We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favourites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2011

I've been coming back to this hotel for years. Service good, clean and well decorated rooms and a lovely cuisine with good wine list. Can be a little noisy in the evenings but is to expect on weekend. Overall great place!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mazlaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Dear Mazlaghan
Thank you for your comments on Chapters really appreciated .If we can do anything else on your visits please Victor Victoria Tonio and the team would love to help
regards
Steven
ps you do travel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

309 - 315 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this Hotel, having had a wonderfully relaxing weekend. We had a beautiful large room and en-suite (Room 1) overlooking the market square, which was extremely quiet. Our room was warm and very comfortable. We stayed for the gourmet weekend and there was chilled sparkling wine and beautiful hand made chocolates waiting for us in our room when we arrived - which were delicious! The hotel staff, particularly Chris were extremely helpful - nothing was a bother for him and he looked after us extremely well! The restaurant is lovely, very intimate and beautifully presented. Victor, the Restaurant Manager was very helpful and looked after us. The food was delicious and beautifully presented! There is also an extensive wine list. We had a thoroughly enjoyable weekend and will definitely return!

Room Tip: We would definitely recomment Room 1!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Gloria S

Thank you so much for writing such a lovely review of Chapters Hotel

We are over the moon to hear that you enjoyed your time here at the hotel experiencing our very popular Gourmet Night Special Package

All our staff are trained to a high level under Victor, and their attention to detail shines through when we receive comments such as your own - I have let Chris know of your comments of him too..

We thank you once again and hope to see you again soon..

Regards

Steven
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

As a place to stay there are surely far worse, but my friend and I were disappointed that it did not quite live up to the impression given by its website.

The reception area and restaurant are fine, well presented and modern, inside a lovely old building. But as soon as you climb the stairs (no lift) "boutique" is certainly not the word that springs to mind. Ghastly embossed wall paper and narrow corridors led us past all manner of poorly decorated doors. When we finally reached our rooms they were adequate, but the beds were small and in one case uncomfortable (we had two singles).

I'd still recommend the hotel, just suggest that the owners either moderate their website or redecorate the interior.

Room Tip: Check how far you have to climb/walk to reach your room if you have heavy luggage or are infirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveljunkie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Dear Travel Junkie
Appreciate your comments .If you intend to stay with us again please contact me to see if I can ensure you get a larger room
You must have stayed in room 7 a twin or room 11 a smaller single which can be a twin
We can't put a lift in as it is a listed building in a conservation area the building is 260 years old hence the tight stairs corridors .
regards
Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

Stayed for a short mid week break. We had room 14 over looking the market square. Very relaxing hotel and convenient for looking round the town. Ate in restaurant one evening - good service and we took advantage of a special meal deal with wine which was good value. WiFi a bit flakey (isn't it everywhere tho') . Car parking is right outside on the square and the hotel explained the procedure carefully and gave us a disc - seems you might want to avoid market day.
Would we stay there again - you bet we will!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Bob186225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2011

Dear Bob
sorry to respond after sometime .
Thank you for taking time to send a lovely report to trip Advisor .
thank and regards from Myself (Steven Bell) Victor the GM Victoria Head Chef and Tonio and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My wife and two friends all had the set lunch here a few days ago.
For starters we all had the crayfish salad. Although the actual salad leaves were quite tasty, the crayfish needed something extra...perhaps a marie rose sauce, However .we all agreed it was QUITE nice,
I had hake with chunky chips for the main course which was delicious and the others had red mullet .
We declined the dessert but we all had coffee.The total bill came to about £53. None of us had wine, but the bill included a drink at the bar before the meal.
The service was excellent. The restaurant was very pleasant, and overall we had very good value for our money. We WILL return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJRHUTTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

We originally wanted to stay for 4 nights however they had wedding on the Saturday and arranged for us to stay in another hotel (The Treebridge) for the Saturday and Sunday nights. Our room was large, clean and comfortable. It overlooked the square but was not too noisy. There were no lace curtains on the windows, which meant that we had to put the light on and draw the curtains to get showered and changed.
They rang us on the Saturday to say that a room was available for the Sunday and gave us a discounted rate, which we accepted. They cancelled our Sunday night booking at The Treebridge for us. We were not sorry to have only spent one night there!! We did not eat in the hotel and there was no bar facility in the evening. However there are several pubs in the town and we would recommend The White Swan for friendliness and atmosphere.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank FloratheExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I've stayed here twice now and on both occasions it was a delightful experience. I stayed in the same room both times, probably a coincidence. Very nice room, well equipped, pleasant with lots of attention paid to the small details that delight. Staff were very helpful and pleasant on both occasions. I had dinner in the restaurant on the first occasion and it was excellent in every way. The menu, the service, the presentation ... everything was great. The only exception was that the free WiFi is rather patchy. I had to go downstairs to the lounge to get a decent signal, as it was coming and going in my room. I can forgive that though because everything else was so good. Not only is it a delightful hotel, but it is also in a lovely setting. Stokesley is one of the nicest small towns you could hope to find in England. I will definitely be coming back again and again, and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobertClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokesley
1.9 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
227 reviews
7.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,508 reviews
13.2 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
344 reviews
14.7 mi away
Best Western Plus The Croft Hotel
15.0 mi away
Best Western Grand Hotel
Best Western Grand Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hartlepool
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapters Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Address: 27 High Street | Stokesley, Stokesley TS9 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stokesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Price Range: £48 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chapters Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapters is a wonderful listed hotel full of character, dating back some 300 years. It is situated in the Market place in Stokesley, at the foot of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors National Park. It is a favoured destination for many business travellers because of the hotel's convenient location for the Tees Valley business community, and also perfectly situated for those who wish to spend a relaxing weekend among our beautiful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Chapters Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapters Hotel And Restaurant Stokesley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing