- they really are that comfy :-) - go and enjoy, We arrived in the dark, but when I opened the curtains in the morning to see the view... awesome.. I'm looking forward to my next trip there, to top it all hubby caught a 9lb pike so he was like the cat that got the cream ..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bearsden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at the Torran Bay Hostel for just one night and wished it had been for longer. The hostel owner could not have been more helpful (particularly as he allowed us to charge our electric car!). We felt very welcome and the hostel was maintained to a very high standard with clean and spacious rooms.
The location is fantastic with views across Loch Awe from the decking area/veranda outside each room. It really is somewhere to get away from it all.
Go visit, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mgill77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I took my partner Jean away to Torran Bay for a birthday surprise, after it being recommended by our daughters friend.
This is a fabulous retreat with great scenery and wildlife we were both blown away by how stunning the views are in and around Torran Bay.
The hostel is so clean and tidy with great facilities throughout and is such a relaxing experience for couples/ families/ groups etc.
My partner said it was the best birthday she hadand we will both go back again, we highly recommend Torran Bay.
The hosts Joachim and shiela are very helpful and friendly and are always happy to assist with anything you need and they take time to speak to people.
Superb place to stay and excellent value. Highly Recommeded

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I have visited torran bay on several occassions and no two trips have been the same .its in a fantastic location with plenty to do myself am a keen angler and it never ceases to surprise me all of my biggest predator species have came from torran bay large brown trout perch and pike and even very large coarse species theres fantastic views across loch awe gentle walks into inverliever via the high hill and forest road the accomodation is first class and would put more exclusive lets to shame the place was spotless..the self catering facilities are good and if you wish to dine out your not far from some local pubs and restaurants were good food can be had .i found mostly that it is very good value for your buck and the proprietors very welcoming and friendly i certainly will be returning to torran bay with my young family who enjoyed it just as much as me and believe me my wife and kids are hard to please .if you visit once i can almost guarantee you.ll return again and again its a relatively new establishment and one to keep an eye on i can see advance booking being on the to do list to avoid dissapointmet 5 big stars from dave and family

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here in september, great location excellent wildlife and even better hosts :) this hostel has the comfiest beds ever, great fishing brilliant for a break from mundane day to day life, paradise! Daryl

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daryl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

couple of friends and i had a 3 day trip to Torran Bay Hostel fishing was great, There was always plenty of wildlife about, otters,buzzards, geese, ducks etc. If you want to get away
from the hum drum, doesn't matter where from this is the place. The host of the hostel was great, always there to help out with a great manner. The rooms were prefect, the beds were to die for. All in all we had a great time 5 STARS. (writing this for my husband Danny Dominick)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaq77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ford
4.6 mi away
The Galley of Lorne Inn
5.6 mi away
Kirnan House B&B
Kirnan House B&B
#1 of 10 in Lochgilphead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
4.8 mi away
Glenmore Country House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Crinan Hotel
Crinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crinan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
5.5 mi away
Melfort House
Melfort House
#1 of 5 in Kilmelford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torran Bay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torran Bay Hostel

Property: Torran Bay Hostel
Address: Torran Farm, Ford PA31 8RH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a self-catering accommodation with 16 en suite bedrooms and 2 large kitchens/lounge areas both fully equipped with cookers, fridges, freezers, cooking utensils microwaves, toasters, kettles, fryers, rice cookers. All crockery, cutlery and glassware provided. The hostel can accommodate up to 40 guests, rooms can be arranged in different combinations, twin, double, double + single. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torran Bay Hostel Ford, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing