We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Old Timbers Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$50
Travelodge
View Deal
Swan Hotel(Alton)
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Trooper Inn(Froxfield)(Great Value!)
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Petersfield(Petersfield)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langrish House(Petersfield)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Swan Hotel(Alresford)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$349
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$285
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
49
2
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstea and biscuitslong barngolden pheasantcottageaustenensuiteaccommodationbath
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The Old Timbers can't be faulted. The location on a quiet country lane, with a good pub nearby, is deal. And just twenty minutes across the fields is the village of Chawton where the hundreds of Jane Austen devotees turn up every day. We walked to Chawton - Kate offered us a torch - and in the warm sunshine and with the lambs running round, it was well-nigh perfect. Kate was so helpful: recommendations for eating, walking, visiting. She made us feel at home with a pot of tea the moment we arrived. The rooms were warm, clean and well laid out. The bathroom is possibly the most compact i have ever used - but well equipped and spotlessly clean. I'd like to go back.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zakmay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We have just had a very happy stay at Old Timbers. Kate was warm and friendly and the breakfast was the best I have ever been served - and both my friends agree with me on this. The two rooms we were given were exceptionally comfortable and well equipped and the cottage is well placed for fascinating trips. I shall tell my friends and would come again without hesitation. Anne Bertoluzzi - May 2013

Room Tip: All their rooms are first class.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

A lovely countryside retreat for all looking to explore the South Downs and surrounding areas. Kate was a wonderful host, offering reams of advice and good ideas for places to visit and villages to explore.

A car is a necessity, with plenty of surrounding villages to then explore on foot, and plenty of countryside pubs to relax in.

Inside, the roaring fire provided a welcoming, cosy atmosphere in the lounge, and the bedroom was elegeant and well equipped. Breakfast was full of choice and fantastically cooked food.

If anything to be prepared for, the overall feel was as if in someone's private house rather than a traditional B&B, but this gives the visit a very personal touch. Pub down the road was overpriced and a bit disappointing. Perhaps tread further afield.

Overall, a lovely stay and a wonderful host. Thank you!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick-Lauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Kate is the perfect host.

I first met her at Old Timbers two years ago. I was unable to stay then as the B&B was unavailable but Kate invited me into her home for a cup of tea anyway. I decided then that I would be back.

There are two rooms and we had booked both. One has an ensuite, the other its own separate bathroom. The rooms are quite spacious, with lovely, comfortable beds. Even though the house is very old and it snowed while we were there, we were very warm and comfortable.

Breakfast is magnificent. We had cereal, fruit, yogurt, and a cooked breakfast. It was all great.

I highly recommend Old Timbers.

Room Tip: If you are visiting Chawton and Jane Austen House the walk there across the fields from Upper Farringdon is lovely. Just ask Kate for directions.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spiderfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We wanted only one night, needed quiet and rest, explored the accommodation available online, and this lovely home stood out to us and we were not disappointed. The room is comfortable and exceptionally clean, great big bed, lovely linen and hot towels, very hot water, heating great as it was cold outside. Kate lent us wine glasses and ice bucket with ice, gave us a hospitable welcome, excellent breakfast with huge choice. The bathroom modern and immaculate. Nice to have good lighting, well designed, and new tv. Well relaxed now. Hope to return when we come back to this part.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnHove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews