We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Torran Bay Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Torran Bay Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Dennyloanhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Well what can I say.....Jocham and Shella.....what a brilliant couple they make sure you have a great stay.....been going to torran bay for the last 4 years...and stayed in the hostel the last 3 ....honestly cannot fault the place been fantastic ... Excellent rooms...kitchen...WiFi......and fishing......from Alex...Steve...Cammie...

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Castlerankie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    0
    0
    0
    3
See reviews for
9
16
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just back from an amazing weekend at the Torran Bay Hostel in Ford. Nothing like the stereotypical image you would conjure up of a hostel. The rooms are as good as any hotel room with full en-suite facilities to a very good standard. The shared kitchens are fully equipped with everything you could need to cook your meals. Breakfast is included in the price with a selection of 9 cereals including porridge, various fruit, bread, butter, selection of jams, orange juice, apple juice, tea, coffee, milk and hot chocolate. Some of our group where there to fish, but for those of us who don't like fishing there are some great walks with stunning views. The owner's Joachim and Sheila Brolly could not have been more welcoming or accommodating. They make you feel right at home. There is also a TV area were you can relax and we met some very nice people on our weekend. Would recommend this to anyone looking to fish, walk or just to experience some of Scotland's beautiful countryside. I am a hotel girl through and through and would not normally have gone for this type of accommodation but I don't think anyone would be disappointed staying here.

Room Tip: If possible as for a loch view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 912JWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went camping to Torran Bay last weekend, and despite not staying in the hotel we were offered free use of the Wifi and access to the kitchen to watch the Scottish National for our bets... Brilliant service considering we were not staying here..
Unfortunately the weather on the Friday night was really bad and we decided to book a room for the Saturday night...
As we had already paid for our fishing we got the room at a reduced rate of £30...What an absolute bargain.. Modern facilities with very comfy beds.. Free Wifi... TV with Freeview and DVD player (selection of DVDs available to watch if required) and a balcony looking onto the bay..
Just a great service overall and we will definitely be back...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eyebaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Definitely, by far the most wonderful hosteling experience I've ever had.
21 st century hosteling at its best. More like a four star hotel...
An outstanding hostel in an amazing location on the shores of loch Awe.
The hospitality was fantastic. Very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for the hosts to do for you.
Everyone visiting this beautiful area should visit loch Awe and should stay at the Torran Bay Hostel..
You will not be disappointed..
Wish we could have stayed longer.
Big thanks to the owners...:-)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevio247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Hubby took me fishing, he'd been talking about this place for ages ... I'd heard and seen it was nice and was not disappointed - fishing lodge?? - More like a travel lodge, clean and well maintained with all you need for a fishing trip, relaxing getaway or whatever your pleasure - The owner is a very pleasant person who always wants to ensure your comfort and enjoyment of your stay -- I see a few folk have mentioned the beds -- they really are that comfy :-) - go and enjoy, We arrived in the dark, but when I opened the curtains in the morning to see the view... awesome.. I'm looking forward to my next trip there, to top it all hubby caught a 9lb pike so he was like the cat that got the cream ..

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bearsden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed at the Torran Bay Hostel for just one night and wished it had been for longer. The hostel owner could not have been more helpful (particularly as he allowed us to charge our electric car!). We felt very welcome and the hostel was maintained to a very high standard with clean and spacious rooms.
The location is fantastic with views across Loch Awe from the decking area/veranda outside each room. It really is somewhere to get away from it all.
Go visit, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgill77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I took my partner Jean away to Torran Bay for a birthday surprise, after it being recommended by our daughters friend.
This is a fabulous retreat with great scenery and wildlife we were both blown away by how stunning the views are in and around Torran Bay.
The hostel is so clean and tidy with great facilities throughout and is such a relaxing experience for couples/ families/ groups etc.
My partner said it was the best birthday she hadand we will both go back again, we highly recommend Torran Bay.
The hosts Joachim and shiela are very helpful and friendly and are always happy to assist with anything you need and they take time to speak to people.
Superb place to stay and excellent value. Highly Recommeded

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ford
9.2 mi away
Cairnbaan Hotel
Cairnbaan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cairnbaan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Galley of Lorne Inn
5.6 mi away
Kirnan House B&B
Kirnan House B&B
#1 of 10 in Lochgilphead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Glenmore Country House Bed and Breakfast
8.5 mi away
Crinan Hotel
Crinan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crinan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
6.0 mi away
Loch Melfort Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torran Bay Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torran Bay Hostel

Property: Torran Bay Hostel
Address: Torran Farm, Ford PA31 8RH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Ford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Is a self-catering accommodation with 16 en suite bedrooms and 2 large kitchens/lounge areas both fully equipped with cookers, fridges, freezers, cooking utensils microwaves, toasters, kettles, fryers, rice cookers. All crockery, cutlery and glassware provided. The hostel can accommodate up to 40 guests, rooms can be arranged in different combinations, twin, double, double + single. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Torran Bay Hostel Ford, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing