We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Certificate of Excellence
Bourne, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
209 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2013

OK, so the only parking is by disk in the market square. It's an old building, what else do you expect? I had a splendid room with a big bathroom. Lots of step-up or down changes of level, but it's an old building. Terrific bed, really comfy. Amazing internet. I didn't try the restaurant, but it is said to be really good. Breakfast was great, well cooked and delivered quickly. The town is pretty & repays exploring. Recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear Robert H

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review of Chapters hotel & restaurant.

We always appreciate feedback and comments on what our guests think of the hotel.

Yes the building is a 250 year old listed building and does have it's quirky features which we feel add to the charm of the Hotel so it is pleasing to see that our guests feel this way too.

We do look forward to you seeing you again when you are in the area.

Regards

Steven
(owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    102
    25
    12
    6
See reviews for
40
152
5
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Went with friends for the early evening menu. Two courses for £13 - we couldn't resist! We arrived a little late but this wasn't a problem.

The menu changes so we didn't know what to expect before we arrived. We all found something we liked - I went for the battered hake and chips. It was delicious! A beautifully cooked and presented plate of food. We all went for the sticky toffee sundae for dessert which was to die for!

Our waitress was very attentive and couldn't do enough for us. We received some lovely chocolates with our bill. Couldn't fault it!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank vp217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear VP217,

Thank you for this great review. This early evening menu has proved really popular with our customers. I have passed your notes on to the Head Chef for the rest of the team to read.

We are pleased to hear everything was fine and do hope to see you again soon at Chapters hotel

Regards

Steven
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed at Chapters on the 11th May 2013 as we were attending a memorial service for a friend. On our arrival the staff were very welcoming and most attentive and we felt that we were in for a very pleasant experience.
We were not disappointed, the room was very clean and the facilities were all we would expect.
We took the Gourmet option and were amazed to be treated to some fantastic quality cuisine and excellent service.
The chef came out to talk with us which was a very nice touch and we were able to show our appreciation for her excellent cooking.
The whole atmosphere of the hotel was very homely and the bar area was modern with a good stock of wine.
We only wished that we had only booked the one night as we were so comfortable and at ease.
I would have no hesitation in staying there again and highly recommend this establishment for short or long stay travellers.
The area is beautiful and Stokesley is such a pretty town with a great atmosphere.
Thank you Chapters for a great stay and your staff are a credit to you.
We will stay with you again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: Just pick any room and you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryAug1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Hello GaryAug1953

Thank you for taking the time to write this lovely review of Chapters Hotel.

Our Gourmet Night Special promotion is very popular and we are over the moon to hear that you enjoyed your time here especially the meal. Victoria, our Head Chef, always pops out to see if her customers have enjoyed their meals.

We are pleased to see that you would return and we do take pride in receiving feedback especially as nice as yours. I have passed your comments onto the team.

We do hope you visit again when you are in the area.

Regards

Steven
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KETTERING UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Chapters hotel in Stokesley for one night, £60 for a executive room with breakfast.
Other family members also in the same hotel, my sister had an issue with her room, but this was dealt quickly and efficiently,
We stayed in room 14 Little bit of a trek to room but worth it,
Lovely big clean room, with a good sized bathroom, comfy bed.
All the hotel staff were very friendly and attentive, even supplied a loan umbrella for out trek to the great pubs in the town
Really enjoyed the breakfast in the morning, full English with all the trimmings
Great nights stay in the lovely market town.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JOHNARCHER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Hello JohnArcher

Thank you for taking the time to complete this lovely review of Chapters Hotel

We do appreciate all feedback and we are pleased to hear that your sister was okay after her stay too.

I have passed your comments on to the whole team

We do hope that if you are in the North Yorkshire area, that we see you again

Many Thanks once again

Steven
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milnathort, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Chapters as I was down on business and wanted somewhere nice but local to the meeting venue.
Very nice and clean village and Chapters was very in fitting with the local surroundings.
Its not the most spacious of places I've stayed but was very clean and had a nice feeling about it.
My room was up couple of flights of stairs and at the end of the corridor, nothing fancy but clean and functional.
I went over to Yarm to eat with friends but they told me the food was very good at the hotel.
Breakfast was good and service was excellent so would definitely stay here again if I was in the area

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Hello Andy B

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review.

We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay here at Chapters and that you would return.

Chapters Hotel is a listed building with lots of smaller rooms which does add the character to the building, we are happy to see that you thought the building and your room was clean.

We do hope to see you again in the near future.

Regards

Steven
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

Came here for a business dinner, and was truly stunned. Excellent food, the salmon was fantastic, good choice of wines, deserts etc. nice atmosphere and very helpful / friendly staff.
Service was prompt and we had a great time. Would go there again anytime!

Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank polymerizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Hello Polymerizer

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on our Restaurant.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal here at Chapters and we are over the moon to hear that if you are in the area you would come back

Best Wishes

Steven
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thirsk, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed at Chapters hotel for two weeks whilst I attended a course in the local area. Once I had arrived it was clear as to why this hotel was so highly recommended to me. The staff were polite, courteous and demonstrated up most professionalism throughout my entire stay. It is obvious that all the staff are dedicated and committed to both the hotel and and their job, by not only accommodating for their guests but also their selfless commitment to ensure a pleasant stay. The restaurant is presented beautifully and the food is outstanding. I would like to say a big thank you to all at Chapters and a special thank you to Victor, Tony, Abi and Adam, and of course.. 'Chef'.

Room Tip: Room 14 is the executive room with views over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieD1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Hello JamieD1989

Wow what a wonderful review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Chapters hotel. Working in such a small team, we do work together to ensure that all our guests enjoy their time here.

I have forwarded your comments onto the team and especially "Chef" - Victoria loves to read the reviews on here so I am sure she would have already read this .

If you are ever in the area again please do not hesitate to contact us.

Regards

Steven
(Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stokesley
7.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,382 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
13.2 mi away
Allerton Court Hotel
Allerton Court Hotel
#3 of 5 in Northallerton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crathorne Hall Hotel
Crathorne Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crathorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
11.7 mi away
Brockley Hall Hotel
Brockley Hall Hotel
#1 of 5 in Saltburn-by-the-Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chapters Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chapters Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 27 High Street | Stokesley, Stokesley TS9 5AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Stokesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stokesley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Chapters Hotel and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chapters is a wonderful listed hotel full of character, dating back some 300 years. It is situated in the Market place in Stokesley, at the foot of the beautiful North Yorkshire Moors National Park. It is a favoured destination for many business travellers because of the hotel's convenient location for the Tees Valley business community, and also perfectly situated for those who wish to spend a relaxing weekend among our beautiful attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chapters Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chapters Hotel And Restaurant Stokesley, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing