We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Wainstones Hotel(Great Broughton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Treebridge Hotel(Middlesbrough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Bell Hotel(Middlesbrough)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Highfield Hotel(Middlesbrough)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (352)
Filter reviews
352 results
Traveller rating
181
108
36
17
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
181
108
36
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgourmet nightgourmet packagepetit fourshandmade chocolatesthree course mealtwo coursesexcellent nighton arrivalmarket squarebelly porkexecutive roomsmall hotelnext morninghigh streetblack puddingyorkshire breakfastsunday lunch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 352 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A lovely property set in a quaint market town . Chapters offers a high standard of food and accommodation. The restaurant food is well prepared using local produce to an exceptional level with a good selection of wines and beers to compliment everyone's tastes . Breakfast is freshly cooked to order . The staff provide a friendly and helpful service .
Rooms are a good size decorated in differing styles . All in all a good hotel in a fantastic location . My only criticism would be the decoation ( cosmetic ) is looking a little tired .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear rob w

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review

We always like to receive comments from our guests....

I have passed them onto the whole team and we do look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

5 couples met at Chapters for the Gourmet Evening. The food was fantastic, 6 of us had steak all different but served together and perfect to everyone's taste. The atmosphere and staff were excellent and the rooms were elegant and spotless. Going back for Maltese night.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Debbie F

Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review

We really do enjoy hearing our guests' comments and I have passed them onto the whole team

& Over the moon to hear that you will be joining us for the Maltese Evening on 11th July it is going to be a fantastic evening....

I look forward to seeing you then

Regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

This is our fifth visit to Chapters over the years. This time, on a budget we booked the cheapest room for our gourmet break and were delighted that we had been upgraded to a double room with no extra charge. The room was clean, comfortable and light with Moulton Brown toiletries and plenty of tea coffee and milk. Our deal also included sparkling wine and petites fours on arrival. The Prosecco was lovely and the chocolates creamy and moreish. Dinner was three courses with a good choice of modern dishes. I recommend the lamb rump with a delicious lamb shoulder and liver faggot. The deconstructed cheesecake was also rather fine. My husband didn't like the chocolate powder on his otherwise good chocolate fondant. Only fault with the service was not bringing our order of wine with the meal. We had to ask twice and our meal cooled while we waited. Val Boyers played accoustic guitar and sang while we ate. Really enjoyable non intrusive set which added to our experience. We'll come on a Friday when she's performing again. Overall excellent and geat value for money. Combine with visits to local attractions for a great weekend.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the market square are very good.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Sue F

Thank you for taking the time to complete this review

We are over the moon to hear that you have enjoyed your time here at Chapters on our Gourmet Night Special package, especially with Val playing too

I have passed your comments onto the whole team and Victor, the General Manager has mentioned your comment about your wine to our Front of House team

We do look forward to seeing you again in the near future at Chapters

Regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Lunch was not haute cuisine but it was very good and at a very reasonable price. Our mains were a Mediterranean vegetable and Brie tart and salad, and scampi and chips. There was some very good bread. Our puddings were a selection of sorbets, and mango cheesecake with coconut ice cream. The cappuccino was excellent. Very pleasant. We would definitely go to this restaurant again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank MVC499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear MVC499

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Chapters Hotel

Our lunch time menu is very popular with the 2 courses for £10.50 so we are over the moon to hear that you have enjoyed your time here

I have passed your comments onto the whole team and do look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Visited to enjoy dinner with my fiancé for our anniversary.

Arrived into empty bar but soon corrected as a waiter appeared and sorted out pre-dinner drinks with a friendly approach and very efficiently.

Presented with menus and order was taken once again extremely well. We ordered glasses of wine to come with different courses and most of the time this is forgotten in most places however delivered right on cue...!

Food was presented brilliantly and tasted amazing. The homemade bread was immense and included in price (bonus), Risotto cooked perfect, pork belly on my main was delicious and my fondant dessert was sooo good.

Service from the two team members working on the 28th was efficient but not obtrusive and both really knew what was going on.

Thank you we will be back!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank 1988Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stevenharry, Owner at Chapters Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Johnny121

Thank you for taking the time to compete this great review

Victor does take pride in the training of his staff and it really gives him immense pride when his customers praise his team.

I have passed your comments onto the whole team and we do look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards

Steven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews